Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 26th September 2007   #1
ilyas

Default Nikon SLR

Hi, i'd like to venture into film and was thinking of getting a cheap nikon(or any other brand) slr. I own a d70s but just wanna try film for fun. Any recommendations for a beginner SLR?
Old 26th September 2007   #2
tato

Default Re: Nikon SLR

hhmmm...doing it backwards huh?
Old 26th September 2007   #3
Scaglietti

If it is new Nikon SLR that you are looking for, only F6 and FM10 is in production.

OTOH, I think a used FM2 will be a nice manual SLR to play with.

BC
Sponsored Link
Old 26th September 2007   #4
rvxing

Nikon F80, F65, etc B&S should be able to find them. # of functions will be similar with D70, so easier for you to learn. FM, FE much more manual and your G lens will have problem on them.
Old 27th September 2007   #5
ortega

F80 is an advance SLR camera that will last forever
Old 27th September 2007   #6
zac08

Originally Posted by ortega View Post
F80 is an advance SLR camera that will last forever
Good suggestion...

else can find F60 also..
Old 27th September 2007   #7
hacknet

i'd get the fm2. bullet proof design and it doesnt require batteries! dont worry, the manual focusing will appeal to you as soon as you start shooting with primes...
Old 27th September 2007   #8
nightwolf75

Originally Posted by ilyas View Post
Hi, i'd like to venture into film and was thinking of getting a cheap nikon(or any other brand) slr. I own a d70s but just wanna try film for fun. Any recommendations for a beginner SLR?
wat sort of lenses do u have now in ur possession? if u are holding onto any DX lenses like ur d70 kit lens, u can't use it on any SLRs cos they are designed for digital crop-factor cams. if u are using G-lenses (ie no aperture ring), u can't use it on manual SLRs like the FM2... unless u dun mind shooting at f22 all the time.
Old 27th September 2007   #9
catchlights

F4 and F90x are built like a tank.

awesome.
Old 27th September 2007   #10
advrider

F70 also quite ok.
Old 27th September 2007   #11
DeadEnd

How about F100? Heard it have fast AF motor, a good cam to drive the 80-200 AFD f2.8
Old 27th September 2007   #12
Bernard Ong

I think F80 is a very good film camera to start with. You can get a 2nd hand one at a very decent price.

This is the camera i used when i started out and it still serves me loyally.
Old 27th September 2007   #13
Scaglietti

Haha... i see almost all the SLRs that Nikon has made recently have been suggested.

F60
F65
F70
F80
F90X
F100
F4
FM2

BC
Old 27th September 2007   #14
jcryan55

I have a F90x plus MB10 battery grip to let go if you are interested.
Old 27th September 2007   #15
catchlights

Originally Posted by Scaglietti View Post
Haha... i see almost all the SLRs that Nikon has made recently have been suggested.

F60
F65
F70
F80
F90X
F100
F4
FM2

BC
still have leh....

Nikon F (Ah kong of F3)
F2 (Ah kong of F4)
F3 (Ah kong of F5)
F5 (Ah lau of F6)
Nikkomat (grand ah kong FM3)
FM
FE
FE2
EM
EL (Ah lau of FE)
FG

many many other more, can't remember off hands.
Old 27th September 2007   #16
Scaglietti

Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
still have leh....

Nikon F (Ah kong of F3)
F2 (Ah kong of F4)
F3 (Ah kong of F5)
F5 (Ah lau of F6)
Nikkomat (grand ah kong FM3)
FM
FE
FE2
EM
EL (Ah lau of FE)
FG

many many other more, can't remember off hands.
I said SLRs that Nikon made recently lah...

BC
Old 27th September 2007   #17
catchlights

I said SLRs that Nikon made recently lah...

BC
I see, my bad, you are referring to nikon cameras made around mid 90's
Old 27th September 2007   #18
NikonShooter

I own a D70 and F80D currently, both have similar interface and buttons. Quite easy to use with and not to mention the superb pic by F80D.
Old 27th September 2007   #19
Scaglietti

Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
I see, my bad, you are referring to nikon cameras made around mid 90's
ha... "recent" can be relative too...

But, back to film cameras, I really love to have a FM2. I am wondering whether there will be a digital version of the FM2...

BC
Old 27th September 2007   #20
catchlights

ha... "recent" can be relative too...

But, back to film cameras, I really love to have a FM2. I am wondering whether there will be a digital version of the FM2...

BC
you like FM2?

maybe you should try a feel of Nikkomat, really solid, but don't have a film winder.

don't think will be a digital version of manual camera, try Leica maybe
Closed Thread