Thread: Macro using extension tubes

Default Macro using extension tubes

Hi

i found this on ebay.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Extension-Tube-M...QQcmdZViewItem

it is so cheap.... is it a good idea to try this? i'm only beginning. so, not very sure about this.
    pls help.

Default Re: Macro using extension tubes

try... it will increase your working distance but at the expense of light. no harm

Quote Originally Posted by xyz123 View Post
    Hi

i found this on ebay.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Extension-Tube-M...QQcmdZViewItem

it is so cheap.... is it a good idea to try this? i'm only beginning. so, not very sure about this.
    pls help.
    do note that most of the "cheaper" extension tube will disable camera metering/focusing.

just play around at f5.6 to 8. you will be fine.

Quote Originally Posted by advrider View Post
    just play around at f5.6 to 8. you will be fine.
    saw somewhere that it must work with lens that has the aperture ring.....

don't do it.... without electrical contacts you can't AF (not that it's important) and you can't control the aperture either.... good luck shooting macro wide open.... if you really need extension tubes get the triplus / kenko ones tat have electrical contacts....

Quote Originally Posted by zj2000 View Post
    don't do it.... without electrical contacts you can't AF (not that it's important) and you can't control the aperture either.... good luck shooting macro wide open.... if you really need extension tubes get the triplus / kenko ones tat have electrical contacts....
    thanks for your advice. where can i get the kenko and triplus ones in singapore? costs?
    i'm also considering close-up filters as a start....

dont need electrical lah. do manual better. aperture control at the ring. just set to f.56 to around 8. then do manual focus on the insect. much better with more control. the AF is quite troublesome, sometimes cannot focus. use a monopod and you are good to experiment.