Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

  1. #1

    Default Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    When you see that your Photoshop is taking quite a while to process a RAW 10MP file, or when with more than ten jpegs opened, what is the thing that you will/should upgrade?
    1. Processor
    2. RAM
    3. Graphics Card
    4. Cache
    5. PC to MAC
    =[toys+photography+reviews]=
    access: a day in the life of a be@rbrick

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Town of Queens doing PORT-9YOU
    Posts
    12,716

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    You forgot 1 more thing, harddisk.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nee Soon
    Posts
    457

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Don't waste your money on these options --> graphic card, pc to mac.

    How much RAM you have ? Is the hard disk light on continously or flickering quickly ? If so, it's time for a RAM upgrade, quite cheap nowadays, go to at least 2GB if can.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Quote Originally Posted by AJ23 View Post
    You forgot 1 more thing, harddisk.
    eh?? I thought I refered cache as 'cache memory' or 'scratch disk'... heehee
    nevertheless,

    6. harddisk


    anyway, I used a separate partition (intended for storage and seldom accessed) with 6GB of space as scratch disk. Doesn't seem to help much.
    I believe the ideal scratch disk should be a separate physical harddisk (not partition) all hooked up with SATA2.
    =[toys+photography+reviews]=
    access: a day in the life of a be@rbrick

  5. #5

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Quote Originally Posted by arpinkor View Post
    Don't waste your money on these options --> graphic card, pc to mac.

    How much RAM you have ? Is the hard disk light on continously or flickering quickly ? If so, it's time for a RAM upgrade, quite cheap nowadays, go to at least 2GB if can.
    ok noted, anyway my ancient ibook is slower than desktop.

    my RAM ar? PROMISE NOT TO LAUGH! 512MB DDR!!!!!
    Hard disk light continuously lighted.
    DDR RAMs are so expensive now... compared to DDR2. i think its time to change my rig.
    =[toys+photography+reviews]=
    access: a day in the life of a be@rbrick

  6. #6

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Quote Originally Posted by mybearbrick View Post
    ok noted, anyway my ancient ibook is slower than desktop.

    my RAM ar? PROMISE NOT TO LAUGH! 512MB DDR!!!!!
    Hard disk light continuously lighted.
    DDR RAMs are so expensive now... compared to DDR2. i think its time to change my rig.
    %!@!!! oops, 512MB I meant.

    No wonder it's slow.
    deadpoet
    my portfolio

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Bedok
    Posts
    1,785

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Quote Originally Posted by mybearbrick View Post
    When you see that your Photoshop is taking quite a while to process a RAW 10MP file, or when with more than ten jpegs opened, what is the thing that you will/should upgrade?
    1. Processor
    2. RAM
    3. Graphics Card
    4. Cache
    5. PC to MAC
    By your description, it is most you have insufficient RAM. If you close the ten or so jpgs in the background and the RAW file takes about the same time, then it would either be the processor or harddisk bottlenecking the process.

    Btw, if RAM is the bottleneck, dont waste your time and money upgrading/improving the harddisk subsystem (separate scratch disk, RAID0, etc). RAM moves data around at about 1 million times faster than the harddisk, so definitely should clear the RAM bottleneck first.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Quote Originally Posted by mybearbrick View Post
    When you see that your Photoshop is taking quite a while to process a RAW 10MP file, or when with more than ten jpegs opened, what is the thing that you will/should upgrade?
    1. Processor
    2. RAM
    3. Graphics Card
    4. Cache
    5. PC to MAC
    Cache? How to upgrade Cache?

    Regards,
    Arto.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    A village in a forest
    Posts
    1,515

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Improve your RAM 1st before looking at your harddisk and processor.
    Canon 80D|Panasonic LX3/LX5
    35f2 IS|50f1.8|85f1.8|12-24f4|18-135f4-5.6 IS|28-75f2.8

  10. #10

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    KINGSTON 1GB (PC-4300) 533MHz DDR2-533 - S$54
    KINGSTON 1GB (PC-3200/CL3.0) 400MHz DDR SDRAM - S$105

    i have to get the latter.
    =[toys+photography+reviews]=
    access: a day in the life of a be@rbrick

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    A village in a forest
    Posts
    1,515

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Quote Originally Posted by mybearbrick View Post
    KINGSTON 1GB (PC-4300) 533MHz DDR2-533 - S$54
    KINGSTON 1GB (PC-3200/CL3.0) 400MHz DDR SDRAM - S$105

    i have to get the latter.
    Still ain't so bad. I paid $109 for 1 Kingston DDR2 533MHz 1GB early this year
    Canon 80D|Panasonic LX3/LX5
    35f2 IS|50f1.8|85f1.8|12-24f4|18-135f4-5.6 IS|28-75f2.8

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Town of Queens doing PORT-9YOU
    Posts
    12,716

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Quote Originally Posted by mybearbrick View Post
    eh?? I thought I refered cache as 'cache memory' or 'scratch disk'... heehee
    nevertheless,

    6. harddisk
    Cache? Can mean quite a number of other things. Like CPU's L1/L2/L3 cache, hdd's cache buffer, etcetra etcetra.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East
    Posts
    1,303

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Quote Originally Posted by mybearbrick View Post
    KINGSTON 1GB (PC-4300) 533MHz DDR2-533 - S$54
    KINGSTON 1GB (PC-3200/CL3.0) 400MHz DDR SDRAM - S$105

    i have to get the latter.
    i think u shud top up like $20+ to get a CL2 version... it does help quite a tad... and are your RAMs in dual channel? or if want a cheaper alternative.. you can always OC if your motherboard allows it.. it will bump up your mem freq. so that it moves faster

  14. #14

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    I think it is not just dependent on the ram but also processor. For me my RAW files process fast even though i had only 1GB Of RAM. Because if you compared a 64 bit processor with a 32 bit processor a 64 bit processor are able to process faster than a 32 bit processor. So my advise is that if you are shooting a lot of RAW get a 64bit processor and max your ram you will not have problems reading raw pics besides it is not that expensive nowadays as compare to last time to get a 64 bit processor.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    2 x Quad Core Processor

    http://www.apple.com/macpro/

  16. #16

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    great suggestions... anyway y waste time upgrading ur old pc when you can get a new one at a cheaper rates and faster cpu to help you in your intensive raw editing.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Town of Queens doing PORT-9YOU
    Posts
    12,716

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Getting the 64-bit processor will not help that much, if the OS or the application does not support the 64-bit processing. And sometimes, getting a 64-bit processor will even slow down processing due to the processor got to do extra work to convert 32-bit code to 64-bit code.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Town of Queens doing PORT-9YOU
    Posts
    12,716

    Default Re: Processor, RAM or Graphics Card?

    Quote Originally Posted by tchoonyong View Post
    great suggestions... anyway y waste time upgrading ur old pc when you can get a new one at a cheaper rates and faster cpu to help you in your intensive raw editing.
    I agree with you on this, it's probably more economical and more efficient, to set up a new rig for better performance, than to upgrade exisiting older hardware.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •