Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 46

Thread: computer mains switch must off?

  1. #1

    Default computer mains switch must off?

    quick question.

    when i shut down my computer, must i turn off the main switch?
    any pros and cons for current to run even though the computer is off?

  2. #2

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Your computer draws a very small current even when off, but it costs you something like ten or twenty cents a year. I'd be more worried about a current surge or voltage spike (thunderstorm perhaps).

    My computer is on 24/7 so I don't really touch the mains much.

  3. #3

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by jmmtn4aj View Post
    Your computer draws a very small current even when off, but it costs you something like ten or twenty cents a year. I'd be more worried about a current surge or voltage spike (thunderstorm perhaps).

    My computer is on 24/7 so I don't really touch the mains much.
    because my bose sound system, i was told not to off the mains because the heat from the current keeps the woofer dry.
    i'm not sure about computers.is there such a need?

    my modem was killed twice by lightning.

  4. #4

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    because my bose sound system, i was told not to off the mains because the heat from the current keeps the woofer dry.
    i'm not sure about computers.is there such a need?

    my modem was killed twice by lightning.
    Things like pianos have a small heater or dehumidifier built in so the wood's acoustical properties don't change. But in a Bose.. haha.. well you know what I think about Bose :P

    No, computers don't have such devices inside because there's no need. The current it draws isn't by design.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cocteau Twins
    Posts
    2,116

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    just get a good current surge protector. good investment for a relatively cheap price.

    but if you really want to be environmentally friendly about it, do switch off your mains. 1 person don't count for much, but if enough people does it, it helps.

    for me, i leave it on. too troublesome to reach behind to switch it off

  6. #6
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Well... I never bothered to switch off... too lazy.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    like eikin & cheesecake reminds me...

    OEI YOUR SYSTEM NEVER OFF ONE AR???
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  8. #8

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    because my bose sound system, i was told not to off the mains because the heat from the current keeps the woofer dry.
    i'm not sure about computers.is there such a need?

    my modem was killed twice by lightning.
    I thought if you turn off the Bose, the adaptIQ settings will reset and you have to tune it again? I usually have to do that when there is a power trip and all the electric points in the house goes off.

  9. #9

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by seankyh View Post
    I thought if you turn off the Bose, the adaptIQ settings will reset and you have to tune it again? I usually have to do that when there is a power trip and all the electric points in the house goes off.
    They don't have a memory chip to remember that? Pfft..

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by jmmtn4aj View Post
    Things like pianos have a small heater or dehumidifier built in so the wood's acoustical properties don't change. But in a Bose.. haha.. well you know what I think about Bose :P

    No, computers don't have such devices inside because there's no need. The current it draws isn't by design.
    oh reaalllyy~~
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    On off on off... chances of introducing electrical surge and wearing out the capacitors even higher.

    Not surprised 1 day the sub of your setup starts going "thump" each time you turn it on.

  12. #12

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL View Post
    On off on off... chances of introducing electrical surge and wearing out the capacitors even higher.

    Not surprised 1 day the sub of your setup starts going "thump" each time you turn it on.
    it is not as if you are doing it continously? i think it should not kill the caps.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Central West
    Posts
    1,952

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    The majority of computer peripherals consume a lot of electricity even when they are in standby mode or when they are "off" - so it's best to unplug things like printers etc.

    My computer, I leave on most of the time, but I will unplug it from the socket if I'll be away for a few days or more.

  14. #14

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL View Post
    On off on off... chances of introducing electrical surge and wearing out the capacitors even higher.

    Not surprised 1 day the sub of your setup starts going "thump" each time you turn it on.
    Yes... once I on-off the main switch and my PC's mobo bios got corrupted because of the power surge. I brought the mobo to the distributor, and they reset it for me.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    GEYLAND LOR 15 LO
    Posts
    1,159

    Talking Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by nottipiglet View Post
    Yes... once I on-off the main switch and my PC's mobo bios got corrupted because of the power surge. I brought the mobo to the distributor, and they reset it for me.
    You can get a Belkin surge protector!

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Catchment Area
    Posts
    2,441

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    my modem was killed twice by lightning.
    Well, modem not so expensive to replace leh. If your BiG LCD/Plasma TV got hit by lightning

    I guess it's landed property. I have never heard of anyone staying in apartment got problem with lightning. Most probably, there is a leak. Or the lightning protection system is faulty ........

    More than 10 years ago, my neighbour's 34inch TV got fried by lightning, becos his antenna was the highest in the area. Now, with Starhub's cable, no more antenna to attract lightning liao.
    I love big car, big house, big lenses, but small apertures.

  17. #17

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by smallaperture View Post
    Well, modem not so expensive to replace leh. If your BiG LCD/Plasma TV got hit by lightning
    The more expensive a piece of equipment is, the better the protection/anti-shorting circuit inside is likely to be. Makers of high end appliances don't particularly want customers sending in hundreds of their products for free (warranty) replacement or servicing after every storm.

    I guess it's landed property. I have never heard of anyone staying in apartment got problem with lightning. Most probably, there is a leak. Or the lightning protection system is faulty ........
    Haha, my condo probably has one of the most trippy circuits around. Current still manages to leak in from nearby lightning strikes, so the MCB can trip like 5 times in one storm even while the building itself is never struck by lightning.

  18. #18
    Senior Member Big Kahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    2,127

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    I normally switch it off because I got 8 devices hook up to the same Belkin power bar

    Besides...I am more worried about my house caught fire by short circuit because I am not at home most of the time

    Switching off any unused electrical stuffs can also contribute a little in the go green effort and my wallet I guess Imagine if each household save even 10w per day.....1 million household will safe many megawatt a day liao

  19. #19

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by smallaperture View Post
    Well, modem not so expensive to replace leh. If your BiG LCD/Plasma TV got hit by lightning

    I guess it's landed property. I have never heard of anyone staying in apartment got problem with lightning. Most probably, there is a leak. Or the lightning protection system is faulty ........

    More than 10 years ago, my neighbour's 34inch TV got fried by lightning, becos his antenna was the highest in the area. Now, with Starhub's cable, no more antenna to attract lightning liao.
    yes landed.
    both fried by lightning.
    cars and house alarms always go off.very frustrating

  20. #20

    Default Re: computer mains switch must off?

    Quote Originally Posted by XXX Boy View Post
    You can get a Belkin surge protector!
    I have not 1 but 2!
    One for my plasma TV/Hi-Fi system, and another for my modem.
    Unfortunately, those at my PC only has a generic one.

    Mind you, the surge was not big enough to fry anything... but it does not take much to corrupt the bios. Then you will have to spend time fixing it...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •