Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: First attempt at HDR

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sembawang
    Posts
    61

    Default First attempt at HDR

    First attempt at HDR, after seeing how pretty they look.
    Used photoshop. Issit supposed to look like this? I tried adjusting the levels, but it still doesnt look dramatic. any suggestions?
    I think the pics are taken at -1, 0, 1.

    Last edited by RoBeY; 11th August 2007 at 01:22 AM.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: First attempt at HDR

    hi there, im a noob myself, but here's what i do for my hdr shots..

    (1) Set the camera to aperture mode and use ~ F8, depending
    (2) Use spot metering and meter for the darkest and brightest parts of the frame
    (3) Take note of the shutter speed for both the darkest and brightest parts of the frame
    (4) Switch camera to manual mode and use the same aperture as (1)
    (5) Mount the camera on a tripod
    (6) Start with the shutter speed you got with metering for the darkest or brightest parts of the frame
    (7) Take the shot
    (8) Multiply the shutter speed by 4
    (9) Take another shot
    (10) Continue doing this until you've exceeded the value of the shutter speed of the darkest or brightest parts of the scene, depending on which you start with

    To minimize vibration, use a remote, or something...

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sembawang
    Posts
    61

    Default Re: First attempt at HDR

    thanks for your reply.

    i used my cam's autobracket function. can autobracket be used to create HDR pics?

    i was reading on net about HDR. it says that this is "used to record a greater range of tonal detail than a given camera could capture in a single photo".
    how do i decide what exposure to use? and how many pics i take?

    i tried editing again in photoshop to sharpen it, does it now look better? or does it look unnatural?

    TIA.


  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Where the wind blows...
    Posts
    4,528

    Default Re: First attempt at HDR

    Hi RoBeY,

    I think you first pic is quite ok....but the adjustment needs to be fine tuned to make the pic more natural....unless you want a surreal pic.

    Since you are using in-cam auto bracketing try +/-2 stops in the feature. If you can, take 5pics with +/-2 stops apart each shot. ALWAYS use Aperture mode...if you set in Shutterspeed mode, than all the shot will have different DOF due to the change in aperture.

    After merging to HDR in CS, you still need to so some adjustments, like, leveling, curve, shadow/highlight, whichever applicable to make the pic more natural.

    If the scene is bright enough for fast shutter speed, you can just handheld and fire your autobracket in "continuous" mode of shutter. If not a tripod is a must.

    Below are 2 HDR which I took over the weekends, handheld, 3 exposures +/-2 stops apart:





    for the 2nd pic, I was trying to make it more natural (like now my eyes see it), that's why I did not "brighten" the shadowed corridor under the shelter of the building too bright. But now viewing it in my office monitor, may be it should be brighter....I dun have a callibrated monitor lah.

    As for how to expose the pic, you can use what dkjc explained if you are using manual compensation. If you are using autobracketing, you have to expose the midtone as the cam will auto compensate to +2 and -2 stops for the next two shots. How to get the midtone, set the aperture to the DOF you want, meter the brightest highlight and the darkest shadow and set the cam to the average shutter speed and thats it.

    Hope this helps.



    Quote Originally Posted by RoBeY View Post
    thanks for your reply.

    i used my cam's autobracket function. can autobracket be used to create HDR pics?

    i was reading on net about HDR. it says that this is "used to record a greater range of tonal detail than a given camera could capture in a single photo".
    how do i decide what exposure to use? and how many pics i take?

    i tried editing again in photoshop to sharpen it, does it now look better? or does it look unnatural?

    TIA.

  5. #5
    Senior Member wranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    UK | TWN
    Posts
    3,477

    Default Re: First attempt at HDR

    Quote Originally Posted by RoBeY View Post
    thanks for your reply.

    i used my cam's autobracket function. can autobracket be used to create HDR pics?

    i was reading on net about HDR. it says that this is "used to record a greater range of tonal detail than a given camera could capture in a single photo".
    how do i decide what exposure to use? and how many pics i take?

    i tried editing again in photoshop to sharpen it, does it now look better? or does it look unnatural?

    TIA.

    You first pix looked nicer and more natural than the 2 pix.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •