Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37

Thread: Aperture for DSLR

  1. #1

    Default Aperture for DSLR

    May i know the aperture for DSLR is on the camera body itself or depend on lens?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    west
    Posts
    1,313

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    aperture has nth to do wif a slr body in this case DSLR.
    it the lens> check the box. if not, check model of lens on the internet. it is also stated on the lens.
    its smth like 1:3.5-5.6

  3. #3

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    Quote Originally Posted by noob117 View Post
    aperture has nth to do wif a slr body in this case DSLR.
    it the lens> check the box. if not, check model of lens on the internet. it is also stated on the lens.
    its smth like 1:3.5-5.6
    huh? hm..you mean its on the lens itself???

    so what happens if i wan to have an aperture of f16 or even f22?
    i have to get another lens?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    west
    Posts
    1,313

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    aperture is in the lens it self... pls google for it and read up.
    to select a aperture u do it in camera.
    minimum F-stops like 16-22 even 36 no problem all lens will have at least minimum F22
    its the widest or max aperture that matters.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    west
    Posts
    1,313

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    wait i dun get u.
    u want to know wad aperture setting u r currenting using or wad aperture the lens can provide?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    Quote Originally Posted by noob117 View Post
    wait i dun get u.
    u want to know wad aperture setting u r currenting using or wad aperture the lens can provide?
    this is confusing me...erm..i mean in the camera that i can set...like i wan to set to f22...does it also have to depends on the lens itself???

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    west
    Posts
    1,313

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    ok i think u better read up bout aperture 1st.....knows wad it is and hows it works....google

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    what confuses me are the "wifs, wads & wans".
    Last edited by tato; 6th November 2007 at 10:01 PM.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    Quote Originally Posted by noob117 View Post
    ok i think u better read up bout aperture 1st.....knows wad it is and hows it works....google
    aperture is about the controlling of amount of light entering the camera right?? It's controlled by a diaphragm...The bigger it is, the more light it allows to enter.Thus have a smaller value for eg. F2.7...correct?

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
    Posts
    8,242

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    The aperture itself is on the lens. When you mount the lens onto the camera body, you can adjust the aperture eg. f2.8, f22 etc thru the body itself. However, there are some lenses which you can adjust the aperture on the lens itself. Errr ... can?

  11. #11

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    Quote Originally Posted by ndroo View Post
    The aperture itself is on the lens. When you mount the lens onto the camera body, you can adjust the aperture eg. f2.8, f22 etc thru the body itself. However, there are some lenses which you can adjust the aperture on the lens itself. Errr ... can?
    oh..clear enuff...

    hm...coz i am using Sony H9
    den as you know digital camera is like everything adjust in the lcd itself...den i am curious how about the DSLR works for aperture...

    erm...one question, u mention can adjust the aperture eg. f2.8....thru the body itself...erm..basically what do you mean?? As in like in a digital camera? can adjust thru the lcd or the top part which shows value one?

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    west
    Posts
    1,313

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    adjust the aperture from menus on the lcd screen.
    but might need to set to aperture piority mode 1st.
    yes its set thru the body.
    if i am not wrong nikon is set from lens?

  13. #13

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    huh, i thought nikon also set from the LCD!

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    125'10.16"N 10350'11.01"E
    Posts
    1,052

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    Basically,

    Lens for SLR camera that have an aperture ring so you can change the aperture without going into the system. Now, you can just need to go to manual and adjust.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    orh...okay...so basically, to put it into simple words/sentence

    if there is aperture ring on lens, use that
    if threre is no aperture ring on lens, then use body to adjust...correct???

    Erm...but if there is aperture ring on lens, can i use body to adjust too?

  16. #16

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    i think that's a yes.. correct me if i'm wrong..

    read this
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aperture

  17. #17

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    125'10.16"N 10350'11.01"E
    Posts
    1,052

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    Quote Originally Posted by xxhellinvaderxx View Post
    orh...okay...so basically, to put it into simple words/sentence

    if there is aperture ring on lens, use that
    if threre is no aperture ring on lens, then use body to adjust...correct???

    Erm...but if there is aperture ring on lens, can i use body to adjust too?
    Yes, but I think most of the new lens do not have aperture ring.

  19. #19

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR



    you can read up a bit here

    OT: you play badminton on sundays, right?

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    west
    Posts
    1,313

    Default Re: Aperture for DSLR

    Quote Originally Posted by i-link View Post
    huh, i thought nikon also set from the LCD!
    i got a sigma lens and in the manual it says smth bout setting aperture from a ring on the lens for nikon mounts
    Last edited by noob117; 6th November 2007 at 10:31 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •