Thread: filter on sigma 15-30

Default filter on sigma 15-30

hi,

anyone using filters with the singma 15-30? would like to know your experience.

I believe you need to use gelatin filters for this?

Sorry, I've no experience with this, as I'm also planning to get a wide angle zoom for a DSLR, and this is one of my contenders. Mind telling me how much & where you got yours from? How do you find it so far?

I got it from fotoguide at SGD 1050 about a year back, heard that price has come down to SGD 950. I find the lens to be sharp enough for my work and at times the color contrast could have been better. Nothing too serious that a little tweak with PS wouldnt solve. All in all, a good lens for landscape photography.

The only minus is that its not filter friendly. Gelatin filters have to be cut into size to fit the filter holder at the lens end, can only take a filter at one time, filter changing is a chore, gelatin filter scratches easily ...blah..blah...

So far, i have resorted to sticking a big piece of gelatin filter, usually a ND, in front of the lens using sticky tape, its quite a pain.

Was hoping that someone has a better approach. anyone?

Originally posted by finkster
    I believe you need to use gelatin filters for this?

Sorry, I've no experience with this, as I'm also planning to get a wide angle zoom for a DSLR, and this is one of my contenders. Mind telling me how much & where you got yours from? How do you find it so far?
    Last edited by cyanbloodbane; 27th April 2003 at 12:03 PM.

Thks for the info.

Hmmm...didn't realise it was so troublesome...perhaps I'll need to consider the Tamron 19-35 or the Nikon 18-35 more seriously.

Hope someone else has advice on your filter use!

personally, contrast was excellent, and sharpness was quite good when stopped down.

when I had mine I never bothered to use filters with it, and relied on PS for most of the post-processing. then again, i'm not much of a filter user.