Thread: Lonely Red Beetle

Default Lonely Red Beetle

Hello,

Took a picture of a beetle and will really appriciate C & C. Will like to shoot more in the future. Thanks guys.

EXIF Details:

Camera: Canon Powershot S3 IS
    Shutter Speed: 1/15sec
    Focal length: 6mm
    ---ooOo---
    Canon S3 IS + Al' Cheapo Tripod (I'm sure its a tripod ... Got 3 legs :bsmilie:)

Default Re: Lonely Red Beetle

it seems OOF and a little overexposed to me...(not that i'm an expert of course!)

Shutter speed is too slow for macros, you're liable to get movement blur either from the insect or the leave moving.

So in your case, I would suggest using a forced fill-in flash (diffuse it with a tissue or something similar to reduce the harshness) This would normally bump up the shutter speed to a decent 1/60 secs.

As for aperture, I dun think you have much to control, but looking at the picture, it seems that the rear left leg of the beetle is in focus as shown by the leave also. Try to aim for the eye.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Shutter speed is too slow for macros, you're liable to get movement blur either from the insect or the leave moving.

So in your case, I would suggest using a forced fill-in flash (diffuse it with a tissue or something similar to reduce the harshness) This would normally bump up the shutter speed to a decent 1/60 secs.

As for aperture, I dun think you have much to control, but looking at the picture, it seems that the rear left leg of the beetle is in focus as shown by the leave also. Try to aim for the eye.
    Hi Zac,
    Thanks for your advise, I'll try ISO100 for my next shoot. I've been working with ISO80 all these while. For the flash, I've cut out the lining from a CD jacket and taped it around the flash to diffuse it.