Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sunrise @ Chek Jawa

Default Sunrise @ Chek Jawa

Hi Guys,

Took this pix @ Chek Jawa during early morning. As I'm still new to DSLR photography thus will any advise and tips will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
    JC
    Last edited by soloanvi; 16th July 2007 at 12:27 PM.

Default Re: Sunrise @ Chek Jawa

1) The sky's highlights are blown out, which is quite a waste, since it does look pretty dramatic.

2) While the reflection is an interesting one, other than that the viewer would probably lose interest pretty quickly. I looked at it, thought "nice reflection" and moved on. Try putting something more interesting in the foreground, have never been to this spot before; so I have no idea. A seashell? A rock? A dead crab? A companion who can pose? Abuse your wide angle to provide an interesting touch to the photograph.

3) Horizon is too 50-50 - not that this is wrong all the time, but in this picture it is especially obvious for whatever reasons, possibly because the exposure difference between the sky and land is so distant that it becomes glaringly and painfully present.

I would suggest getting a Graduated Neutral Density filter, to me they are one of the most essential tools in shooting any sunrise, especially when you are shooting a scene when the sun is already up and blazing in the sky. Also, try a few different angles, find interesting foreground, keep it simple. =)

Keep shooting! =)

Tks for the advises.

May I ask how do I prevent the pix been blown out? Using the Graduated Neutral Density filter? I actually shot this pix with a circular polarised filter.

I was also asking myself whether should I keep the 50/50 composition, cos I'll like to show the wetlands and the nice skyline with clouds formation at the sametime thus decide to juz keep to 50/50.

Will keep in mind about having some foreground image. Do u think a plane will do the trick?

Thanks
    JC
    Last edited by soloanvi; 16th July 2007 at 02:54 PM.