Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Pentax

Pentax Be Interesting

Old 3rd August 2007   #1
Friedrice

Default Planning to get a K10D

Hi Pentax Bro's and Sis,

I'm thinking of getting a K10D with kit lens (18-55mm) to go with Chiif's 125mm f2.5 lens .

So far I got a quote for S$1499 before GST for K10D with 18-55mm lens, bundled with 2 GB SD card and Spare Battery from CP. Aiyah BBB virus did not hit before GST change on july, sigh hehe.

But as Comex is around the corner - you all think there may be a better promotion for the K10D if I wait till then and buy it at Comex??

Please feel free to share (or pm) of any shops that are offering good deals on the K10D though. Thank you alls.
Old 3rd August 2007   #2
longko

Default Re: Planning to get a K10D

If it's just for 1 lens, might as well get fengwei's used K10D with warranty. <1k body only
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=300609
Old 3rd August 2007   #3
fengwei

Originally Posted by longko View Post
If it's just for 1 lens, might as well get fengwei's used K10D with warranty. <1k body only
Thanks
Sponsored Link
Old 3rd August 2007   #4
istDeS

Yes agreed with longko, get fengwei's used K10D and the kit lens currently availabe by another seller in B&S. That save you quite a bit of $$$.
Old 3rd August 2007   #5
fengwei

Originally Posted by Friedrice View Post
Hi Pentax Bro's and Sis,

I'm thinking of getting a K10D with kit lens (18-55mm) to go with Chiif's 125mm f2.5 lens .

So far I got a quote for S$1499 before GST for K10D with 18-55mm lens, bundled with 2 GB SD card and Spare Battery from CP. Aiyah BBB virus did not hit before GST change on july, sigh hehe.

But as Comex is around the corner - you all think there may be a better promotion for the K10D if I wait till then and buy it at Comex??

Please feel free to share (or pm) of any shops that are offering good deals on the K10D though. Thank you alls.
As far as I know, Pentax or most other big player never give good discounts at a show like COMEX, except some freebies which don't cost much to get anyway. You'd better off buy it directly from a shop

And for K10D, it's better you get a better lens than the kit lens to start with. A lens like the Pentax DA16-45 or Sigma 17-70, or better yet, the coming DA*16-50/2.8 would be an alot better choice imo.

Good luck.
Old 3rd August 2007   #6
fengwei

Oh better yet, get this one (but it'd cost you even more ):

Old 3rd August 2007   #7
istDeS

Originally Posted by fengwei View Post
As far as I know, Pentax or most other big player never give good discounts at a show like COMEX, except some freebies which don't cost much to get anyway. You'd better off buy it directly from a shop

And for K10D, it's better you get a better lens than the kit lens to start with. A lens like the Pentax DA16-45 or Sigma 17-70, or better yet, the coming DA*16-50/2.8 would be an alot better choice imo.

Good luck.
Quite true, I noticed they will sell at the RSP and throw in some freebies.

I'm getting the DA*16-50 to replace the kit lens. That is why I hold off getting the Pentax DA16-45 or Sigma 17-70. Hopefully can get it by Oct.
Old 3rd August 2007   #8
istDeS

Hey bro, don't make us envy leh. Creampuff will be drooling. How much you paid for it?
Old 3rd August 2007   #9
polantics

many years down the road, this camera will fetch high prices...are these made in limited numbers?
Old 3rd August 2007   #10
istDeS

Originally Posted by polantics View Post
many years down the road, this camera will fetch high prices...are these made in limited numbers?
limited 5000 sets.
Old 3rd August 2007   #11
Zenten

Big deal .....show-off ..................
Old 3rd August 2007   #12
istDeS

The limited edition is using the Pentax Body Cap B also instead of the common white Pentax Body Cap.
Old 3rd August 2007   #13
creampuff

Originally Posted by istDeS View Post
Hey bro, don't make us envy leh. Creampuff will be drooling. How much you paid for it?
Eh!!! Away a few days and next thing I know somebody already the first in Singapore to own the K10D Grand Prix Special Edition plus the 85mm f1.4.

This is surely proof that our Pentax moderator is the Pentax master. Mere mortals can only admire the K10D Grand Prix Special Edition in the virtual realm, but he can get the best stuff from out of the blue.

istDeS, my mouth no more saliva already!!! Actually I'm looking to get a K10D to replace the one I gave to my nephew and thought about getting the GP Special Edition...
Old 3rd August 2007   #14
night86mare

Originally Posted by creampuff View Post
Eh!!! Away a few days and next thing I know somebody already the first in Singapore to own the K10D Grand Prix Special Edition plus the 85mm f1.4.

This is surely proof that our Pentax moderator is the Pentax master. Mere mortals can only admire the K10D Grand Prix Special Edition in the virtual realm, but he can get the best stuff from out of the blue.

istDeS, my mouth no more saliva already!!! Actually I'm looking to get a K10D to replace the one I gave to my nephew and thought about getting the GP Special Edition...
Hee hee, he use his Force! =D
Originally Posted by longko View Post
Yes, I think fengwei is definitely trustable too! =)
Old 4th August 2007   #15
Friedrice

Thank you for you all for your replies bros.

Wah, you guys are really making my BBB fever worse .
I'm gonna pose like that "Thinking Man" statue now hehe...decisions, decisions...

Just curious about limited edition K10D, where are you able to buy it and how much does it cost? Other than that, what you think would be the ballpark or estimated cost for the DA*16-50 lens once it is available?

Paiseh, I got a newbie question as no experience on this - it's possible to transfer a warranty to another person (2nd buyer), though the warranty under register under the original or first buyer's name, right?

Hope to hear from you all and thank again!
Old 4th August 2007   #16
fengwei

Originally Posted by Zenten View Post
Big deal .....show-off ..................
Yeah, sometimes I just like to show off abit

K10D Grand Prix SE + FA31/1.8 LE, what a combo:

Old 4th August 2007   #17
fengwei

Originally Posted by istDeS View Post
The limited edition is using the Pentax Body Cap B also instead of the common white Pentax Body Cap.
Actually it came with two body caps, one black and one cheapy white
Old 4th August 2007   #18
fengwei

Originally Posted by creampuff View Post

Away? Guess you missed something already

Sometimes I just got lucky I guess
Old 4th August 2007   #19
fengwei

Originally Posted by night86mare View Post
Hee hee, he use his Force! =D

Yes, I think fengwei is definitely trustable too! =)
Thanks
Old 4th August 2007   #20
fengwei

Originally Posted by Friedrice View Post
Thank you for you all for your replies bros.

Wah, you guys are really making my BBB fever worse .
I'm gonna pose like that "Thinking Man" statue now hehe...decisions, decisions...

Just curious about limited edition K10D, where are you able to buy it and how much does it cost? Other than that, what you think would be the ballpark or estimated cost for the DA*16-50 lens once it is available?

Paiseh, I got a newbie question as no experience on this - it's possible to transfer a warranty to another person (2nd buyer), though the warranty under register under the original or first buyer's name, right?

Hope to hear from you all and thank again!
Buying Pentax stuff is kinda addictive I think, many Pentaxians would suffer this LBA disease, and AFAIK, the only cure is to jump ship So you'd better be prepared.

As to the cost of this K10D Grand Prix, I don't think it'd be too much more expensive than the original K10D. But I might be wrong due to the LIMITED sets available here and elsewhere. But the camera will be here soon, so let's wait and see lah.

The DA16-50 has been out already in some countries, and its price isn't that high. I'm guessing it'd be around 1k to 1.2k SGD locally. But it won't be out until Sept I think.

As to the warranty thing, I don't think Pentax care about who is the original owner but when and where this camera is bought, and its warranty status. So don't worry about buying a second hand camera, especially if still has warranty

Good luck!
Closed Thread