Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 4th May 2003   #1
RCheah

Default Detection problems with 550EX on D30/D60/10D?

Hi Guys,

I've experienced this scenario quite often and it can be quite frustrating. I'm using the 550EX on my D30, and after some shots, the camera would seemed to have lost connection with the flash. It's unable to detect that the flash is mounted and switched on.

I can understand this happening while the flash is charging up, but even after it's fully charged, the camera still doesn't detect the flash! To remedy, I have to switch off both cam and flash, dismount, remount flash, and switch on again.

Some more details:
I'm using NiMH batts in flash,
Flash in bounce position, in ETTL mode
Camera in Av, shutter fixed at 1/200

Just want to find out if anyone else have experienced similar problems? Is there something wrong with the equipment? I've had a pro who told me about this problem on his D60. He said he changed to 420EX because of this, and has no problems with 420EX.

I intend to test using Alkaline batts instead and borrow a friend's 420EX to see if this is peculiar to 550EX. Appreciate if anyone could shed some light on this.
Old 4th May 2003   #2
erwinx

Default Re: Detection problems with 550EX on D30/D60/10D?

Quote:
Originally posted by Raymond Cheah
Hi Guys,

I've experienced this scenario quite often and it can be quite frustrating. I'm using the 550EX on my D30, and after some shots, the camera would seemed to have lost connection with the flash. It's unable to detect that the flash is mounted and switched on.

I can understand this happening while the flash is charging up, but even after it's fully charged, the camera still doesn't detect the flash! To remedy, I have to switch off both cam and flash, dismount, remount flash, and switch on again.

Some more details:
I'm using NiMH batts in flash,
Flash in bounce position, in ETTL mode
Camera in Av, shutter fixed at 1/200

Just want to find out if anyone else have experienced similar problems? Is there something wrong with the equipment? I've had a pro who told me about this problem on his D60. He said he changed to 420EX because of this, and has no problems with 420EX.

I intend to test using Alkaline batts instead and borrow a friend's 420EX to see if this is peculiar to 550EX. Appreciate if anyone could shed some light on this.

sounds like contact problem. clean and try again. happened tp me b4.
Old 4th May 2003   #3
Goldmember

u dam suay sia. i never had such problem.
Sponsored Link
Old 4th May 2003   #4
RCheah

Yes, have tried cleaning both contacts on cam and flash, and making sure that the flash is pushed into the hot-shoe all the way and securely tightened. Still the same.

If others don't have this problem, then I should bring it back to Canon.
Old 4th May 2003   #5
kindred

if ya dun wan ya flash sell me lor....i kinda keen on getting one 550EX or 54MZ3
Old 4th May 2003   #6
RCheah

Quote:
Originally posted by kindred
if ya dun wan ya flash sell me lor....i kinda keen on getting one 550EX or 54MZ3
Well I'll try to see if I can solve this problem first, if not I may consider selling it. Not quite sure how much it's worth now? Bought it $615 in Jul'02, unfilled warranty card.
Old 4th May 2003   #7
Tweek

i use the Sigma EF500 Super on my D30 and the same problem happened a couple of times, but it did not surface lately. Same thing, I had to off, dismount, mount and on again.
Old 5th May 2003   #8
Fizzy

Mine's ok on my 10D. It was a second hand unit.
Old 5th May 2003   #9
Wai

Quote:
Originally posted by Raymond Cheah
Well I'll try to see if I can solve this problem first, if not I may consider selling it. Not quite sure how much it's worth now? Bought it $615 in Jul'02, unfilled warranty card.
still got a few mths of warranty....bring back to Canon!

it is either your camera or flash fault

I have been using 550EX on D30 and 10D, never encounter such problem before
Old 5th May 2003   #10
RCheah

Ok thanks to all for the advice! From the posts, it doesn't sound like it's a common problem. Yes, it's quite a good flash actually, would be a shame to get rid of it because of such little hiccups.

Any special things to take note of when sending back to Canon? There is no more Canon club right? Used to be able to get some discounts for repairs if you're a club member (in case it's my camera fault).
Closed Thread