Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta

Sony/Konica-Minolta Dream. Create. Live

Old 5th September 2007   #1
yokechye

Default teleconverter??

i still have quite a vague understanding of teleconverters for km/sony lens.

is there something like some lens cant fit onto the teleconverter or you need to be at f/X in order to use the AF??

I read something on ebay like Auto Focus on Lens with wide aperture of 2.8 and higher.
Manual Focus on lens with smaller f stops.

so it means if my lens is f/5.6 it it cant AF?
Old 5th September 2007   #2
thinkvision

Default Re: teleconverter??

trust me, 300/2.8 more reliable...
Old 5th September 2007   #3
yokechye

i was thinking like extending my 500 range to like 700 or more... but of course it will lose quality and need MF isnt it?
then sigma 800 is comfirm out of my range. another option is to get a telescope
Sponsored Link
Old 5th September 2007   #4
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by yokechye View Post
i was thinking like extending my 500 range to like 700 or more... but of course it will lose quality and need MF isnt it?
then sigma 800 is comfirm out of my range. another option is to get a telescope
50-500 with 1.4 still can AF...
Old 5th September 2007   #5
thinkvision

found one sharp used canon 800/5.6L, modify its FD to M42...no regret!@
Old 5th September 2007   #6
yokechye

Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
very tempting leh... but i not enough cash now
Old 5th September 2007   #7
Darcy.Zhou

Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post

haha

looks like 50-500/f1.4 constant...
Old 5th September 2007   #8
yokechye

Originally Posted by Darcy.Zhou View Post
haha

looks like 50-500/f1.4 constant...
if 50-500 f/1.4 for 1.2k i go chiong for it liao
Old 5th September 2007   #9
Drudkh

You need to know how is the structure of the TC and the rear element of the lens you'll be using. An example: Minolta 80-200 f/2.8 and Minolta TC.

Old 5th September 2007   #10
yokechye

Originally Posted by Drudkh View Post
You need to know how is the structure of the TC and the rear element of the lens you'll be using. An example: Minolta 80-200 f/2.8 and Minolta TC.

so the rear lens element comes out too much that it cant fit onto the TC?
Old 5th September 2007   #11
Drudkh

Yes, they collide onto each other. To solve the problem is to buy 3rd party TC like Teleplus or Kenko which has an allowance catered for such lenses. If I'm not wrong, Sigma TCs are the same as Minolta's.
Old 5th September 2007   #12
yokechye

so Auto Focus on Lens with wide aperture of 2.8 and higher.

so does that means that if my lens is at f/5.6 it is MF?
Old 5th September 2007   #13
Galdor

so Auto Focus on Lens with wide aperture of 2.8 and higher.

so does that means that if my lens is at f/5.6 it is MF?
No leh, I use my TelePlus with my Sigma 400mm f5.6 and it can AF leh.
Old 5th September 2007   #14
yokechye

Originally Posted by Galdor View Post
No leh, I use my TelePlus with my Sigma 400mm f5.6 and it can AF leh.
teleplus 1.4? if 3x then how?

sigma 170-500 f5-6.3 can still AF?
Old 5th September 2007   #15
Galdor

Not sure leh. Don't have either of these.
Old 5th September 2007   #16
yokechye

Not sure leh. Don't have either of these.
3x super tele sia... can shoot FF moon
Old 5th September 2007   #17
Galdor

3x super tele sia... can shoot FF moon
But dun know how's the quality leh. Can get the range but may not be sharp.
Old 5th September 2007   #18
yokechye

But dun know how's the quality leh. Can get the range but may not be sharp.
ya lo.. thats what i worry
Old 5th September 2007   #19
Galdor

ya lo.. thats what i worry
Dun think it's advisable to get a 3X T/C. Get a 2X one instead.
Old 5th September 2007   #20
clkoh

Woah you need 1500mm? Shoot neighbour?

1.4X TC adds 1 stop, 2X adds 2 stops, and 3X 3 stops. F6.3 add 3 stops, it will be so dark you have difficulty to even to manual focus! Need very bright light. Cannot shoot moon, but maybe the sun?

Have tried Kenko Pro 300 1.4 with Tamron 200-500. At 500mm, can AF, but sometimes keeps hunting when lighting is no good. When it happens just switch to manual lor. If not wrong Tankm have 2x, maybe he can answer.

By the way, Sony 50mm/1.4 cannot fit into this Kenko 1.4 TC.

If for birding, another cheaper option is to look at Digiscoping.