Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to learn to "see"

Default How to learn to "see"

I'm a newbie, and just bought a Canon 400D recently. Been having great fun taking pictures, but I find that there isn't really a big difference in the pictures taken in my PnS days except maybe resolution and file size

When I read photography stuff on the web, I'm more attracted to gear stuff and drool over lens and exotic gear, when I should be looking at more pictures instead.

Can I get advice from more experienced members on how you have gone on to the "next level", like making shots more interesting, "seeing" the world differently... etc. Any links to share?? Thanks
    Last edited by cancan7; 23rd September 2007 at 11:49 AM.

Default Re: How to learn to "see"

just shoot and shoot more. break away from your old styles and shoot again.

eg: if you like to shoot stand up.. try squatting before shooting..
    if you like to position your subjects in the middle, move it somewhere else in the viewfinder
    Try auto bracketing, which exposure brings out the subject.
    Portrait/landscape? try the other way.

Sometimes it works out.. sometimes it doesn't. Shoot a lot and review the pictures again. Ask why does it look plain.
    I'm not an expert at it and I'm still learning. However, when I compare my plain shots today, I can safely say they are at least better than what I took 3 years ago.
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

Shooting more, focusing more on subjects, understanding them, trying out new angles.. etc.
    Colours, lines, framings, composition, emotions, story etc all play a part in the overall look of your photo

Quote Originally Posted by cancan7 View Post
    When I read photography stuff on the web, I'm more attracted to gear stuff and drool over lens and exotic gear, when I should be looking at more pictures instead.