Thread: Newbie needs basic help/advice!

geronimo
    Guests

Default Newbie needs basic help/advice!

Hi, I'm a newbie getting my first digicam...would really appreciate any advice given....

am looking at either the Canon A70 (most prob.) or A60....(if the budget doesn't allow)

What are the bare/basic essentials and accessories (I'm on a REALLY tight budget, <$650 for everything!) needed if it is mainly going to be utilised on a 4-month overseas work/travel to US/Europe?

I basically have in mind the accessories that i'll be getting:

1) Tripod (prolly Digipod at Carrefour cos it suits my budget and looks good enough for my use)

2) Battery Charger with 8XAA Rechargeable Batteries ( any idea about the compatibility issues with regards to US/Europe plug or voltage type?) (Just got the Ripvan Charger n Sony batteries from Eastgear actually)

3) Compact Flash Card (Looking at 256MB...i've a few questions/considerations regarding this:
    - I'll need to have access to a pc or laptop in order to upload the photos right? It might be a prob esp. when travelling overseas esp. to certain rural parts with no internet/pc access...

- I can't seem to find links whereby info. is provided on how many photos 256MB can take(considering 3.2MP or 2MP and normal resolution and everything)

- Is it better for me to get 2 128MB cards or 4 64MB cards or just one 256MB card is there no difference?!?)

That's all i have in mind. Don't really see the need for stuffs like UV filter, Cir Polariser (whatever that is! cos i'm a newbie). How important is a camera bag and/or a dry box for someone like me? (Cos i don't plan to get them) If it is, any recommendations?

Any other special considerations which i'll have to take into account for an overseas trip too? Am planning to learn more about photography (prolly after my trip) as the posts and topics i've read so far in here and hardwarezone is pretty interesting!

Thanks and any replies/post would be most certainly Welcomed!