Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 52

Thread: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,644

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    I haven't used 3.5 inch floppies since 2002 and that was just for a few classes. The last machine I had with a floppy disk drive was bought in 1998. I did buy an Imation SuperDisk drive that also handled floppies but I only needed it for classes. That's about the same as with the Zip 100 MB diskettes.

  2. #22

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    the other day i got a colleague asking me whether do i have a iomega Zip drive... haven't seen one of those for at least... 10years?

    next thing u know, someone might just ask if u got a 5 3/4" floppy disc drive.
    Bro! How come MOE so backward one?

  3. #23
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,839
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Inimatad View Post
    Bro! How come MOE so backward one?
    eh, hello. until 5 years ago, our (my ex) workplace still using win98 hor.
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

  4. #24

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Recently saw a TCS chinese serial rerun on channel8, showing this thief crawls in through the window to steal info.....opens the drawer and took away a 5 1/4" disk....lol

  5. #25

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by wazzup5 View Post
    Still use it, because for some stupid apparent reason that Micro$oft Windoze don't like to include the SCSI/RAID drivers in the CD/DVD and I need to attach a USB FDD to my servers to load the drivers via a 3.5" FD.

    Thank goodness servers come with RAID cos I only need to do it once, and then replicate the drives to the other systems.
    Haha.....that is absolutely correct!

  6. #26

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by yanyewkay View Post
    a relative of mine passed me some photos on a 3.5" FD last year. i was stumped as to how to print them out..
    Some photos... Wow! I think the resolution won't be enough.. how many photos can 1.44Mb hold? Not even a 6MP jpeg!! The most only 1 or 2 2MP jpgs.

  7. #27

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    I find sometimes most useful to do quick copy for small files, can give the 3.5" disk away as is (no envelope needed).

    I have a Windoze 95 PC with 5.25" and 3.5" FDD, green screen, sitting in a corner .... Gotta get rid of it some day.... together with the 8" floppy disks that I had kept.. can't even read them now

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Singapore, western area
    Posts
    5,337

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    >>> a: <<<

  9. #29
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,839
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by sprintist View Post
    >>> a: <<<
    c:>chkdsk
    c:>fdisk
    c:>rename *.* *.com

    etc.... wonder how many people still remember all those DOS commands?
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

  10. #30

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    c:>chkdsk
    c:>fdisk
    c:>rename *.* *.com

    etc.... wonder how many people still remember all those DOS commands?
    netsend Follow the White Rabbit

  11. #31
    vince123123
    Guests

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Hehe I do

    dir/w is the most often used command
    attrib is very useful too

    and isn't it c:\> as the prompt?

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    c:>chkdsk
    c:>fdisk
    c:>rename *.* *.com

    etc.... wonder how many people still remember all those DOS commands?

  12. #32
    Senior Member Big Kahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    2,127

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    c:>chkdsk
    c:>fdisk
    c:>rename *.* *.com

    etc.... wonder how many people still remember all those DOS commands?
    cd\
    cd landpnt
    cd s1
    Autofbss /r:
    Autofbss



    I need to issue this command every now and then

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    820

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    eh, hello. until 5 years ago, our (my ex) workplace still using win98 hor.
    5 years ago, my company still using DOS 6.2 & Windows 3.11 Workgroup.
    除了爱, 我一无所有

  14. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    820

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    c:>chkdsk
    c:>fdisk
    c:>rename *.* *.com

    etc.... wonder how many people still remember all those DOS commands?

    c:\>deltree /y
    除了爱, 我一无所有

  15. #35
    vince123123
    Guests

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    I think you need to put something between deltree and /y It doesn't auto default to the current directory - unless I remember wrongly.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ola View Post
    c:\>deltree /y

  16. #36
    Senior Member Sion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    新天地
    Posts
    4,768

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    the other day i got a colleague asking me whether do i have a iomega Zip drive... haven't seen one of those for at least... 10years?

    next thing u know, someone might just ask if u got a 5 3/4" floppy disc drive.
    Yes. The other day I was handed a document on a piece of paper.

    I haven't seen a paper in our office for years.

    I asked him whether he could email me the document so that I could read it on the monitor.


  17. #37

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    eh, hello. until 5 years ago, our (my ex) workplace still using win98 hor.
    When I was there 5 years ago, I was using 2K and NT4 already leh. You still on Win98 that time meh?

  18. #38

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Godzilla Invades View Post
    Haha.....that is absolutely correct!
    I'm bitchin' it.

    It's really really really very irritating. How large do the SCSI/RAID drivers get? It fits on a 1.44" FD anyway, can't they just put it on the disc!?!?!?!?! ARGGHHHHH... Idiots.


  19. #39

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    Have you ever cut a hole at a one-sided 360k 5 1/4" to allow it to read both sides?

    Ha... those were the days.. Apple 5 1/4" drive is 1 1/2" in height and cost $800 per set. A box of 10X360k diskettes costs $20

  20. #40
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Guillemard
    Posts
    249

    Default Re: are u still using 3.5 floppy disk ??

    I still have boxes of 5.25" FD and drive. I also have a working 486 Cyrix-66Mhz notebook, running on DOS 6.2 and Windows 3.1

    Going towards Quadcore with vista ultimate in 2 months time.
    Last edited by Jaycelim; 12th October 2007 at 11:25 AM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •