Thread: wide angle lens/ macro converter

Default wide angle lens/ macro converter

Hi,

I'm a dSLR newbie, and thinking of getting a wide angle lens/ macro converter to try my hand at macro/ wide angle shots. Any idea how much they cost, and where in Singapore I can purchase such converters?

Thanks.

Default Re: wide angle lens/ macro converter

Quote Originally Posted by purpledino View Post
    Hi,

I'm a dSLR newbie, and thinking of getting a wide angle lens/ macro converter to try my hand at macro/ wide angle shots. Any idea how much they cost, and where in Singapore I can purchase such converters?

Thanks.
    DSLRs dun need wide angle converters, as there are wide angle lenses, fish eye lenses, zoom leses, telephoto lenses, wide angle with macro lenses, etc. DSLRs can change to any of these lenses.

DSLRs differ from prosumers as prosumers require converters bec of their fixed lenses. Meaning, prosumers cannot change lenses.

Cheers ...

Quote Originally Posted by felixcat8888 View Post
    DSLRs dun need wide angle converters, as there are wide angle lenses, fish eye lenses, zoom leses, telephoto lenses, wide angle with macro lenses, etc. DSLRs can change to any of these lenses.

DSLRs differ from prosumers as prosumers require converters bec of their fixed lenses. Meaning, prosumers cannot change lenses.

Cheers ...
    Dude, he's looking for a cheaper alternative to buying lenses.

You can add a "macro converter" (the term is closeup lens) to you lens to give you a certain degree of magnification depending on the dioptre of the closeup lens.

You should be able to get these conversion lenses at any of the camera shop giants. I got my +4 closeup filter at Cathay Photo Marina not too long ago.

Regarding the wide converter, I do have a screw-on one for my A710IS, but I'm not sure if it'll work on top of SLR lenses. You might want to check it out at the camera shop.

Quote Originally Posted by purpledino View Post
    Hi,

Thanks.