Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Equipment for Night Safari

  1. #1

    Default Equipment for Night Safari

    hi everyone,

    i'm planning to make a trip to night safari this sat.. i would like to confirm a previously heard rumour that camera equipment are not allowed in the place?

    but if they do allow cameras in, wat sort of extra equipment do i need? i oni have a canon g3 and a giottos tripod.. pls advise.. thanks!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    AMK, Singapore
    Posts
    527

    Default

    Can use camera.. just cannot use flash..

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    5,499

    Default

    wah you very ambitious. the lighting there is horrigible (so low!!!) and since you cannot use flash, the only thing you can compensate with is ultra-high ISOs, like 3200 or 6400.

    unless you got a nightframing camera like the SOny 707/717... but even then taking a decent shot would be a challenge. i'd be interested to hear more of your results though.

    good luck!!!

  4. #4

    Default

    Originally posted by Larry
    wah you very ambitious. the lighting there is horrigible (so low!!!) and since you cannot use flash, the only thing you can compensate with is ultra-high ISOs, like 3200 or 6400.

    unless you got a nightframing camera like the SOny 707/717... but even then taking a decent shot would be a challenge. i'd be interested to hear more of your results though.

    good luck!!!
    correction.. i'm not ambitious.. i'm trying to find out if i'm able to take any pics at the night safari if i do make a trip down.. no offence, larry..

    so from the replies that i've got here guess the oni place i can take photos would be the front gate?

  5. #5
    Senior Member ivor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SINGAPOUR
    Posts
    1,369

    Default

    Remember to post those pictures up whether they are good or bad... so that we can see what is really the necessary equipments and settings required... thanks.

  6. #6
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,601

    Default

    larry, iso 6400 actually exists? seriously, i didn't know before this... thanks man!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Originally posted by sehsuan
    larry, iso 6400 actually exists? seriously, i didn't know before this... thanks man!
    Yup, on D100 as HI-2 (equivalent to ISO6400).

    Rgds,
    Jeffery

  8. #8
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,601

    Default

    thanks Larry and Jeffery!

  9. #9

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    5,499

    Default

    Originally posted by sehsuan
    larry, iso 6400 actually exists? seriously, i didn't know before this... thanks man!
    yah there are a coupla B&W film types with ISO 3200, like Ilford 3200 and Kodak TMAX 3200, which can push to 6400. even the D100 has a 3200 and 6400 ISO setting (aka HI 1 & 2).

  11. #11

    Default

    Originally posted by ivor
    Remember to post those pictures up whether they are good or bad... so that we can see what is really the necessary equipments and settings required... thanks.
    my photos are up!

    they can be viewed over at this thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •