![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
|
I just bought my 400D kit 4 days ago, and after taking some pics I went to upload onto com...
The very first picture that was kept (excluding shop test shots) was IMG_7278.JPG. And theres absolutely no way you can do 7k pics in 4 days. The 2gb CF card was a new one. Even if it wasn't, would it affect the number sequence? Then like that the shutter life how? I read online that the only way to track shutter life is by the image numbers your cam chucks out. Does that mean my 400D's shutter already did 7k shots liao? And its supposed to be a first hand. What happened? pls help! thanks
Canon Digital Rebel XTi (400D), 18-55mm, 50mm F1.8 Last edited by iodion; 6th June 2007 at 12:32 AM. |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
|
Hohoho.
1) RTFM. or 2) Do a search; has been discussed in this forum (hint, it has nothing to do with your shutter count) or 3) Download your photos to the computer, change your file numbering to auto reset, format the card, and continue shooting as per normal. |
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
|
Maybe the body has been tested with a used CF card and carried forward the file number.
|
|
|
| Sponsored Link |
|
|
#4 |
|
|
I think his concern is that he may have been conned. He had bought a 400D first hand, but the first picture that he took is named IMG_7000+, so he suspects that the camera has taken 7k pictures prior to his purchase, and yet he bought it first hand.
Do you have a receipt? What does the warranty say? Did you check with the shop? |
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
|
which shop did u buy it from?
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
|
TS,
What is the no. for those test shots that you took in the shop? It is 0001? If not then I think you ish tio conned!!! |
|
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
|
trd2970, i got it from john 3:16 at funan. they've got quite a good reputation though, don't really expect them to scam... what do you think? thanks for all your help ppl!
|
|
|
#8 |
|
|
can't remember leh! took and deleted... haha.
|
|
#9 |
|
|
All of you are making him paranoid.
My friends and I have all bought Sandisk Ultra II CFs and the file number doesn't start from 100-0001; it will only be reset when you set your file numbering to Auto Reset and format the card. RTFM! |
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
|
Maybe you want to raise this up to Canon customer service directly?
Or if you know how to access the camera's service (aka. 'secret') menu, you can tell the actual shutter count for sure instead of deducing from the picture file numbering. |
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
|
Agree with Caleb that it's just paranoia. The camera's file number WILL jump to the highest file number+1 in the CF card it is using. It happened to me when I got my 5D. I was shooting with a new CF card and the numbering was fine, then I used an old CF card with old photos in it and the file numbering jumped to 8K+ instantly (suggesting a 8+K "shutter count" which is obviously untrue). Most likely your 400D was test shot at J3:16 with a used CF card with photos of 7K+ file numbering. Of course this can't be verified unless you can get into the "secret menu" that cjtune suggests.
So I just set the file numbering to "Auto Reset" and formatted the CF Card and it was set back to 0001. Note that this setting will reset the file numbering each time so if you want to use the file numbering to keep a rough shutter count, just set it back to Continuous (IIRC).
|
|
#12 |
|
|
Well, I use 3 separate CF cards for my DSLR, each card will inherit the sequence number from the last number of the previous Cf card. So unless the camera has been used for a while or unless the TS clocked 7000+ shot in just 4 days, which is not impossible only TS knows best, there is not reason for me to believe a 4 days old DSLR starts with a 7000+ number (I dun clock 7000 in 4 days). It is the DSLR that controls the numbering not the CF card. My 2 cents.
|
|
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
|
If u r still worrying abt it, just send it back to Canon to have a proper shutter count... pay $20 to put u at ease
![]()
|
|
#16 |
|
|
Seriously, I don't see it as being paranoid. For anyone who had bought a first hand camera, you'd want your camera to be new, especially since you paid the price for a first hand camera. If I bought my camera at the shop, I'd expect that it is a new out-of-the-box camera.
|
|
|
|
|
#17 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#18 | |
|
|
|
|
|
#19 |
|
|
You should worry.
I think you have been sold an old camera! Maybe it has been used, abused, dropped in the drain and dragged along before! That is why the shutter count is so high! Call the shop and complain ![]() (hor hor hor) |
|
|
|
|
#20 |
|
|
Horhorhor. Hahaha. Seriously man, everyone should assume and speculate abit less, and just RTFM.
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|