Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 41

Thread: Fireworks...

  1. #21

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Agreed, yesterdays fireworks was ruined by the large amount of smoke.

    I usually hope just to capture a good shot of the first burst, after that, I would just watch and enjoy the rest of the fireworks.

    Looking at my EXIF info for the past few rehersals, the first burst will occur somewere around 8.13pm, standby for it.

  2. #22
    Member mojopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    bEdOk NoRtH
    Posts
    344

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by Bored Dad View Post
    Oh? May I know how to get into that field? It's where you can see the boats that tow those giant ballons park and waiting area, right?

    Cause I have wanted to take from an opposite side of the parade and the flag fly pass.. My boss's idea anyway, I need to try to fulfill his 'command'.

    you walk all the way to the NTUC building and walk along the new road to ECP/Maina Bay to get to the field.

    during the show got some underwater blast which caused a great impact on the field that your whole body receives it. feels like exploding bomb very nearby.

    i think there were csers at that field yest but i dun noe them.
    was there with my friends.
    You are who you are. Shoot what you enjoy.
    PBase || Blog

  3. #23

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by mojopy View Post
    you walk all the way to the NTUC building and walk along the new road to ECP/Maina Bay to get to the field.

    during the show got some underwater blast which caused a great impact on the field that your whole body receives it. feels like exploding bomb very nearby.

    i think there were csers at that field yest but i dun noe them.
    was there with my friends.
    Yes... i was there too. Happily setup the equipment for the fireworks and a stupid boat stop in front of me!!! Blocking the whole view!!!

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by cantaresg View Post
    over exposure is ok... but not to the extent where the smoke actually causes too much distraction until the fireworks are barely visible... short shuttle speeds aren't a choice either...
    That was what happened to last nite's fireworks. The smoke was really bad.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  5. #25
    Member LeoDaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    438

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by mojopy View Post
    i think there were csers at that field yest but i dun noe them.
    was there with my friends.
    I think 1/2 the cameramen in field are CSers! Just that donno who is who lah.. haha

    Next time we must have an 'Official CSer' vest to ID ourselves in the field!

  6. #26
    Member mojopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    bEdOk NoRtH
    Posts
    344

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by ahbian View Post

    Looking at my EXIF info for the past few rehersals, the first burst will occur somewere around 8.13pm, standby for it.
    around that time bah...
    by 8pm, should on standby mode le.
    wait for the jelly fish signal from the pier once they start moving (2nd time), it's a sign that firework is coming soon and just wait for the ignition.
    You are who you are. Shoot what you enjoy.
    PBase || Blog

  7. #27

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by ray9211 View Post
    overexposure with fireworks shots are ok. maybe nxt time u can try using bulb mode, F/13. yest i use it n it produces nice pictures. it was quite risky using such a high apperture but the pics turn out quite good. upload it few days later for you to see.
    sorry newbie qn:-

    1) what is bulb mode?
    2) if my camera dont have bulb mode, what is the best setup I can use to shoot fireworks?
    3) I've used Shuttle priority with 6sec exposure time, but some pics looked burnt. any comments?
    4) I've heard of pple using black cardboard, what's the purpose and how do I use it for fireworks shot?

    thanks.

  8. #28

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    not enough breeze to blow the smoke away...

  9. #29

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by ray9211 View Post
    overexposure with fireworks shots are ok. maybe nxt time u can try using bulb mode, F/13. yest i use it n it produces nice pictures. it was quite risky using such a high apperture but the pics turn out quite good. upload it few days later for you to see.
    go higher for the f stop...gives u even better result...

  10. #30

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by Pauche View Post
    sorry newbie qn:-

    1) what is bulb mode?
    2) if my camera dont have bulb mode, what is the best setup I can use to shoot fireworks?
    3) I've used Shuttle priority with 6sec exposure time, but some pics looked burnt. any comments?
    4) I've heard of pple using black cardboard, what's the purpose and how do I use it for fireworks shot?

    thanks.
    anybody can help with the above questions?

  11. #31

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by Pauche View Post
    anybody can help with the above questions?
    what cam, what setting you have on your cam?

  12. #32
    Member LeoDaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    438

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by Pauche View Post
    anybody can help with the above questions?
    Hi

    I'm not sure what camera u r using.. But as far as I know, in Shutter priority mode, you cannot activate BULB mode.

    In most cases, BLUB mode can only be activated in MANUAL mode.

    My newbie understanding of BULB mode is that camera allow u to control how long you want the shutter to open. Meaning, IF you select BULB mode shutter will stay OPEN as long as u have the shutter release button PRESSED... i.e. you press and hold the button for 1hr.. the shutter will open for 1 hr.. u hold for 2 secs.. it opens for 2 secs..

    When you use Shutter priority mode, your camera will attempt to adjust your apature to 'balance' the lighting condition. Since your camera will meter when you press shutter release and likely metering black sky, apature will be too big for 6 sec exposure when taking fireworks (thus appear burnt).

    As for black card, you will need to use it in BULB mode. U use the BLACK CARD to block light from entering your lens and use it as a "hand held" shutter. Typically, they use this to capture several 'scenes' in a single exposure.

    0.2 cents worth.. hope it helps.
    Last edited by LeoDaddy; 31st July 2007 at 02:31 PM.

  13. #33

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by sigg View Post
    what cam, what setting you have on your cam?
    i am using a Lumix FZ8, Shuttle priority, 6secs, f/5.6, ISO100, AWB.
    What do u think of these setup?

  14. #34

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by LeoDaddy View Post
    Hi

    I'm not sure what camera u r using.. But as far as I know, in Shutter priority mode, you cannot activate BULB mode.

    In most cases, BLUB mode can only be activated in MANUAL mode.

    My newbie understanding of BULB mode is that camera allow u to control how long you want the shutter to open. Meaning, IF you select BULB mode shutter will stay OPEN as long as u have the shutter release button PRESSED... i.e. you press and hold the button for 1hr.. the shutter will open for 1 hr.. u hold for 2 secs.. it opens for 2 secs..

    When you use Shutter priority mode, your camera will attempt to adjust your apature to 'balance' the lighting condition. Since your camera will meter when you press shutter release and likely metering black sky, apature will be too big for 6 sec exposure when taking fireworks (thus appear burnt).

    As for black card, you will need to use it in BULB mode. U use the BLACK CARD to block light from entering your lens and use it as a "hand held" shutter. Typically, they use this to capture several 'scenes' in a single exposure.

    0.2 cents worth.. hope it helps.
    thanks for the detailed reply.

    I dont think my camera has a bulb mode under manual mode, nevertheless I'll try to find out in the owner's manual if it really has or not. so whats an alternative mode to use if I do not have bulb mode?

  15. #35
    Member LeoDaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    438

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by Pauche View Post
    thanks for the detailed reply.

    I dont think my camera has a bulb mode under manual mode, nevertheless I'll try to find out in the owner's manual if it really has or not. so whats an alternative mode to use if I do not have bulb mode?
    Hi

    I've googled ur camera, dun seems to have bulb mode, but in Manual mode, you can select shutter speed as slow as 60 secs. This is more than enuf for firework shots.

    My humble (note, newbie) suggestion is to use manual, set ISO100, between f11~f15 and play with your shutter speed from 5~15 secs (maybe longer.. u test it out).
    Last edited by LeoDaddy; 31st July 2007 at 04:53 PM.

  16. #36

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Which WB you guys are using to shoot the fireworks?

  17. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by mickie View Post
    Which WB you guys are using to shoot the fireworks?
    I just use Auto.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  18. #38

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by LeoDaddy View Post
    Hi

    I've googled ur camera, dun seems to have bulb mode, but in Manual mode, you can select shutter speed as slow as 60 secs. This is more than enuf for firework shots.

    My humble (note, newbie) suggestion is to use manual, set ISO100, between f11~f15 and play with your shutter speed from 5~15 secs (maybe longer.. u test it out).
    wow do u really need that long exposure for fireworks? wouldnt that be too messy with so many fireworks in the sky over 15secs? and wouldnt it be burnt?

    thanks for your suggestions nevertheless, I'm still learning, hence lots of newbie qns.

  19. #39

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by Pauche View Post
    i am using a Lumix FZ8, Shuttle priority, 6secs, f/5.6, ISO100, AWB.
    What do u think of these setup?
    u have manual mode? if you can push to f 12 and above, the streaks would look nicer.

    you are almost there. dont forget to use a stable tripod

  20. #40

    Default Re: Fireworks...

    Quote Originally Posted by sigg View Post
    u have manual mode? if you can push to f 12 and above, the streaks would look nicer.

    you are almost there. dont forget to use a stable tripod


    okok will try it next week again!
    Thanks for your suggestions...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •