Thread: First attempt at HDR

Default First attempt at HDR

First attempt at HDR, after seeing how pretty they look.
    Used photoshop. Issit supposed to look like this? I tried adjusting the levels, but it still doesnt look dramatic. any suggestions?
    I think the pics are taken at -1, 0, 1.

Last edited by RoBeY; 11th August 2007 at 01:22 AM.

Default Re: First attempt at HDR

hi there, im a noob myself, but here's what i do for my hdr shots..

(1) Set the camera to aperture mode and use ~ F8, depending
    (2) Use spot metering and meter for the darkest and brightest parts of the frame
    (3) Take note of the shutter speed for both the darkest and brightest parts of the frame
    (4) Switch camera to manual mode and use the same aperture as (1)
    (5) Mount the camera on a tripod
    (6) Start with the shutter speed you got with metering for the darkest or brightest parts of the frame
    (7) Take the shot
    (8) Multiply the shutter speed by 4
    (9) Take another shot
    (10) Continue doing this until you've exceeded the value of the shutter speed of the darkest or brightest parts of the scene, depending on which you start with

To minimize vibration, use a remote, or something...

thanks for your reply.

i used my cam's autobracket function. can autobracket be used to create HDR pics?

i was reading on net about HDR. it says that this is "used to record a greater range of tonal detail than a given camera could capture in a single photo".
    how do i decide what exposure to use? and how many pics i take?

i tried editing again in photoshop to sharpen it, does it now look better? or does it look unnatural?

TIA.

Hi RoBeY,

I think you first pic is quite ok....but the adjustment needs to be fine tuned to make the pic more natural....unless you want a surreal pic.