Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta

Sony/Konica-Minolta Dream. Create. Live

Old 5th September 2007   #1
junkai21

Default Flash enquiries!! (and some newbie stuff)

Hi guys,

im new into sony forum!
What does you guys means by "Alpha Mount"?

Also, can i fit any flash from nikon or canon to my A100? Will it work or it will spoil it?

Thanks for your replies.
Old 5th September 2007   #2
eow

Default Re: Flash enquiries!! (and some newbie stuff)

Originally Posted by junkai21 View Post
Hi guys,

im new into sony forum!

Also, can i fit any flash from nikon or canon to my A100? Will it work or it will spoil it?

Thanks for your replies.
1)usually it refer to sony/km mount
2) u got to have fs-1100 adaptor...that allow u to use std iso hotshoe with flash that got auto mode otherwise u can't use
Old 5th September 2007   #3
DewaKarma

Hi guys,

im new into sony forum!

Thanks for your replies.
u have nikon flash ah?
Old 5th September 2007   #4
yokechye

Originally Posted by DewaKarma View Post
u have nikon flash ah?
i sense someone wanna try
Old 5th September 2007   #5
junkai21

Originally Posted by yokechye View Post
i sense someone wanna try

oh yah... cuz tomorrow im going out with friends. My friend have his nikon flash.. so im wondering!
Old 5th September 2007   #6
rOnGrEn

oh yah... cuz tomorrow im going out with friends. My friend have his nikon flash.. so im wondering!
hmmz.. if u notice the hotshoe on your alpha, you will see that it is different from the hotshoe design of other camera makes.. unless u have the adaptor that eow mentioned, the nikon flash cannot even fit into the hotshoe of your alpha.
Old 5th September 2007   #7
Trigger Happy

the fs1100 is rare and hard to find, using a third party flash won't allow you/ camera to control the flash so exposure control may be a problem.

you're much better off investing in a km/ sony flash in the long-term.
Old 6th September 2007   #8
boombox

That's right, and when you get the flash, get the big one. F56AM
Old 7th September 2007   #9
junkai21

Originally Posted by boombox View Post
That's right, and when you get the flash, get the big one. F56AM
you guys think i should wait because there will be a new model of camera coming out. Will there be new flash? Then this 2 models will go down the price mah?
Old 7th September 2007   #10
boombox

Not sure if a new flash would come up with the new camera bodies... we might have to ask the pro bros who have the "intel".

But I can say, that the F56AM should be good enough. I actually really felt like buying a second one.
Old 8th September 2007   #11
DewaKarma

Originally Posted by boombox View Post
Not sure if a new flash would come up with the new camera bodies... we might have to ask the pro bros who have the "intel".

But I can say, that the F56AM should be good enough. I actually really felt like buying a second one.
instead of buying another flash...might as well buy km 28-75 version rite...or 50 1.4 ...or tamron 90mm...
Old 8th September 2007   #12
junkai21

Originally Posted by DewaKarma View Post
instead of buying another flash...might as well buy km 28-75 version rite...or 50 1.4 ...or tamron 90mm...

Im just using a kit lens you all so pro liao
Old 8th September 2007   #13
DewaKarma

hmmm..it will take some time lah...we all dun 'grow' into better photographers instantly..needs time and practice...so..what r u waiting for...go for more outings with us..
Old 8th September 2007   #14
tchoonyong

Im just using a kit lens you all so pro liao

once you have more experience in shooting you will know what requirements you need to get for your own needs but a flash is a first thing you should invest on becoz it will helps in the future especially when you faced with low light conditions. Secondly to get telephoto lens especially if you shoot sports or weddings. Sony have 3 lens for telephoto one is DT18-200,sal75300 and sal24105 which all costs less than a thousand. More will comes once A700 starts selling in singapore. But most are for APS-C Sensors. DT series lens works on APS-C Sensors and those with SAL are actually full frame lenses which can used on APS-C Sensor or full frame sensors.
Old 8th September 2007   #15
junkai21

What is APS-C sensors?
Old 8th September 2007   #16
Agetan

APS-C sensor meaning smaller sensor... in essense it is still the same, just smaller sensor. Just like comparing 35mm and a medium format.

everything else is the same, don't worry about these kind of technical thing.

Hart
Old 8th September 2007   #17
junkai21

Originally Posted by tchoonyong View Post
once you have more experience in shooting you will know what requirements you need to get for your own needs but a flash is a first thing you should invest on becoz it will helps in the future especially when you faced with low light conditions. Secondly to get telephoto lens especially if you shoot sports or weddings. Sony have 3 lens for telephoto one is DT18-200,sal75300 and sal24105 which all costs less than a thousand. More will comes once A700 starts selling in singapore. But most are for APS-C Sensors. DT series lens works on APS-C Sensors and those with SAL are actually full frame lenses which can used on APS-C Sensor or full frame sensors.

I see. By the way, i bought my DSLR-A100W, it came with two lens. One is the normal lens and another is 75 - 300. Is that a Tele lens?
Old 8th September 2007   #18
Agetan

I think large aperture lens is equally important as flash when come to low light photography.

Also high ISO capability of a camera is very important too.

Mostly I would use large aperture with high ISO for low light by finding suitable shooting "area". In wedding, I can control where I place the subjects in most circumstances. Only use flash if really neccessary.

If I would start again from scratch... I will buy a semi pro body, good lenses (f4 or below) and a good tripod and flash. that is the order i will go. As a photographer, you need to learn to see where you can get or manipulate the lighting. I shoot 90% available light for wedding and portrait. Use flash just merely as "fill flash" not actual main source of lighting.

If you have to buy a flash, buy one that is most versatile which allow you to do more creative stuff rather than save and buy a lower model. U will get more out of more expensive model. Currently, Sony 56 is the best u can buy in Sony range.

All the best.

Hart
Old 8th September 2007   #19
Agetan

I see. By the way, i bought my DSLR-A100W, it came with two lens. One is the normal lens and another is 75 - 300. Is that a Tele lens?
yes 75-300 is a tele zoom lens, anything above 50mm can be considered as Tele. Though more commonly, it is refer to focal length longer than 100mm.

Hart
Old 8th September 2007   #20
junkai21

Originally Posted by Agetan View Post
yes 75-300 is a tele zoom lens, anything above 50mm can be considered as Tele. Though more commonly, it is refer to focal length longer than 100mm.

Hart
I see! Thanks!!!
Closed Thread