Thread: Newbie questions regarding Sony F717

Question Newbie questions regarding Sony F717

Some questions about the telephoto len for Sony F717. Which one is a good one ? Is it the one that is one of Sony's accessories? Is there any other alternatives and roughly how much is it and where can I find it ? Also have a question about close up len. What does it do ? Does it makes the focus better during macro shots or just magnify the image ?
    Last but not least, what is the conversion len option for in the camera setup ? I think I read it in the manual which says zoom will not be enabled when conversion len is set to ON ? In what situation do I need to set it to ON ? Is it when I attach any telephoto convertor, it must be set to ON ? I am confused cause I am still a newbie towards photography. Thanks !
    -Express yourself not in words-
    http://www.majere2sg.com

Default Re: Newbie questions regarding Sony F717

Originally posted by majere2sg
    Some questions about the telephoto len for Sony F717. Which one is a good one ? Is it the one that is one of Sony's accessories? Is there any other alternatives and roughly how much is it and where can I find it ? Also have a question about close up len. What does it do ? Does it makes the focus better during macro shots or just magnify the image ?
    Get the Sony TC if you can afford. It offers the best image quality. Alternatively you can try to find a B300 or wait for the upcoming TCON-17. You will need a stepdown ring to attach those TCs.(58mm-55mm). Close-up lens allows you to move nearer to the subject thus getting a bigger magnification.(not by staying in the same position). It has nothing to do with making the focus better. Remember there is a minimum focusing distance so if you move nearer than that, you will get out of focus images. Hope this helps.

Default Re: Re: Newbie questions regarding Sony F717

Originally posted by Falcon