Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Does C700UZ have Preflash?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    3,111

    Default Does C700UZ have Preflash?

    If it does, is it possible to de-activate it?
    Sign, just bought a sensor flash but found that its not very effective..
    Images got even darker....

  2. #2

    Default Re: Does C700UZ have Preflash?

    Originally posted by ark19
    If it does, is it possible to de-activate it?
    Sign, just bought a sensor flash but found that its not very effective..
    Images got even darker....
    hmmm, got pre-flash meh??
    Unless in red-eye reduction mode...
    otherwise, I don't remember it having pre-flash.

    Actually I would prefer it to have series of pre-flashes so that it can assist with low-light focus, but it doesn't.

    Which flash unit did you get?

  3. #3
    Senior Member zhapchit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    North-East
    Posts
    693

    Default

    how much did u pay for it ?
    can take a pic of it and the cables? thanks

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    3,111

    Default Re: Re: Does C700UZ have Preflash?

    Originally posted by Tweek


    hmmm, got pre-flash meh??
    Unless in red-eye reduction mode...
    otherwise, I don't remember it having pre-flash.

    Actually I would prefer it to have series of pre-flashes so that it can assist with low-light focus, but it doesn't.

    Which flash unit did you get?
    Hi guys, after taking self-portraits of myself (thank goodness lens didn't crack!) to test the flash, I can safely concur that C700UZ do have Pre-flash!

    Here r some pics of the "Sakure" flash...@$35 bucks..

    This is the folded pic...notice the functionable hot shoe connection


    Voila, the flasher is revealed!...can't really see it, but there's a led indicator and a sensor just below the flash.


    The back...there's a test button, tripod screw mount and a ASA/dist/exposure chart...the AA batt compartment is at the side.


    Try to see can refund anot....if not maybe give my sis to flash those flasher!


  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    $35 is ex. I could have sold you a stronger flash for less.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    3,111

    Default

    Originally posted by mpenza
    $35 is ex. I could have sold you a stronger flash for less.
    Heng Ah, the Lao Ban Niang was very kind, refunded me when I went back today

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    You buying anymore slave flash? I also interested to get 1 for my c700uz. If you buying/aiming to buy, pls PM me and I may join you =p
    Canon Lover :)

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    3,111

    Default

    Originally posted by Klause
    You buying anymore slave flash? I also interested to get 1 for my c700uz. If you buying/aiming to buy, pls PM me and I may join you =p
    After yesterday's lesson, I'd better research more before investing

    Check this digi-slave looks promising

    But abit ex @ US$99.95

    Any suggestions?

  9. #9

    Default

    Hi ark19

    I went through the same experience as you. Bought a slave flash based on the shop's recommendation and then found out that there's pre-flash for C700. Got to go back to the shop and convince the salesperson abt his mistake (and hence the exchange of the flash).

    I have also explore the option of getting the digislave but realised that those flash units seem to be normal Vivitar flashes fitted with their special electronics to accommodate the pre-flashes. Moreover, using slave flash means that your DC batteries will die faster...

    I have since bought a Vivitar non-dedicated flash 285HV and the painfully expensive Olympus flash cable C B-04.

    Quite happy with this ext flash setup, although sometimes I wish the flash is a bit smaller and has swivel head (besides the bounce head).

    BTW, this setup is recommended by many folks at dpreview olympus forum.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    3,111

    Default

    Originally posted by HOCL
    Hi ark19

    I went through the same experience as you. Bought a slave flash based on the shop's recommendation and then found out that there's pre-flash for C700. Got to go back to the shop and convince the salesperson abt his mistake (and hence the exchange of the flash).

    I have also explore the option of getting the digislave but realised that those flash units seem to be normal Vivitar flashes fitted with their special electronics to accommodate the pre-flashes. Moreover, using slave flash means that your DC batteries will die faster...

    I have since bought a Vivitar non-dedicated flash 285HV and the painfully expensive Olympus flash cable C B-04.

    Quite happy with this ext flash setup, although sometimes I wish the flash is a bit smaller and has swivel head (besides the bounce head).

    BTW, this setup is recommended by many folks at dpreview olympus forum.
    Hi HOCL,

    How much did u pay for the 285HV and thee CB-04?
    Seems like this is the choice for many folks with C700UZ...
    But is it bulky?

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    the Vivitar 285HV is quite huge. It used to be widely used by professionals and is a very powerful flash.

    you probably can go for a smaller and cheaper one.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    3,111

    Default

    Originally posted by mpenza
    the Vivitar 285HV is quite huge. It used to be widely used by professionals and is a very powerful flash.

    you probably can go for a smaller and cheaper one.
    If only we can modify a hotshoe slave unit to signal on second flash, then almost all flashes could be used!

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    So how to get an external flash ? I need a bounce flash for my c700uz.
    Canon Lover :)

  14. #14

    Default

    Originally posted by ark19


    Hi HOCL,

    How much did u pay for the 285HV and thee CB-04?
    Seems like this is the choice for many folks with C700UZ...
    But is it bulky?
    I think I paid like $145 for the 285HV and $90 (Ouch!!) for a piece of cable (CB-04). You'll probably need a simple bracket (abt $20-30) to hold the flash and camera together.

    Yes it is quite bulky. Like I said, I wish it is a little smaller ....

  15. #15
    Senior Member zhapchit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    North-East
    Posts
    693

    Default

    $90 for that piece of cable???

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    3,111

    Default

    Originally posted by HOCL


    I think I paid like $145 for the 285HV and $90 (Ouch!!) for a piece of cable (CB-04). You'll probably need a simple bracket (abt $20-30) to hold the flash and camera together.

    Yes it is quite bulky. Like I said, I wish it is a little smaller ....
    $90 bucks for a cable! Can buy another flash already!
    Think I'll go for the modified flash proposed by Kamwai....

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •