Thread: Radeon X1950 Pro problem

Default Radeon X1950 Pro problem

Digg it!
    I recently got a Radeon X1950 Pro graphics card, but I'm pretty new to uninstalling and installing new cards. I looked up a guide on the internet and everything went fine - the old card was removed, the new card was put in and fixed, and I put all the wires back where they were beforehand.

It looked like it worked because the monitor screen came up as usual with the monitor companie's logo, but the computer refuses to respond in any way.

Specs -
    Intel Pentium D 805 Dual Core Processor
    1024MB Dual channel memory
    250GB Serial ATA Hard Drive

As far as I know the card installed fine. I've checked all the monitor ports, checked that the card is in properly, and checked that the correct wires are all plugged in. But any suggestions would be really appreciated! I 'm starting to think that I've been royally swindled.

Default Re: Radeon X1950 Pro problem

Maybe u should check if your motherboard comes with built-in graphic card? If have try to disabled it in control panel device setting.

tried doing a bios reset? anyway have you checked if you power supply is capable of driving those high-end cards? nowadays those high-end GPU just looks like a energy sucker
    Last edited by ExplorerZ; 22nd October 2007 at 10:19 PM.

THread moved to a more suitable area.

Maybe a few more info might be good,
    1. PSU rating
    2. Motherboard used

can you go into BIOS setting?

Did you remove all the old graphic programs and shut down your computer down?

Each time I do any installation on new Graphic cards (be it nVidia or ATI) you must remove all the programs. There are 2 areas which you need to go to.

First is the normal add/remove programs under control panel.

Second part is the Device Manager and under Display Adapters which you need to uninstall that too as your computer may still try to read it as you did not do a clean uninstall.