View Poll Results: Are you more confident with 10D after this incident?

Voters
38. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    20 52.63%
  • No

    18 47.37%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Finally.....my EOS 10D problems are SOLVED!

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Finally.....my EOS 10D problems are SOLVED!

    4500 views and 150 replies in one week, wonder how many of you have dropped the idea of owning 10D after reading this?

    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...threadid=32014

    Finally, I got my 10D replaced with a new batch today from Canon Singapore, it has a serial number started with 043xxxxx instead of 023xxxx

    First thing that I tested - dust!

    I believe dusts are unavoidable, as long as they can be removed, I am happy already. I do product shots sometimes, so I will need that depth using small aperture like f16. Anyway, I tested using the extreme setting, f32 using 70-200, point at the wall and shot at ISO100.

    This is the first shot (auto level was applied to make the dark spots more visible for checking purposes)


    This looks quite bad for a brand new camera. Mr Tan, the assistant director from Imaging department, re-assure me that this is a brand new set and the camera never taken out from the box before. So a technican came and helped me to clean away the dust.....


    (not sure why this pic looks different from others, I think i was aiming at different place )
    Only left with a few light spots, which I am very happy with. Notice that none of the dark spots are at the same location as first pic? most probably this means the dusts are just on the surface. However, I notice one thing....there is a big piece of particle right in the middle of view finder...

    no choice, have to let the technican to remove the dust particle from viewfinder....seems that the dust was blown into the viewfinder, now I am a bit afraid to use blower to blow on the mirror liao....anyway, dust particle in viewfinder won't affect the image quality, however, i just feel uncomfortable to see dirt whenever I look into viewfinder.


    This is how it looks like after the 2nd cleaning, since the dusts particles are near the edge, I am happy with it liao. The setting I used was the extreme end, so i believe using something like f16 won't see anymore dark spots.

    Unlike the old set, where the dust cannot be moved at all, at least this one shows that the dust are just on the surface of the sensor which can be removed.
    Last edited by Wai; 8th May 2003 at 05:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Next - Focusing

    my old set was having serious back focusing problem. I gave my 70-200 and 50mm and the camera body for the technican to do a through tests on focusing accuracy.

    a "Master" lens and camera body was used as the standard for comparison. I was told that my 50mm got a bit of back focus and my 70-200 has very little back focus at 70mm end while the 200mm end is dead accurate.

    anyway, since the same lens was used to test my old set, lets see how these lens focus using the new set



    With 50mm, it is now focusing between the number 3-6. Previously with the old set, it was focusing at 21-24! The lens was about 50cm away. According to canon, the back focusing is still within their tolerance. Since the lens is cheap and the build quality is quite bad, cannot expect too much also.


    I was told that the 70mm end has a bit back focusing, probably this is true...hai...



    at 200mm, there are no problem focusing at 0. Previously it was focusing at around 15. Look like this new set seems to be focus fine. The lens was about 2m away from the test chart.
    Last edited by Wai; 8th May 2003 at 05:31 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    The lens is now 1.5m away, just to retest at different distance to see if there are any different.




    not bad...both the camera and lens are "zero-ed"

    before I left, I also tested for hot pixel using ISO 3200 @ 30s without any lens. ISO3200@30s is a very extreme setting, a few hot pixel is unavoidable. I need this long exposure too for astrophoto, remember that my first set got a stuck pixel? I better make sure my new set don't have this problem. Luckily, at ISO100@30s, not a single hot/stuck/dead pixel that I can find.


    ISO3200 @ 30s

    Seems that some of these problems do not exist in the new batch. I guess there must be some minor different or tweaking between the 023xxxx batch and 043xxxx batch. If not why Canon bother to change the serial number?

    I have yet to see any focusing problem with the new batch too, so those who are planning to buy 10D soon should feel safer now. At least Canon promises Free sensor cleaning service and if anything goes really wrong, 1-1 exchange is still possible.

    the above testing method may not be the best, you may have better way to test it out, so don't flame me if you feel that my tests are not accurate. Since the test methods are about the same for two cameras, the results should be quite consistent.

    It is time for me to shoot some real objects instead of these meaningless test charts now.
    Last edited by Wai; 8th May 2003 at 05:35 PM.

  4. #4

  5. #5

    Default

    what sort of materials/equipment did the Canon Tech use for sensor cleaning?

  6. #6

    Default

    Glad that your problems are solved. You really created a huge uproar with those problems!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Originally posted by erwinx
    what sort of materials/equipment did the Canon Tech use for sensor cleaning?
    some sort of solution and lens tissue....

    but it is not the eclipse one...some funny names that i can't remember

    i was told that Canon service center in other country....only use alcohol + water for sensor cleaning

    no wonder pple buy those sensor cleaning kits to clean themselves

    I wonder what blower they use....so powerful that can blow dirt into view finder!

  8. #8

    Default

    eh, where are Jed's absolutely hilarious posts? Those are classic!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Originally posted by YSLee
    eh, where are Jed's absolutely hilarious posts? Those are classic!
    aiyah...tot he don't like it, so deleted already

  10. #10

    Default

    alamak, no fear, I'll go dig them up.. classic tounge-in-cheek stuff.

  11. #11

    Default

    By Jed:

    I suggest you buy a 28-300 lens and permanently fix it onto your 10D. A simple soldering iron and a bit of silicon sealant should make sure no dust gets in at the lens mount. Needless to say, don't ever change lenses. If your viewfinder has a shutter curtain, I'd keep that closed too. Frankly I wouldn't focus the lens either, focusing requires elements to move which in turns stimulates movements in the air inside the lens which could stir up dust particles. Needless to say, I wouldn't fire the camera either, because while the movement of the shutter creates little movement in air (although it does create some), the mirror slap is a big no-no. If you absolutely have to fire it, find some way of locking the reflex mirror in the up position.

    If you bear those things in mind and observe these basic safety considerations, I'm sure your new camera will serve you for many years to come. Or until the 3D or whatever else comes out.



    PS/= In all seriousness, I've heard of an aftermarket supplier in Tahiti who specialises in solving dust problems permanently without needing to take the steps mentioned above. For a small fee and return postage, he removes your CCD/CMOS from your camera and destroys it, therefore guaranteeing that dust will never land on your CCD/CMOS ever again.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    still got one more...

  13. #13

    Default

    alamak sia, cannot find the other one. oh well, will have to make do with this, hehe.

    (all tounge-in-cheek, if you follow the advice, please consult your psychiatrist)

  14. #14

    Default

    Wai, congrats on your good new set. Canon shld know how powerful you are now. With your previous post on faulty 10D, you stopped the buying craze of 10D, stablized D60 price and somehow pushed up D30 price.
    Now, it is the buy buy buy 10D season again.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Originally posted by Falcon
    With your previous post on faulty 10D, you stopped the buying craze of 10D, stablized D60 price and somehow pushed up D30 price.
    That's wasn't my intention at the first place...

  16. #16

    Default

    Originally posted by Wai
    That's wasn't my intention at the first place...
    Whatever is the case, I must applaud you for the great job done in posting the problems. I believe it has helped those who owned a faulty 10D in one way or another.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Originally posted by Wai
    That's wasn't my intention at the first place...
    WAI I'm collecting my service set tomorrow

    Did u do all the test at Canon
    They allow u to download pics to see if there is dust and hot pixel....?

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Originally posted by Cool_VIR
    WAI I'm collecting my service set tomorrow

    Did u do all the test at Canon
    They allow u to download pics to see if there is dust and hot pixel....?
    to test for dust, can simply use smallest aperture to shoot at the wall/ceiling, no need to focus (in fact make it out of focus better)

    then download it to your own laptop, if not he will bring out his ibook to display the picture.

    u may want to look thru the view finder to see if there are any dirt as well.

    for focus test, i did it at home cos i didn't bring my tripod and the lighting there quite bad.

    Good luck

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore / Taiwan
    Posts
    1,200

    Default

    Originally posted by Wai
    to test for dust, can simply use smallest aperture to shoot at the wall/ceiling, no need to focus (in fact make it out of focus better)

    then download it to your own laptop, if not he will bring out his ibook to display the picture.

    u may want to look thru the view finder to see if there are any dirt as well.

    for focus test, i did it at home cos i didn't bring my tripod and the lighting there quite bad.

    Good luck
    Wai, a piece of white paper (eg. photocopier paper) is way better than using wall/ceiling, these surfaces may have spots on it that can be mistakened as dust.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Originally posted by Avatar
    Wai, a piece of white paper (eg. photocopier paper) is way better than using wall/ceiling, these surfaces may have spots on it that can be mistakened as dust.
    that;s why I use MF and purposely make it out of focus lor...

    of cos not as good as using white paper, that's why u see mine got some strange shadow and colour, but I am lazy to go stick a paper on the wall at Canon service center

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •