Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Do I need to check in tripod?

  1. #1

    Default Do I need to check in tripod?

    HI all

    Not sure whether this is the right place to post this.

    I am going to Korea soon and intend to bring my tripod there. It's a Gitzo and rather long.

    Will be taking SQ there and take an internal flight to Jeju island.

    Do I need to check in the tripod or could I hand carry all the way.

    Thanks in advance

    Jeff
    Nikon D700, VR Micro-105mm f/2.8G, 17-35mm f/2.8D, AF 50mm f/1.4D, 24-70mm f/2.8D

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    LA 2019
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Do I need to check in tripod?

    you have to check in. why hand carry? so troublesome.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Do I need to check in tripod?

    Quote Originally Posted by advrider View Post
    you have to check in. why hand carry? so troublesome.
    From some other bros that PMed me, I do not need to check in. WHy do I handcarry cos tripod too long for the suitcase that I want to bring to Korea. I do not want to bring a huge suitcase just for the tripod.

    Can someone re-confirm?
    Nikon D700, VR Micro-105mm f/2.8G, 17-35mm f/2.8D, AF 50mm f/1.4D, 24-70mm f/2.8D

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,374

    Default Re: Do I need to check in tripod?

    Quote Originally Posted by wasabi8888 View Post
    From some other bros that PMed me, I do not need to check in. WHy do I handcarry cos tripod too long for the suitcase that I want to bring to Korea. I do not want to bring a huge suitcase just for the tripod.

    Can someone re-confirm?
    check in with the flight steward or stewardess before going to your seat, and get it from them later.

    and well it depends on the size of your tripod, most is not able to put on the overhead luggage compartment, and neither in the leg area.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore (SengKang)
    Posts
    2,789

    Default Re: Do I need to check in tripod?

    Not sure if you need to check in when u go there but most probably u need to check in when u come back. Becoz I bought an umbrella there and need to check in, cannot hand carry..
    -Express yourself not in words-
    http://www.majere2sg.com

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: Do I need to check in tripod?

    Better ask airline staff upon check-in or give them a call, because regulations vary from country to country.

    I personally had trouble when flying to Australia few months back. Changi airport security didn't object when I hand carried a small G1127 tripod into a cabin. The flight was bound to Melbourne with a short stop in Adelaide (the same aircraft). In Adelaide, all passengers had to disembark and then board the plane again 20 minutes later. However, after disembarkation, when passing through a transit zone, Adelaide airport security refused to let the tripod back on board. It had to be passed to an airline staff who promised to check it in. Luckily, G1127 was not lost that day.
    Last edited by Hitz; 22nd September 2007 at 08:18 PM.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: Do I need to check in tripod?

    it can be a potential weapon. check it in.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: Do I need to check in tripod?

    Quote Originally Posted by tato View Post
    it can be a potential weapon. check it in.
    So as a camera or a lens. Especially a heavy beast like EF 70-200 f/2.8 L IS.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Do I need to check in tripod?

    Here's what I did, I remove the tripod head, laid the tripod on top of my clothes, diagonally across the luggage bag. Able to fit well. My luggage bag is those commonly seen Polo bags, mid-size. Tripod size is like a Manfrotto 190DB.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Do I need to check in tripod?

    i have flown a few times with my tripod as carry on luggage
    no problem
    but like they say, it depends, check first

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •