Thread: First Posting: Small Marina in Batam

Default First Posting: Small Marina in Batam

Dear All, this is my first time posting here. Just took up photography not long ago.

Photo was taken during sunset at a small marina at Harris Resort in Batam. During a weekend family trip for some R&R.

Wanted to capture marina during sunset, togather with the calm waters in the marina. I think it would be better if
    the water is still, to create a mirror effect.

Canon 350D w/18-55mm kit lens / Av F10 / Shutter Speed 1/50sec / Focal length 33mm

C & C are most welcome. Thank you
    Last edited by thlim; 20th September 2007 at 07:08 PM.

Default Re: First Posting: Small Marina in Batam

not sure if you have to write a little something more regarding the scene, please read the critique corner guidelines and make sure you meet the criteria, makes life easier for the mods/admin manning this section as well

but anyways, i will give my 2 cents

1) i feel a little uncomfortable about the masts being chopped off, on the left, same with the mast's reflections, your focal length used indicates that could be wider
    2) well exposed, can see details in shadow that need to be seen, and can recover highlights that need to be recovered, i think
    3) wonder if you did pp here, i don't think so - the colours have potential but are a tad too subdued for my liking
    4) scene is a little cluttered, one more reason why going wide might be better, would render the coconut tree silhouettes which add almost nothing to the picture other than a hint of a setting less attention grabbing

i did some quick pp on it, to bring out the colours, let me know if you want it down

this is without manipulating colour balance, which i would do if this were a picture taken by me, i find the palette here with whatever wb setting you used does not really appeal to me, a tad too cool - even the boats are blueee. but that's possibly personal taste

night86mare, thanks for the comments and advise.