Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: A70 on WinXP Pro

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default A70 on WinXP Pro

    Hi fellow CS'ers;

    just to check if i wanted to d/l shots from a Canon A70 and i am using the WinXP Pro OS, do i need any drivers to be installed or do i simply plug in the cable and turn on the camera?

    Kindly advise.

    Cheers.
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  2. #2
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default

    My guess it's PnP. Have you plugging it in yet?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by AdamGoi
    My guess it's PnP. Have you plugging it in yet?
    Not yet tried.. since the A70 is not with me and i will be bringing my laptop out to d/l the shots from that cam you see. Just just needed to make sure if it's driver is in built.
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    567

    Default

    Err i tot all canon Digital camera comes with a cd?
    U need to install the Driver and program from the cd right?
    For the case of A70, think is the ZoomBrowser program and the A70 driver?

    As for WinXP OS, think no need other stuff than the stuffs in the attached canon cd.


  5. #5
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    I think it's pretty standard nowadays that the cameras behave themselves as "removable disk drives" upon plugging to the USB port of laptop/pcs.

    The contents of the CF card will be like a readable and manipultable disk, can copy the images file out directly.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,644

    Default

    Plus and play, no need driver.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Spore
    Posts
    71

    Default

    yes pnp
    just for ur info, the software that usually comes with digicam are used for editing pictures or easy uploading of pictures to the pc... (but most ppl would already have photoshop available ... )
    digicam works as a external data storage device (something like a usb thumb drive....) so no drivers is necessary... when the camera is plugged in, windows will detect it as another drive letter

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Thanks y'all.
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  9. #9

    Default

    Originally posted by espn
    I think it's pretty standard nowadays that the cameras behave themselves as "removable disk drives" upon plugging to the USB port of laptop/pcs.

    The contents of the CF card will be like a readable and manipultable disk, can copy the images file out directly.
    Well, apparently you haven't used a Canon digital camera, have you? They don't implement "mass storage device" (is that what it's called) for their USB connection, so you won't see it appear as a removable drive. Instead, they implement TWAIN on Win 98 and 2K (must use TWAIN enabled software to download), and WIA on Win ME and XP. Only with Win XP and the later cameras (which includes the A70) do you not have to install the Canon drivers, but the manual warns that there are limitations if you don't install the drivers.

  10. #10
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Yes, I do, infact I played with my Canon V3, probably I was plugging into my WinXP system so it was ok.

    My sister uses the V3 so I installed the software for her, my apologies for making a sweeping statement across all cameras

    Thanks for the enlightening note on how Canon does the imaging transfer, I learned something again

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    *shameless plug for Olympus and Sony cameras...* been there done that since 2001
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •