Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: xp or vista?

  1. #1

    Default xp or vista?

    i'm gonna purchase a laptop which comes with winxp pro pre-installed. i can choose to top up n upgrade to vista business.

    is the media center thingy in vista home premium useful? cos vista business doesnt come with it.

    i feel that xp pro should be more stable n should run faster. but dont wanna miss out on the chance to hop on to the vista band wagon. =P

    so should i upgrade? TIA.
    EOS 1D II, EOS 30, EOS 3, A-1, Canonet G-III QL17
    28/1.8, 17-40/4L, 85/1.8, 580EX II, 50/1.4 SSC

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    KFC
    Posts
    1,776

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    actually the decision is pretty simple..

    are u using photoshop ? or other heavy image manipulatiion softwares? or video editing etc?

    if the answer is no or yes then:
    how much ram is ur laptop going to have.

    if ur answer previously is no:
    ---> u can get vista if u have at least 2gb ram

    if ur answer previously is yes:
    ---> u can get vista if u have at least 4gb ram

    vista is nice with all the great looking candy, but becos of all these eye candies, if ur laptop isnt going to have at least 2gb ram, forget vista. i m sure u dun wan to lag lag lag..
    09 Oct 09 officially marks the date I become a canon convert.

  3. #3

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Go with the XP.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/01/...sta/index.html

    Well.. i guess this sum up a few if not lots of things....
    *btw, all this tests are done with quite high end hardware. For a lappie, it might be even slower. So ,,,,......ur call....*

  4. #4
    Senior Member Galdor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Planet Gaia
    Posts
    9,544

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Quote Originally Posted by kcuf2 View Post
    actually the decision is pretty simple..

    are u using photoshop ? or other heavy image manipulatiion softwares? or video editing etc?

    if the answer is no or yes then:
    how much ram is ur laptop going to have.

    if ur answer previously is no:
    ---> u can get vista if u have at least 2gb ram

    if ur answer previously is yes:
    ---> u can get vista if u have at least 4gb ram

    vista is nice with all the great looking candy, but becos of all these eye candies, if ur laptop isnt going to have at least 2gb ram, forget vista. i m sure u dun wan to lag lag lag..

    Agree with you. My new notebook is running on Vista and with 1GB RAM only and it's pretty slow at times.
    Minolta. Konica Minolta. Sony

  5. #5

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    My desktop is dual booting XP Pro and Vista Ultimate. My comp is basically quite new with a C2D @ 3.2ghz, 2gb ram, nvidia 7950gt and raid-0 array and XP Pro is still *MUCH* faster. So even if you have a fast machine, Vista is STILL slower..

  6. #6

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Quote Originally Posted by kcuf2 View Post
    actually the decision is pretty simple..

    are u using photoshop ? or other heavy image manipulatiion softwares? or video editing etc?

    if the answer is no or yes then:
    how much ram is ur laptop going to have.

    if ur answer previously is no:
    ---> u can get vista if u have at least 2gb ram

    if ur answer previously is yes:
    ---> u can get vista if u have at least 4gb ram

    vista is nice with all the great looking candy, but becos of all these eye candies, if ur laptop isnt going to have at least 2gb ram, forget vista. i m sure u dun wan to lag lag lag..
    Can you get a full 4GB of RAM usage on normal VISTA? I thought you only get about 3GB plus of RAM because it's a 32 bit OS.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Galdor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Planet Gaia
    Posts
    9,544

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Quote Originally Posted by Godzilla Invades View Post
    Can you get a full 4GB of RAM usage on normal VISTA? I thought you only get about 3GB plus of RAM because it's a 32 bit OS.
    Yes, you will only get 3GB+.
    Minolta. Konica Minolta. Sony

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Quote Originally Posted by ac240v View Post
    i'm gonna purchase a laptop which comes with winxp pro pre-installed. i can choose to top up n upgrade to vista business.

    is the media center thingy in vista home premium useful? cos vista business doesnt come with it.

    i feel that xp pro should be more stable n should run faster. but dont wanna miss out on the chance to hop on to the vista band wagon. =P

    so should i upgrade? TIA.
    I'll give u 2 words of advice whether to upgrade to Vista or not:-

    EYE CANDY

    Does it answer ur question?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Windows XP is so yesterday. Get the WOW OS


  10. #10

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    i have the same dilemma and decided to stick with XP but how long is the support for Xp going to last?

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    KFC
    Posts
    1,776

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Quote Originally Posted by Godzilla Invades View Post
    Can you get a full 4GB of RAM usage on normal VISTA? I thought you only get about 3GB plus of RAM because it's a 32 bit OS.
    if u are getting vista, go for the ultimate version that is 64 bits the rest of the vista home, vista business, vista home premium dun need consider at all.... If cant get ultimate, stay with the windows xp
    Last edited by kcuf2; 27th June 2007 at 10:46 AM.
    09 Oct 09 officially marks the date I become a canon convert.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Yeo View Post
    Windows XP is so yesterday. Get the WOW OS

    Wow My S more like it.

  13. #13
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Former CS Senior Member
    Posts
    3,059

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Quote Originally Posted by kcuf2 View Post
    if u are getting vista, go for the ultimate version that is 64 bits the rest of the vista home, vista business, vista home premium dun need consider at all.... If cant get ultimate, stay with the windows xp
    is photoshop gonna run faster with vista ultimate given a lot of rams on the same peecee?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    KFC
    Posts
    1,776

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Quote Originally Posted by jacob View Post
    is photoshop gonna run faster with vista ultimate given a lot of rams on the same peecee?
    mmm how should i say, i recommend getting windows vista ultimate if not dun get vista at all is because, for the fullest vista experience and to really be impressed with this msft new offerings, the ultimate is really the way to go...

    some of the differential features can be found here: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/pro...s/default.mspx

    the vista 32 bit can go till 4gb, while the 64 bit can go till 16gb of ram... but of course there is a limit to the extend photoshop will go faster, the speed wont keep increasing with the increase in amt of ram.. at the limit, the processor would be the bottleneck already.. arnd 4gb u should be fine, with basic things like anti virus in the background.
    09 Oct 09 officially marks the date I become a canon convert.

  15. #15
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    ClubSNAP Community
    Posts
    3,118

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Stick wif WinXP..service pack 3 releasing soon, which is say to have security patches that are available in Vista..furthermore, XP is pretty stable now..
    This is an electronic post which requires no signature.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lenscapes View Post
    i have the same dilemma and decided to stick with XP but how long is the support for Xp going to last?
    XP Home is until 2011 IIRC. XP Pro beyond that.

    Think I'll probably make the switch to Vista in 2 years time at least.. unless something comes up that compels me to push it earlier (doubt so).

    :Later,

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nee Soon
    Posts
    457

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    XP of course:
    use less RAM,
    stable,
    compatible.

  18. #18

    Default Re: xp or vista?

    i'm getting the Acer TravelMate 4720 with Intel® Core 2 Duo Processor T7100 (1.8GHz, 800MHz FSB, 2MB L2 cache) similar to the one in e website selling at $1998 except that mine comes with xp pro n 2GB DDR II RAM (2 x 1GB)

    some corporate offer thingy from my mum's company.

    yea. i do use photoshop. wanna use the lappy to show pix to clients n also thinking of doing tethered shooting when necessary.

    hmm. would it make the decision easier if i already have original xp pro sp2? in that case, just get vista. if i dont like it, go install xppro.
    EOS 1D II, EOS 30, EOS 3, A-1, Canonet G-III QL17
    28/1.8, 17-40/4L, 85/1.8, 580EX II, 50/1.4 SSC

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •