Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 40

Thread: Photoshop Test 2

  1. #1

    Default Photoshop Test 2

    Reviving a dead thread.....hehe

    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...photoshop+test

    Just did my latest test which hit at 16 seconds on CS3

    MB : DELL (Looks like a Tyan Mobo)
    Processor : Quad Core Intel Xeon E5335 @ 2.0Ghz
    RAM : ECC Ram 4GB @ 667ghz fully buffered
    HDD : 2 SAS (15,000rpm) 73 GB running @ RAID 0
    OS : XP 64bit

    Anybody else got improve on their timing with CS3. I found out using CS2, my system could only manage 28 seconds but when CS3 (made for multiple processor) was used, the timing was cut by half.

  2. #2
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    wah.. new work PC ar? steam sia..

    just got a new rig today too..

    Asus P5E + Q6600
    4GB ram
    XP Pro
    CS2

    26s

    will try it on CS3 when i bother to install it.. lol...

  3. #3

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Wow... RAID 0... I hope that's not your data disks.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Quote Originally Posted by wazzup5 View Post
    Wow... RAID 0... I hope that's not your data disks.
    Well, they ARE SAS (Serial Attached *SCSI*) Hard Drives, which were built to not fail and also run 24/7 (i.e in servers).

    (The friend who recommended me this system has used over two dozen SCSI hard drives over the past 10 years and so far zero have failed)

  5. #5

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Haha... ok. I didn't know HDDs surely won't fail.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    did mine on a
    E6300 at 2.1Ghz.
    Gigabyte P35-DS3
    4x1GB DDR2
    XP 32bit


    36s.
    [QUOTE=dan_1337;2947523]if it was painted white, it would cost twice as much as Sigma =P[QUOTE]

  7. #7

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Quote Originally Posted by wazzup5 View Post
    Haha... ok. I didn't know HDDs surely won't fail.
    Well so far, the system before this I was also using a SAS drive for 3 years since day one and it has not failed me. Of course the chances is still there but the percentage of SCSI failing is very slim or none.

    Friends of mine that uses it swears by only SCSI HDD. So do I.

    You see, I don't really turn off my system............which I sure you know you know why by not turning off your system would prolong your HDD (especially SCSI) lifespan and failures. Infact, the HDD (not SCSI but the Enterprise Editions which are also meant for server or workstation usage) which I use to store datas have had no problems so far.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Wow, how much do you spend on your new rig ?

    How much 2X SATA2 with RAID 1 ?

  9. #9

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Me IT idiot ... as usual. Wrong test. LOL!
    Last edited by Dream Merchant; 10th October 2007 at 07:59 PM.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    No significant difference for me on both..abt 35secs

    Pmac G5 quad
    x4 cpu
    2.5GHz cpu
    4.5GB ram

  11. #11

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Q6600 at 2.4Ghz - Not overclocked
    Asus P5K
    2x1GB DDR2, 333MHz RAM
    Vista 32bit
    CS3

    19s

  12. #12
    Senior Member Big Kahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    2,127

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    C2D E6750 @ 3.04 - overclocked
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R
    2x1GB DDR2
    XP 32bit
    CS

    32s

    Last edited by Big Kahuna; 10th October 2007 at 09:01 PM.

  13. #13
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Mac Pro Quad 3
    4gb ram

    -> 12secs.

    Man...How time flies. I managed to dig up the specs from my old computer...
    16 Dec 2005
    Pentium 4, 2.oGHZ. 1GB ram
    -> 4 min 40 secs.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Quote Originally Posted by alwayschampion View Post
    Wow, how much do you spend on your new rig ?

    How much 2X SATA2 with RAID 1 ?
    It's RAID 0.

    I am not using SATA. I am using SCSI which has a 15,000RPM (used mainly for workstation and servers).

    My rig came as one whole package. It cost me around $3,000.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Quote Originally Posted by Parka View Post
    Mac Pro Quad 3
    4gb ram

    -> 12secs.

    Man...How time flies. I managed to dig up the specs from my old computer...
    16 Dec 2005
    Pentium 4, 2.oGHZ. 1GB ram
    -> 4 min 40 secs.
    So far I think you are holding the record for the Photoshop speed test!

    Which speed did you get for your MacPro chipset?

  16. #16

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    All so new rig.My one is legacy rig,P4 3ghz,512MB Kingston PC5300x2,3x320GB,no raid but i don't do photoshop test as i don't have a stopwatch but here is some other test:
    Super PI,not bad,45's for 1MB:



    Sandra:

  17. #17
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Quote Originally Posted by Godzilla Invades View Post
    So far I think you are holding the record for the Photoshop speed test!

    Which speed did you get for your MacPro chipset?
    Quad 3Ghz.

  18. #18
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Quote Originally Posted by jOhO View Post
    wah.. new work PC ar? steam sia..

    just got a new rig today too..

    Asus P5E + Q6600
    4GB ram
    XP Pro
    CS2

    26s

    will try it on CS3 when i bother to install it.. lol...
    same specs as above on CS3 = 14s

  19. #19

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    13s.

    Intel Core 2 Extreme (Dual Core) 2.93GHz @ 4.1GHz
    4GB Corsair Dominator PC-6400/CL3
    Primary Array (Also where Scratch Disk is on) = 2* Seagate Cheetah 15K.5 15,000 RPM SAS 73GB Drives (RAID-0)

    Photoshop CS3
    Windows XP x64 Professional


    Need to get me a Quad Processor one of these days...
    Last edited by Entrope; 11th October 2007 at 08:50 PM.

  20. #20

    Default Re: Photoshop Test 2

    Quote Originally Posted by Entrope View Post
    13s.

    Intel Core 2 Extreme (Dual Core) 2.93GHz @ 4.1GHz
    4GB Corsair Dominator PC-6400/CL3
    Primary Array (Also where Scratch Disk is on) = 2* Seagate Cheetah 15K.5 15,000 RPM SAS 73GB Drives (RAID-0)

    Photoshop CS3
    Windows XP x64 Professional


    Need to get me a Quad Processor one of these days...
    I think if you get a QUAD, you should be the current leader. That's if you OC your rig as well.

    Hehe......good timing!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •