Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 70

Thread: fill flash on bright day

  1. #1

    Default fill flash on bright day

    Hi Guys,

    I'm using a 400D and Aperture priority most of the time. Problem is during bright day when the meter is above 1/200s I get overexposed shots. I think because the flash can only sync up to 1/200s. Any workaround if I want to stick to aperture priority mode?

  2. #2
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    use FP mode or ND filter on lens
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    A village in a forest
    Posts
    1,515

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Either use a much smaller aperture, or add ND filter or polariser.
    Canon 80D|Panasonic LX3/LX5
    35f2 IS|50f1.8|85f1.8|12-24f4|18-135f4-5.6 IS|28-75f2.8

  4. #4
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Quote Originally Posted by fz30_user View Post
    Hi Guys,

    I'm using a 400D and Aperture priority most of the time. Problem is during bright day when the meter is above 1/200s I get overexposed shots. I think because the flash can only sync up to 1/200s. Any workaround if I want to stick to aperture priority mode?
    Did you try to drop the flash ev ?? For fill flash, you need to drop it down to -1.0 or less...

  5. #5
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    the overexpose is due to the ambient, not only fill flash.

    I believe TS is want to use big aperture with fill flash during sunny day.
    most of the time the ISO is lowest, shutter speed is at the max of sync speed.

    you don't have much choice.
    Use FP
    Use ND filter
    Use smaller aperture

    if all failed, change location or use D70
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  6. #6
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    the overexpose is due to the ambient, not only fill flash.

    I believe TS is want to use big aperture with fill flash during sunny day.
    most of the time the ISO is lowest, shutter speed is at the max of sync speed.

    you don't have much choice.
    Use FP
    Use ND filter
    Use smaller aperture

    if all failed, change location or use D70
    Why D70? underexposure tendency??

  7. #7

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Why D70? underexposure tendency??
    D70 can do a flash sync at higher shutter speed.

    BC

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Quote Originally Posted by Scaglietti View Post
    D70 can do a flash sync at higher shutter speed.

    BC
    1/500 x-sync instead of 1/200s x-sync.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Don't use flash for fill-in light lah. Use reflector.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  10. #10

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft View Post
    1/500 x-sync instead of 1/200s x-sync.

    Regards,
    Arto.
    Or D40, for that matter. But not D40x, which doesn't have a electronic shutter. The problem is these cameras don't have ISO 100.

    In fact the maximum sync speed on such cameras can be well over 1/500s. The hard limit then is the discharge time of the flash (<= 1.3ms on 580EX).

    To TS - get a good external flash for daylight fill, and use it in High-speed sync mode.

  11. #11
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    ClubSNAP Community
    Posts
    3,118

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Why D70? underexposure tendency??
    the secret hack available on D70..haha..can sync higher than 1/2000..
    This is an electronic post which requires no signature.

  12. #12

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    the D70 recommendation is a good one but i'm allergic to Nikon

    for the external flash, what's the highest speed can it sync?

    thanks.

  13. #13
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Quote Originally Posted by blazer_workz View Post
    the secret hack available on D70..haha..can sync higher than 1/2000..
    bingo!
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  14. #14
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Quote Originally Posted by blazer_workz View Post
    the secret hack available on D70..haha..can sync higher than 1/2000..
    1/2000???

    tat fast?

  15. #15
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    if you believe in shooting with big aperture for portraits, than you should forget about to shoot it with fill flash.

    use fill flash when necessary.
    I find the best result is two stops down from the ambient light.

    many pic shot with fill flash are so fake, it just look like cut and paste, especially with the facial touch up, doesn't look like portraits anymore, every model's face look like painting of Kuan Ing, so .
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  16. #16

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    how to hack to tat fast??? lol
    Learning is never ending
    www.augustinecheong.com

  17. #17

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Quote Originally Posted by nikonaugust View Post
    how to hack to tat fast??? lol
    D70 uses electronic shutter (not the physical focal plane shutter). Therefore, there is no physical limitation to the sync speed. The sync speed is only limited by the firmware. The hack just remove the limitation in the firmware.

    BC

  18. #18
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    very simple, just tell your D70/D70s that you are not using Nikon Flash, than you can sync all the way to 1/8000s, of course Nikon will not tell you this will work.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  19. #19
    Senior Member Virgo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    West of Singapore
    Posts
    4,816

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Quote Originally Posted by fz30_user View Post
    Hi Guys,

    I'm using a 400D and Aperture priority most of the time. Problem is during bright day when the meter is above 1/200s I get overexposed shots. I think because the flash can only sync up to 1/200s. Any workaround if I want to stick to aperture priority mode?
    Are you using an external of built-in flash?

    If you're using external flash, set your flash to High Speed Sync. It will allow you to sync with shutter speed faster than 1/200s. Also, control your FEC to get your desired output.

  20. #20
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    ClubSNAP Community
    Posts
    3,118

    Default Re: fill flash on bright day

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    very simple, just tell your D70/D70s that you are not using Nikon Flash, than you can sync all the way to 1/8000s, of course Nikon will not tell you this will work.
    Bro..we missed out that TS wants it to be on Aperture priority..
    To be able to use the hack sync speed, one has to shoot in manual mode..
    This is an electronic post which requires no signature.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •