Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: dust on sensor

  1. #1

    Default dust on sensor

    how long does it take for the dust to collect in the sensor until u really need to bring it to the service center for a cleaning ?

    And to wat extent does changing lenses cause dust to build up ? i.e if u quickly change from one lens to the other in a few seconds for a few times a day, will it translate to a huge build up of dust ??

  2. #2

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    go to my webby and see navy pictures....thats the time u need to bring ur cam for cleaning...haiz...anyway looking forward for people to reply ur thread
    PM me if U Want Asst Wedding Photographer
    http://totoro17.multiply.com http://chinhaven.tripod.com

  3. #3
    Member chrisljh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    725

    Post Re: dust on sensor

    it will slowly translate the bulid up of dust. i will bring it to the service centre for cleaning when the dust particles become tricky to remove or stubborn.
    when changing lenses, point the body downwards and n remember to switch off the power, as leaving the power on there will be static charge in the sensor that attract dust particles
    Last edited by chrisljh; 21st June 2007 at 06:41 PM.

  4. #4

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisljh View Post
    it will slowly translate the bulid up of dust. when changing lenses, point the body downwards and n remember to switch off the power, as leaving the power on there will be static charge in the sensor that attract dust particles
    hmm....i guess perhaps i din off it...but chances very slim lehz...dun know y so much dust accumulated
    PM me if U Want Asst Wedding Photographer
    http://totoro17.multiply.com http://chinhaven.tripod.com

  5. #5
    Member chrisljh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    725

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by totoro17 View Post
    hmm....i guess perhaps i din off it...but chances very slim lehz...dun know y so much dust accumulated
    singapore weather is humid n DUSTY.. u take out camera from ur dry cabinet dusts appear already

  6. #6

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisljh View Post
    singapore weather is humid n DUSTY.. u take out camera from ur dry cabinet dusts appear already
    $20 lehz....dust always bully me
    PM me if U Want Asst Wedding Photographer
    http://totoro17.multiply.com http://chinhaven.tripod.com

  7. #7
    Member chrisljh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    725

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    ya lor. me oso kena bullied. no choice. we live in a 'dusty' world

  8. #8

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisljh View Post
    ya lor. me oso kena bullied. no choice. we live in a 'dusty' world
    Digital SLR has the benefit of changing lens in any place at any time; yet no camera makers bothered about dust getting into the sensor and causing ...
    With the introduction of the E1 since November 2003, and all subsequent models, Olympus users have been enjoying dust free photography because of the built-in Supersonic Wave filter

    http://www.olympus.com.sg/e_world/es...dvtg_index.htm

  9. #9

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    thanks for the replies .. hmm ....

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by philshots View Post
    Digital SLR has the benefit of changing lens in any place at any time; yet no camera makers bothered about dust getting into the sensor and causing ...
    With the introduction of the E1 since November 2003, and all subsequent models, Olympus users have been enjoying dust free photography because of the built-in Supersonic Wave filter

    http://www.olympus.com.sg/e_world/es...dvtg_index.htm
    Olympus is dust reduction system. It is to reduce dust on sensor, not make dust free.

    I ever saw one picture from olympus with dust on it.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nee Soon
    Posts
    457

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    The dust protector in the Sigma SD14 seems like a good idea. Any idea why other DSLR's don't do this, besides cutting down some light ?

  12. #12

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Just have to live with it. Sometime, blowing it would make things worse, instead of displacing the dusts, the blower introduce more into the focusing screen and sensor.

    Do a scheduled trip to CSC and have it clear, the safest way.
    Canon EOS 5D | 50 1.4 | 17-40 L | 24-105 L IS | 70-200 F4 IS | 100-400 L IS | 100 F2.8 Macro

  13. #13

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft View Post
    Olympus is dust reduction system. It is to reduce dust on sensor, not make dust free.

    I ever saw one picture from olympus with dust on it.

    Regards,
    Arto.
    Be it "dust reduction" or whatever you call it, Oly is still the first camera maker to implement this highly effective system to ensure photographers focus only on shooting and not having to worry about dust problems on their sensors; other camera makers simply follow much later. This dust buster technology has gotten much better in their latest offerings e.g. e510

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by philshots View Post
    Be it "dust reduction" or whatever you call it, Oly is still the first camera maker to implement this highly effective system to ensure photographers focus only on shooting and not having to worry about dust problems on their sensors; other camera makers simply follow much later. This dust buster technology has gotten much better in their latest offerings e.g. e510
    For me, the best solution for "dust reduction" method is like Leica digital back, where the coating on AA filter (on the sensor) is strong enough that we can wipe it easily. That's what I call the best anti dust.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  15. #15

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by dizcat View Post
    how long does it take for the dust to collect in the sensor until u really need to bring it to the service center for a cleaning ?

    And to wat extent does changing lenses cause dust to build up ? i.e if u quickly change from one lens to the other in a few seconds for a few times a day, will it translate to a huge build up of dust ??
    How long does it takes?... But you can check how much dust you have accumulated by:

    1. Go to a blank wall or any blank surface
    2. Use the smallest aperture on your lens, using MF and take a out-of-focus photo of the blank wall/surface.
    3. View the photo and you should see dust (if any) as specks on the photo.

    Determine whether the dust will affect your photo. Note that dust are more visible at smaller apertures.

    If you need to clean it, the are a number of way to do it. Google/yahoo and you will find ways to do it. You can also send your camera back to the service centres to clean it.

    BC
    Last edited by Scaglietti; 26th June 2007 at 12:39 PM.

  16. #16

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft View Post
    For me, the best solution for "dust reduction" method is like Leica digital back, where the coating on AA filter (on the sensor) is strong enough that we can wipe it easily. That's what I call the best anti dust.

    Regards,
    Arto.
    If that is your solution of anti dust, that is fine. 1. Not everybody is free or knowledgeable enough to mess around trying to clean their camera sensor. 2. If dust cleaning is something simple and everybody can D-I-Y on our own, it is pointless for Olympus to spend time and money into R&D and end up applying a patent for their technology to auto take care of this dust problem for its users. Those who work smart will choose the Oly system

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Edgedale Plains
    Posts
    61

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    There's another better and cheaper way and also crazy way to clean away dust from your sensor. If you are crazy enough to do it....

    There's this product from Germany called Discofilm. It's a water base gel which you need to spray onto your sensor and after it dry up, you remove the layer of film from the sensor and all remaining dusts will be embed onto the film.

    http://www.gletscherbruch.de/foto/se...rcleaning.html

  18. #18

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by Edgedale View Post
    There's another better and cheaper way and also crazy way to clean away dust from your sensor. If you are crazy enough to do it....

    There's this product from Germany called Discofilm. It's a water base gel which you need to spray onto your sensor and after it dry up, you remove the layer of film from the sensor and all remaining dusts will be embed onto the film.

    http://www.gletscherbruch.de/foto/se...rcleaning.html
    There are such products online for some time. No one actually knows if it works as advertised. Maybe it really does. The question is: what if along the way, during your "cleaning process", you have to sneeze? you drop the something small into your camera sensor? you suddenly urgently need to go loo? , etc ...

    For Oly users, we simply switch on the camera, it only takes a second or two for it to activate the dust bluster to clean the sensor The above unfortunate things can happen at the same time as the camera is cleaning itself - no worries

  19. #19

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by philshots View Post
    For Oly users, we simply switch on the camera, it only takes a second or two for it to activate the dust bluster to clean the sensor The above unfortunate things can happen at the same time as the camera is cleaning itself - no worries

    The unfortunate thing is that in 3rd party tests, this feature doesn't work well or even at all.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: dust on sensor

    I just brush them away using my own DIY sensor brush.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •