Thread: Going Digital

Default Going Digital

Hi all,
    I have been playing with cameras for quite a few years but they have all been flim cameras. Lately, I am having an incredible itch to go digital. My last few cameras has been flim SLRs, so what I would like to know if it is advisable to go straight to DSLR or should I try to get used to digital cameras first by getting a digital point and shoot?

Since DSLRs are a huge investments, I think it would be safer to use a cheaper camera as a learning tool.

What do you guys think? How is a Canon A70 as a starter D-camera?

Default Re: Going Digital

Originally posted by Stoppable
    Hi all,
    I have been playing with cameras for quite a few years but they have all been flim cameras. Lately, I am having an incredible itch to go digital. My last few cameras has been flim SLRs, so what I would like to know if it is advisable to go straight to DSLR or should I try to get used to digital cameras first by getting a digital point and shoot?

Since DSLRs are a huge investments, I think it would be safer to use a cheaper camera as a learning tool.

Since you've been using slrs for quite some time, I think you'd find the features on an A70 very limiting. If money is tight, go for either a CP5700, 7Hi, 602z. Or you could even try looking for a 2ndhand D30 for around $1000.

Alternatively, you can buy a 2nd hand older generation DSLR, for practise purpose. After you get the feel (and the kick) of it, sell it as a 3rd hand and buy your dream new DSLR. If you don't get the feel and the kick, also sell it and reverse back to film. You won't lose much $.

What about shooting?

What kind of photography do you like?