Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Adobe DNG

  1. #1

    Default Adobe DNG

    Never really tried it before, but was wondering whether most of u guys actually use Digital Negative(dng) for their workflow. Since dng can be read by any CS and Lightroom, is it a better idea to convert all my NEFs to DNG instead?

    something like NEF->DNG->Lightroom->CS3?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Adobe DNG

    IMO its always best to save to the native format of your camera with RAW. When you convert from a native RAW format to DNG, there are bound to be some information lost in order to fit into the DNG file format.

  3. #3
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: Adobe DNG

    I seem to remember that it's a lossless conversion

  4. #4

    Default Re: Adobe DNG

    Quote Originally Posted by Parka View Post
    I seem to remember that it's a lossless conversion
    Pixel information-wise, perhaps but camera proprietary settings and information-wise with regards to camera-specific details, there might be certain info which might be discarded.

  5. #5
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Punggol 21
    Posts
    2,946

    Default Re: Adobe DNG

    Quote Originally Posted by Parka View Post
    I seem to remember that it's a lossless conversion
    err.. technically not very sound leh.. once the image is quanitze and sampled by a scanner into the computer for processing, there is already an image loss in resolution ( quantisation error or commmonly known as resolution ). It is not possible to have "lossless" sampling other than using the conventional enlarger lens. Something is wrong somewhere...

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Chapel Hill, US
    Posts
    856

    Default Re: Adobe DNG

    Quote Originally Posted by lkkang View Post
    err.. technically not very sound leh.. once the image is quanitze and sampled by a scanner into the computer for processing, there is already an image loss in resolution ( quantisation error or commmonly known as resolution ). It is not possible to have "lossless" sampling other than using the conventional enlarger lens. Something is wrong somewhere...
    RAW images already ARE quantized images.

  7. #7
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: Adobe DNG

    Just read up on the help section in Photoshop & Lightroom. Says that one can choose a lossless compression when going from RAW to DNG. On side note, a typical zip/rar/dmg file also uses lossless compression.

    I like the fact that the metadata is saved onto the DNG photo itself. That's unlike the RAW which writes an additional XMP file.

    Metadata standards are universal. Won't be any loss during conversion.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Adobe DNG

    so are most of u using dng or raw? was thinking of converting all my raw to dng. tho dng convertor has the option of embedding the original raw into the dng but it'd just bloat the file size.

  9. #9
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: Adobe DNG

    There's a very good discussion on Adobe's forum

    http://www.adobeforums.com/cgi-bin/webx/.3bc43848

    Anyway, I use DNG for the slightly smaller file size and metadata in single file advantage.
    If Adobe say there's it's lossless compression, I'll take it.

    Choosing file formats is like choosing belief systems. Why would I believe camera makers more than Adobe? See what I mean?

  10. #10
    Senior Member glennyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,587

    Default Re: Adobe DNG

    Quote Originally Posted by photogiant View Post
    Never really tried it before, but was wondering whether most of u guys actually use Digital Negative(dng) for their workflow. Since dng can be read by any CS and Lightroom, is it a better idea to convert all my NEFs to DNG instead?

    something like NEF->DNG->Lightroom->CS3?
    well.....

    what you can do is that you can tweak your NEF first, den convert to DNG... also can..

    i will only generate the dng if theres a need to...

    other wise.... i will keep the NEF from the conversion. no any particular reason. just playing safe.

    DNG is also smaller in file size too...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •