Thread: Red Dragon

Default Red Dragon

Hi all, Im very new to photography and just got my first dslr, a 20d. Shot this in the garden a few days ago with a 600mm Sigma f8 mirror lense. Er.. its an odd choice for shooting close ups but i only have 2 lense which were passed down as im on a budget currently.

This little fella was in a position ive not seen before. Might be common, but to me, looked like a scorpions position. And he was lifting a leg up n down regularly. like a dog peeing. lol.

I cant seem to focus on the little guy's eyes no matter how i try. Image doesnt seem to be sharp.. Manual focus at around 2.5m away on tripod. and seems noisy. Any bros or sis have any experience with this lense? C&C welcome on colour composition and details. Im open to brutality.

Last edited by Exanimated; 8th October 2007 at 11:10 PM.

Default Re: Red Dragon

Hi, I think it is out of focus.

Member/Tangshooter

shutter speed too slow? add in soft focus type of effect?
    コミュニケーションは私たちの障壁です | Flickr

For mirror lenses, read this:-

http://www.photozone.de/3Technology/lenstec5.htm

The position that you so cannily described is called obelisking. As a DF breathes through its abdomen, the belief is that it helps the DF to reduce the exposure of its abdomen to the sun on a hot day (by pointing it upwards, towards the sun), therefore providing a cooling effect. A cooler abdomen draws in cooler air.

check your aperture settings, might be too open to capture the dof..
    unless your working distance is more than 2.5m? and also try manual metering?

Quote Originally Posted by carnage3630 View Post
    shutter speed too slow? add in soft focus type of effect?
    Shutter was 1/320. Think that was quite alright for a shot on tripod. im not sure wat u mean by add in soft focus type of effect.. Can elaborate?

Quote Originally Posted by Rumplestiltskin View Post
    For mirror lenses, read this:-

http://www.photozone.de/3Technology/lenstec5.htm