Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: CMOS Technology Sweeping the World!!!

  1. #1
    geronimo
    Guests

    Default CMOS Technology Sweeping the World!!!

    Hi guys,

    am about to get the Canon A60/70 but was kinda "warned" by one of my friend to wait out for a while cos the new CMOS technology will sweep the market soon, replacing the current CCD technology...n Digicams will be much cheaper in future!!

    Have read up in websites with regards to this technology (though it has some slight disadvantages as compared to the current CCD technology) but there's no news when it'll be implemented fully (apparently, it's used in low-end digicams now), especially with regards to Singapore and this region. Anybody has any comments on this and roughly when it'll sweep the higher-end digicams (like A70) market in a big way?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    CMOS is currently used in some of the top-of-the-line digital SLRs.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,057

    Default Re: CMOS Technology Sweeping the World!!!

    Originally posted by geronimo
    Hi guys,

    am about to get the Canon A60/70 but was kinda "warned" by one of my friend to wait out for a while cos the new CMOS technology will sweep the market soon, replacing the current CCD technology...n Digicams will be much cheaper in future!!

    Have read up in websites with regards to this technology (though it has some slight disadvantages as compared to the current CCD technology) but there's no news when it'll be implemented fully (apparently, it's used in low-end digicams now), especially with regards to Singapore and this region. Anybody has any comments on this and roughly when it'll sweep the higher-end digicams (like A70) market in a big way?
    gosh are u taking mass comm? u write like a PR
    no ccds are more estab for high res cams. cmos is still pretty much webcams and dslrs...
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  4. #4

    Default

    manufacturers who use CMOS on their DSLRs still use CCDs on their lower-end models, and that is proof enough that both CCD and CMOS will be here to stay for quite some time still. I would say that neither CCD nor CMOS technology has matured enough for anyone to single out which is better.

    don't wait if you've set your mind on purchasing something. There's always something newer and better just around the corner, so just be happy and content with your purchase and console yourself with the images that you can produce with it.
    Last edited by munfai; 17th April 2003 at 03:53 PM.

  5. #5

    Default

    Originally posted by munfai
    both CCD and CMOS will be here to stay for quite some time still. You will simply not find and CMOS on cameras other than DSLRs in the near future.
    Actually as what someone has pointed out, CMOS has been around on those 1.3MP digicams and webcams for 2years or more due to its lower cost.

    Only canon bothered to develop its potential and dump it into a DSLR body.

  6. #6

    Default

    Originally posted by Zerstorer
    Actually as what someone has pointed out, CMOS has been around on those 1.3MP digicams and webcams for 2years or more due to its lower cost.
    yup... so i noticed and edited my post. thanks.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    Originally posted by munfai
    don't wait if you've set your mind on purchasing something. There's always something newer and better just around the corner, so just be happy and content with your purchase and console yourself with the images that you can produce with it.
    Simply don't buy anything because of a cool/new technology, unless it's specifically relevant to YOUR use...
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  8. #8

    Default

    heh heh, canon is already using CMOS on their top-range professional DSLR. And @ 11.1megapix, its one of the highest res.

  9. #9

    Default

    Well, don't buy the A60/70 and wait for that CMOS sensor and spend your time here arguing; in the meantime, I'll be heading out to take photos with my Ixus V2 while you wait and debate endlessly.

    ciao!

  10. #10

    Default

    Originally posted by YSLee
    Well, don't buy the A60/70 and wait for that CMOS sensor and spend your time here arguing; in the meantime, I'll be heading out to take photos with my Ixus V2 while you wait and debate endlessly.

    ciao!

    wahahahhahahhah

    sorry could not resist it!


    regards
    my flickr account

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    but it's true u know... while u wait others have already enjoyed shooting with whatever they have and learnt their next evolutionary step...
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •