Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    Just like to know more about the feasibility of connecting my PC DVI output (using DVI-HDMI convertor) to HDMI input of my 37" 1920x1080 Grundig LCD monitor.

    But since my GeForce 6800 graphic card only support resolution like 1920 x 1200, so will part of the side be trimmed off?

    Though I heard of something know as powerstrip which can change the graphic card resolution according to what I need. I just like to know has anybody done this before, and how's the output result like colour sharpness etc.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SGee
    Posts
    1,572

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    should not b a prob. my frd tried doing it w/ my wide screen CRT TV. res too low so d idea got canned.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    BB West
    Posts
    2,181

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    SHOW OFF!

    I don't think it is wise to use LCD TV as a monitor. Get a normal LCD for PC use, don't waste electricity.
    Only Sony device mostly, haha!

  4. #4

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    Normally TV are interlaced. No idea if LCD TV is the same or not.
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    Quote Originally Posted by CYRN View Post
    Normally TV are interlaced. No idea if LCD TV is the same or not.
    720p and 1080p TV are progressive. 720i/1080i are interlaced. Make sure you get the progressive version for IQ.
    Last edited by morningstar; 14th June 2007 at 12:36 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Hommie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    925

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    No problem about it, LCD TV is capable of displaying both interlaced and de-interlaced video.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    Quote Originally Posted by BBTM View Post
    SHOW OFF!

    I don't think it is wise to use LCD TV as a monitor. Get a normal LCD for PC use, don't waste electricity.
    Not showing off, but want to use the TV bigger screen to show photos to more visitors or family members and they can sit on the sofa and watch. Instead of the crowd stand around the computer monitor
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    Quote Originally Posted by zcf View Post
    Not showing off, but want to use the TV bigger screen to show photos to more visitors or family members and they can sit on the sofa and watch. Instead of the crowd stand around the computer monitor
    bro, go get the sony media thingy free with a Alpha 100 cam...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    Quote Originally Posted by morningstar View Post
    720p and 1080p TV are progressive. 720i/1080i are interlaced. Make sure you get the progressive version for IQ.
    The Grundig TV menu show it support 1080P (but no DVI port, so have to resort in HDMI input, although have PC VGA port but only support 640x480 resolution).

    Read on the internet that some claim it work well, some don't, mainly facing issues like whether the TV support the resolution, clarity, overscan 60MHz instead of TV normal 50Mhz, progressive/interlace, text clarity, incompatible input ports (component, HDMI, DVI) issue.

    I think really have to get a DVI-HDMI convertor to try up then will know.
    Last edited by zcf; 14th June 2007 at 10:25 AM.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    bro, go get the sony media thingy free with a Alpha 100 cam...
    I thought of that also, but don't know what resolution does it support, whether can fully utilise 1080P?

    Also partly, I will be likely to ge the new coming Sony DSLR (may be during promotion time also), so no point getting it twice .
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    seem like some have try it in xtremeplace forum, but has horizontal overscan issue
    http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/in...topic=44519.15
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    Quote Originally Posted by zcf View Post
    I thought of that also, but don't know what resolution does it support, whether can fully utilise 1080P?

    Also partly, I will be likely to ge the new coming Sony DSLR (may be during promotion time also), so no point getting it twice .
    can give it to me if u dun like, i seriously do not mind helping you keep it...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    can give it to me if u dun like, i seriously do not mind helping you keep it...
    You are still as cheeky!!!

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    Quote Originally Posted by Drudkh View Post
    You are still as cheeky!!!
    well, if i change then will it make you feel better?

    but then again, u not chio bu leh...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    You can but I don't think it is a good idea. It is really too huge and it is not 'normal'. I tried but i don't like it. Mine has a normal vga/rgb connector behind the lcd tv, so i just need to plug it in. Don't need any converter and stuff.
    "He is no fool who gives up what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose."- Jim Elliot

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Can I use my 37" LCD TV as monitor?

    Quote Originally Posted by zcf View Post
    seem like some have try it in xtremeplace forum, but has horizontal overscan issue
    http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/in...topic=44519.15
    Just an update, finally manage to do it over the weekend on both VGA and HDMI connection, but indeed did face the overscan issue, part of the left and right screen are over projected and won't show on the screen.

    But the TV screen do look good after calibration, and with good details like 1920 x 1080, good for showing photos to friends and relative.

    Quote Originally Posted by zcf View Post
    The Grundig TV menu show it support 1080P (but no DVI port, so have to resort in HDMI input, although have PC VGA port but only support 640x480 resolution).
    Surprisingly on VGA connection, the TV seem to be able to support 640x480 resolution though. Wonder why???


    Quote Originally Posted by evershine View Post
    You can but I don't think it is a good idea. It is really too huge and it is not 'normal'. I tried but i don't like it. Mine has a normal vga/rgb connector behind the lcd tv, so i just need to plug it in. Don't need any converter and stuff.
    I tried it, so far so good, it does seem big to view photos, but good to show to my friends from viewing distance like 6-7 feets away. Definitely much better than all squeeze and look at the small notebook screen.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •