Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 69

Thread: graphics card

  1. #41

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    Dun think need to change...

    BTW, you did set your PS/LR scratch disk to a non-OS disk right?
    yes i did.that HDD serves NO other purpose other than being a scratch disk for CS3.
    LR needs no scratchdisk.

  2. #42

    Default Re: graphics card

    Get this. .






    You will never look back. .

  3. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    4,532

    Default Re: graphics card

    give her solution, $$ think not a big problem for her lah. so long it working for her

  4. #44
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    pardon my ignorance cos from the way splut explained just now, i thought 1 crash all gone.

    so, any of the shops can setup raid?
    what's needed?more HDD?or what?

    i'm going crazy...really.
    haiz... i think you go storage studio... they are quite pro in this aspect...

    and just in case, just buy a whole new system...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  5. #45

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    She's referring to striping la.
    what's striping?

    sigh....

  6. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    she is striping?
    she is? should we prepare cameras instead of tech talk?

  7. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    4,532

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    what's striping?

    sigh....
    just tell everyone 'I dont care wat striping/raid, so long make it work and fast can liao, $$ no problem'

    since u dun wan handle all these tech stuff.. best to leave it to those who know, u pay for it can liao heh

  8. #48

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by unseen View Post
    she is? should we prepare cameras instead of tech talk?

    to me this is sexual harrasment.

    please either teach me what's relevant, or dont deviate into such nonsense.

    thanks

  9. #49
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Errz View Post
    give her solution, $$ think not a big problem for her lah. so long it working for her
    well... i kinda conveniently forgot about it...

    think ya... SCSI RAID is for her... let me go find a pic of the RAID card...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  10. #50
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    pardon my ignorance cos from the way splut explained just now, i thought 1 crash all gone.

    so, any of the shops can setup raid?
    what's needed?more HDD?or what?

    i'm going crazy...really.
    RAID got different types, basic useful ones for you

    RAID 0 (stripping)
    2 or more hdd, each hdd contains a part of the file, so when you load data you load from multiple hdds, so access speed increases.

    RAID 1 (Mirroring)
    2 or more hdd, each hdd contains an identical copy.
    100% redundancy, don't need to rebuild data in case of crash.
    2x500g gets you 500gb storage only

    RAID 0+1 (mirror + stripping)
    combine the 2
    Not recommended. 1 hdd failure gets you similar to RAID level 0 array.

    RAID 10
    Best, and the most expensive around. Requires at least 4 similar HDDs
    Can aford 2 hdd failures with no data loss.
    1/2 the data storage you put in

  11. #51
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: graphics card

    wah u guys so patiently waiting...


    16 port... can put 16 hdd!!!
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  12. #52

    Default Re: graphics card

    buy HP system

  13. #53
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    to me this is sexual harrasment.

    please either teach me what's relevant, or dont deviate into such nonsense.

    thanks
    -.-" was just joking.
    anyway if you want to bring to the shops, make sure you know what you want them to set up for you.
    RAID 10 is highly recommended, RAID0 + 1 to be avoided

    If money no object, 4 groups of 4 hdd would yield you superb performace: data is stripped across 4 groups, each group has 4 mirrors (i.e. chance of total data loss = 4 hdds from the same group dying at the same time)
    If only 1 or 2 or 3 dies from the same group, you won't notice ANY performance hit at all.
    If you're v lucky, you can have up to 12 hdds simultaneously crashing and you still won't suffer a performance hit.

    And if you're using SCSI, your system will fly along like magic.

  14. #54
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: graphics card

    Hmm, how did a gfx card thread evolved till a hardcore HDD thread
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  15. #55
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by unseen View Post
    -.-" was just joking.
    anyway if you want to bring to the shops, make sure you know what you want them to set up for you.
    RAID 10 is highly recommended, RAID0 + 1 to be avoided

    If money no object, 4 groups of 4 hdd would yield you superb performace: data is stripped across 4 groups, each group has 4 mirrors (i.e. chance of total data loss = 4 hdds from the same group dying at the same time)
    If only 1 or 2 or 3 dies from the same group, you won't notice ANY performance hit at all.
    If you're v lucky, you can have up to 12 hdds simultaneously crashing and you still won't suffer a performance hit.

    And if you're using SCSI, your system will fly along like magic.
    U talking about tis?

    Adaptec RAID 31605

    High-performance and most advanced PCIe connectivity and data protection for SATA and SAS disk drives

    16-port Unified Serial PCI Express (PCIe) controller supporting RAID 0, 1, 1E, 5, 5EE, 6, 10, 50, 60, Copyback Hot Spare, and optional Snapshot Backup for mid-range to enterprise servers and workstations

    Highlights
    16 ports support up to 16 SATA and SAS drives
    PCIe host interface
    3 Gb/s per port
    RAID levels 0, 1,1E, 5, 5EE, 6, 10, 50, 60, JBOD
    Copyback Hot Spare and optional Snapshot Backup
    LED header for drive activity and failure indication
    SES2 and SGPIO enclosure management
    256MB DDR2 fixed data cache
    RoHS compliant
    Optional battery backup module
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  16. #56
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: graphics card

    jeanie, since LR never let you choose scratch disk, it should be following window's default scratchdisk.

    Try doing this :

    Go Control Panel->System->Advanced->Performance Settings->Advanced->Virtual Memory
    There you can specify where the scratch disk and capacity is. Maybe you can disable scratch on C: and manually allocate elsewhere.
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  17. #57

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    well... u can always pay consultation fees to the DCnA Consultation Services...

    if u wanna optimize your system, just let me know, i will always know how to spend your money...
    Got Ortegandalf Disposal Services, also got DCnA Consultation..

    Clubsnap really got a lot of talent!

  18. #58

    Default Re: graphics card

    RAID is good. RAID is your friend. I have been on RAID0 for years. Does it increase your chance of HDD failure? YES! To be precise, it is 2x as likely to fail. But the increase in speed is worth it.

    Ideally, you have 2 RAID arrays running. A RAID0 array for OS, programs and scratching, and a RAID1 array for storage. But that would be expensive.

  19. #59

    Default Re: graphics card

    no, graphics card will not improve your colour/photoshop or lightroom performance...

    unless you get really incredibly expensive graphics cards, you will not be able to play games at your 30" screen's resolution, so try playing at lower resolution...

    and no, I don't believe workstation graphics cards like was mentioned earlier in the thread will help in either photoshop/lightroom or games playing so forget about those...

    as for RAID and scratch disks, is your photoshop lagging? if not, forget about RAID as well... just having a seperate scratch for your photoshop should be good enough... in any case for those who want more speed, there are faster options than even scsi RAID

    for storage, you can get an external storage station like from buffalo from Storage Studio (SimLim #04-2B/28/29), where the hard drives are not within your computer tower, reason being it depends on its own power supply so power failure of your computer power supply would not affect it, it will not heat up your computer cause hardisks can run pretty hot, and also it has its own hardware RAID processor so it would not take up too much of your systems resources... a simply storage system you would not need to build, just plug and play on your system... and touch wood if there is failure, just go to the buffalo cervice centre at Riverwalk and they would do recovery for you... great service there...

    by the way, stripping means the process like in RAID 0, amongst others, where data is split into at least 2 and written onto seperate hardisks so that writing of data to disk is faster...

  20. #60

    Default Re: graphics card

    this thread is about computer components with respect mainly to photoshop (and gaming as well, granted)... shouldn't it be in digital darkroom rather than kopitiam?...

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •