Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta

Sony/Konica-Minolta Dream. Create. Live

Old 5th September 2007   #1
eclipse

Default Lens for Rent???

This question occurred to me when i was about to purchase my 1st dslr. I purchased my A-100 for a number reasons ("it's a sony" - for one). I came from a PnS sony F717 which i still not giving away because of the infrared capability as well as the IQ - i even used that to cover a wedding (backup of course)!. As a dslr noobie, lust for good lenses is inevitable and of course been saving for my next lens purchase (and hopefully a bright glass). I only have 1 lens currently- sony 18-200mm which i think it's good enough for general, good lighting, and controlled photography.

We all know that 2 of the giants has a market for such rentals. So I'm just wondering if some of the experts here with a huge lens collection are open with the idea of renting their lens/equipment? Reason is as a starter, i'm very limited for what my current lens offers me which sometime in certain events (e.g. lowlight/candid photgraphy, extra zooms for sports, wide angles for landscapes and architecture, etc.), you need a better ones than you have. Also, starters like me who's starting to invest - im sure we need to produce stunning image (IQ wise) and the more you have options - the more opportunity bringing your creativity to the next level.

Handled a few dslr models from friends for events and assignments - that's why i decided to have my own. Enough said... Thanks in advance and Cheers!!!

Eclipse
Old 5th September 2007   #2
dr34mc4st3r

Default Re: Lens for Rent???

we prefer to psycho you to buy
Old 5th September 2007   #3
eclipse

Originally Posted by dr34mc4st3r View Post
Sure!!! but for now, pocket is empty Gosh, If i have the CZs - i'll be in the news already - begging money for credit card payment
Sponsored Link
Old 5th September 2007   #4
heckcare.der

mmmm... what lenses are you looking at to rent?
Old 5th September 2007   #5
yeky2000

I am not an expert and I don't have a huge collection, but I have a Minolta 70-210/4 (beercan) which I don't use often. If you like, and you are willing to collect and return it at NUS, and you promise to use it properly, you can rent it.

As to the rentage, I don't know. Maybe two days for $10?
Old 5th September 2007   #6
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by dr34mc4st3r View Post
ya, i offer him my whole set....
Old 5th September 2007   #7
eclipse

Originally Posted by heckcare.der View Post
mmmm... what lenses are you looking at to rent?
Hi Heckcare - well, actually nothing in particular but i think it's more of "as and when" needed basis if let say, i have an event to cover (i.e. wedding which require bright glass) or if i just want to experiment in different situations (i.e. wide angle or protrait)- kinda adhoc.

Originally Posted by yeky2000 View Post
I am not an expert and I don't have a huge collection, but I have a Minolta 70-210/4 (beercan) which I don't use often. If you like, and you are willing to collect and return it at NUS, and you promise to use it properly, you can rent it.

As to the rentage, I don't know. Maybe two days for $10?
Thanks for the thought yeky2000 - I already have the sony18-200 but it's 6.3 at the zoom end. I heard beer can is a legend in monolta lens line up. I take note of your generous offer. Cheers!!!

Guys - just to clear a bit of my intentions, Im just a starter of probably many starters to come by in this forum especially the new model is coming very soon. And of course while we (starters like me) have just made a huge hole in our pockets it take time to purchase another lens (especially wife is watching closely)- it's good that we have options to expand our skills and IQ of the camera without limiting ourselves to 1 glass at the moment.

Besides, you can make a few bucks rather than lens sitting in your cabs.

Eclipse
Old 5th September 2007   #8
Del_CtrlnoAlt

most of the time, people who use 'odd' system are not for the money, aka pentax, minolta... cos stuff are rare and hard to come by...

so most will fortify themselves with lenses that they need, cos its hard to get, and will treasure them...

just think about it, i rent you an expensive lens, u damage it, who's going to pay me for repair? then all the wear and tear, where to get people to service the lenses?

u can dig around here, most likely you will see cheap lenses people will rent... can forget about the Gs and CZs. neither the 1.4s or the solid 2.8s.
Old 5th September 2007   #9
eclipse

Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
most of the time, people who use 'odd' system are not for the money, aka pentax, minolta... cos stuff are rare and hard to come by...

so most will fortify themselves with lenses that they need, cos its hard to get, and will treasure them...

just think about it, i rent you an expensive lens, u damage it, who's going to pay me for repair? then all the wear and tear, where to get people to service the lenses?

u can dig around here, most likely you will see cheap lenses people will rent... can forget about the Gs and CZs. neither the 1.4s or the solid 2.8s.
Hi Del,

Thanks and fully understand all of it. Actually, im expecting your kind of reply is coming. It's just that im exploring some possibilities if there are such markets here. That leaves me to save then. Cheers!

Eclipse
Old 5th September 2007   #10
Johnston

Well, I guess some of our bros here will let you try some lenses during an outing. Havent heard of renting lenses within our community though but who knows, some bros might consider lor.
Old 5th September 2007   #11
DewaKarma

yups...agree with Johnston...join us during outing and im sure u can try some of the lenses which u intended to try...but let me warn u...DUN BLAME US IF BBB VIRUS HITS U HARD!
Old 6th September 2007   #12
Trigger Happy

bro, DCA is right, our range of lenses are rare, so we do treasure them a lot more than if they were available anywhere. i'd never consider renting out my Gs, but a CZ16-80 (if i kena the BBB), why not? that lens is easily replaceable.

join us for outings, there'd be lots to try, but just don't blame us if you kena the BBB too!

so, your wifey watching eh? mine was too, i think she's given up now
patience...
Old 6th September 2007   #13
DewaKarma

Originally Posted by Trigger Happy View Post
bro, DCA is right, our range of lenses are rare, so we do treasure them a lot more than if they were available anywhere. i'd never consider renting out my Gs, but a CZ16-80 (if i kena the BBB), why not? that lens is easily replaceable.

join us for outings, there'd be lots to try, but just don't blame us if you kena the BBB too!

so, your wifey watching eh? mine was too, i think she's given up now
patience...
PURE ADVICE. ..keyword : PATIENCE
Old 6th September 2007   #14
Trigger Happy

Originally Posted by DewaKarma View Post
PURE ADVICE. ..keyword : PATIENCE
patience = wait for wifey to give up querying why your dry cab filling up and you need to buy another... that's when you can say "honey, i bought a $7000 lens today" and she reacts with a simple disinterested "mmm.."
Old 6th September 2007   #15
yokechye

patience = wait for wifey to give up querying why your dry cab filling up and you need to buy another... that's when you can say "honey, i bought a $7000 lens today" and she reacts with a simple disinterested "mmm.."
then wife reply back.. "oh... i bought $8000 worth of cosmetic"
Old 6th September 2007   #16
Galdor

Originally Posted by yokechye View Post
Old 6th September 2007   #17
Trigger Happy

Originally Posted by yokechye View Post
i've also learnt to switch off
funny, on the same topic, you never hear of women renting bags, shoes, clothes....
Old 6th September 2007   #18
zcf

i've also learnt to switch off
funny, on the same topic, you never hear of women renting bags, shoes, clothes....
They prefer to own it.
Old 6th September 2007   #19
Trigger Happy

Originally Posted by zcf View Post
They prefer to own it.
so we're like women lor..
Old 6th September 2007   #20
DewaKarma

ahh...very soon there will be postings..."WIFE FOR RENT"