Thread: Making it on your own?

Default Making it on your own?

Let's us look at another scenario here on the various paths to earning a living from photography.

Say someone sufficiciently motivated, mature and have some savings to buy a set of studio lightings etc. and have amassed enough gears in his amateur years and sufficient knowledge of photography and Photoshop. Basically he is a self-taught photographer.

Could he start it all up on his own by finding a room somewhere as his studio and make it without going through spending several years as a photographer assistant in a studio as mentioned in a few threads here?

There may be a few photographers who have done in this way in CS.

Default Re: Making it on your own?

possible.

but lots of things are not taught thru books, courses. especially studio photography.

IMO, start work as an assistance for two years, will learn more than self taught for 5 years.

and also, could he get enough jobs to sustain his business or his studio for the first few years??
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

Might be possible for a few areas of photography like weddings and events, maybe even portraiture. But much less possible for fields like advertising photography.

The best equipment and software knowledge cannot replace exposure and experience. So assisting will always put you in a better stead no matter what type of photography you wish to pursue.

Yet, there are also people who have been assistants for years but never progressed to becoming a photographer, whether by choice or not. So a lot also depends on the individual.

Personally I would always advise to start by assisting first if you're serious about photography. At the same time, also work on your own portfolio. You learn faster that way and get paid at the same time, what could be better?