Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Advice needed: Cropping and developing

  1. #1
    sneezybum
    Guests

    Default Advice needed: Cropping and developing

    My image size is 1600 x 1200. I understand that to print 4R prints, I have to crop to 3:2 ratio. What does this mean? What else do I need to do before sending it to Standard Photo or Soo Kee for developing? Any advice would be greatly appreciated cos I know nuts about developing and cropping.

  2. #2

    Default

    for me, i set the crop size in photoshop... 1600 by 1066 pixels

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    you may also want to "oversharpen" the photos a bit first before sending in for prints.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  4. #4

    Default

    Erm, no you don't.

    If you are printing on an inkjet, you would want to oversharpen.

    If you are sending in to Fujifilm for printing, your prints will come back looking, well, oversharpened. Trust me. Been there, done that. Just keep it at the normal setting.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    oh. okie, will keep that in mind. I guess the shops does their own "sharpening" as well right?
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  6. #6
    sneezybum
    Guests

    Default

    Do I have to reduce my image size? Or will the lab resize it to 4R size for me? I'm using C-2100UZ and my sharpening is set to soft. So do I still have to unsharpen using PS?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    don't reduce the size. 1600x1066 can be printed 4R or for that matter any size (but quality would be affected if it's blown up too big).

    applying some unsharp mask would help.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  8. #8
    sneezybum
    Guests

    Default

    Does that mean I have to crop certain portions of my image in order to resize from 1600 x 1200 to 1600 x 1066?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
    Posts
    1,734

    Default

    Well, potographs are usually around 3:2 ratio, but most digi cams don't produce the image at that ratio, so, to fit the image into a photo paper thingy, they'll need to crop, you may like to do this yourself so that you have a choice over how the image will be crop. I believe it is possible to print a little under size so that the whole image will fit into the photo with some black or white border(pls check with the developer). Or you can do this yourself by adding borders to the image to achieve a 3:2 aspect ratio before sending it in and manually cut out the borders later if you want boderless photos. Or print with a photo ink jet, a S$319 epson stylus photo 810 will work really fine given the correct paper, you'll have better control over how things are printed and get prints that rival photographs. But be prepared to get a paper cutter to remove the unprinted areas if required. Personally, I prefer the prints from my printer compared to developed ones... I like the colour better.

  10. #10
    itsmywill
    Guests

    Default

    u can also opt for 4DSC size which is a thiner version of the 4R size, at ratio 4:3 instead of 3:2

    will be collecting mine tonight, will let u know what is e effect.

    another abt sharpening - if i do "auto-level" using photoshop, will fuji epic printing do another sharpening 4 me. will e effect be oversharpened like what u say?

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
    Posts
    1,734

    Default

    I think they level the pictures to a certain extent if the image is traight from the camera... But Don't know about the sharpening part...

  12. #12
    itsmywill
    Guests

    Default

    just got my photos from soo kee at lucky plaza. the effects are great. i dun see any image enhancement or sharpening done by them. quite stiafied with the outcome.

  13. #13
    sneezybum
    Guests

    Default

    How much you pay for them? Got handling fee if you develop more like Standard Photo? One last question, how long did you wait to get your pics?

  14. #14
    itsmywill
    Guests

    Default

    $5 handling charge. took 2 working days to collect back. e machines there look pretty new. dunno how bad e quality of other shops that dun use epic & dun charge e extra handling cost...

  15. #15
    La|n
    Guests

    Default

    how much does it cost to develop the foto ?

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    Originally posted by sneezybum
    How much you pay for them? Got handling fee if you develop more like Standard Photo? One last question, how long did you wait to get your pics?
    no handling fees for >$8 of prints.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Western SG
    Posts
    1,537

    Default

    what if my image is 1280 x 960?

    crop to what size for printing???

  18. #18
    sneezybum
    Guests

    Default

    If I'm not wrong, should be 1280 * 853 to get 3:2 ratio.

  19. #19
    skystar
    Guests

    Default

    PLease advice, What if my photo is 1280X1024. I have lots of photo and trying to send them for printing instead of printing them myself. Need to know more about cropping.
    Thanks

  20. #20
    sneezybum
    Guests

    Default

    Assuming you want to develop 4R prints, the ratio is 3:2. This ratio is the no. of horizontal pixels:no. of vertical pixels. As your image is not in the correct ratio, you will therefore have to crop to 1280:853 for 4R prints. 853 = 1280 * 3 / 2. For other size prints, will have other ratios. If I remen\mber correctly, 8R is 5:4.

    As for cropping, you can use the rectangular marquee tool under photoshop 6 to do it. There's a tutorial in the help file. Me also a newbie experimenting with PS6 now. Happy printing. Hope that I have helped you and not confused you.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •