Thread: My First Bird Shot: White Stork

Default My First Bird Shot: White Stork

Hi all,

This is my first try taking birds and the subject here is a white stork. I like this picture as I feel that its able to bring out the size and majesty of the creature.

Taken with D80 and 18-135mm kit lens. Picture was only resized.

I hope to get comments on the composition and how else such a picture can be improved.

D700|24-70 f2.8|50mm f1.8|105VR f2.8 Micro|28-70 f3.5-4.5|SB600|SB800

Default Re: My First Bird Shot: White Stork

Do you guys see a lot of noise? I tried submitting to Dreamtimes and they replied that there is noise in certain areas. Have to remove the noise before they will accept it...

dun mean to bring this up, but ainT that a pelican?

Haha... I suck at identifying birds :P

Quote Originally Posted by hobbes187 View Post
    Do you guys see a lot of noise? I tried submitting to Dreamtimes and they replied that there is noise in certain areas. Have to remove the noise before they will accept it...
    The noise is at the tree trunk. What is the ISO setting? Do you use Auto or ???
    :blah: D80, Sigma 18-50/f2.8, 70-200/f2.8 (HSM).

Not bad for a first try...
    Even if there is noise a the middle in the background. I find this image pleasant.
    Just one annoying thing, the highlights are a little bit burned.

Just my opinion :d

Quote Originally Posted by tchern View Post
    The noise is at the tree trunk. What is the ISO setting? Do you use Auto or ???
    This pic is at ISO 800 (pushed up by the D80 auto ISO function to give me a fast enough shutter to eliminate hand shake. I need VR!) and usually use aperture priority.

Are there any programs to eliminate the dust (hopefully free ones ).

Quote Originally Posted by OlivierC View Post
    Not bad for a first try...
    Even if there is noise a the middle in the background. I find this image pleasant.
    Just one annoying thing, the highlights are a little bit burned.

Just my opinion :d