Thread: Home from a Catch

Default Home from a Catch

Hello everyone

This is my first posting here. Hope I can get it right. Anyway I was in San Fransisco by Fisherman's Bay when I saw this fishing boat cruising along and tried to get a snap of it in the setting sun with all the seagulls following close by. Wanted to catch the feeling of returning home after a hard day's work.

This pic was cropped from a much larger one. I would've loved to have had the boat in the middle of the sun's reflection but I guess I wasn't fast enough. Hope anyone can advice me on how to get more detail of the sun in such lighting conditions.

Would appreciate any helpful advice and critique on this photo as it's my first time doing this.

Thanks!!

Default Re: Home from a Catch

what aperture were u using? can cosider decreasing the size of it.

if you want more details of the sun, you could try increasing your shutter speed, but you'll probably get an even darker silhouette of the boat and the gulls.

Thanks for the the tips. I was using a shutter speed: 1/800 and aperture: 13.0. I was afraid of underexposing it too much that I wouldn't be able to get much detail of the boat and the gulls. I know it's quite a simple shot but any advice on how to improve the composition?

I love SF ...

back to the picture ... I wonder if you could have stop down another stop or 2, as it currently stand, the boat and the seagulls are only sillouettes anyway, so a bit darker won't hurt. The sun is just too blown for my taste.

did you take the picture in the East Bay? Can't be in SF as the water front, with the hills in the background is facing east, and the west facing side of SF, it's the Pacific ... the next hill will be Hawaii
    deadpoet
    my portfolio