Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 69

Thread: graphics card

  1. #21

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    For games that don't support up to that resolution, u'll have to play it at lower res lor, meaning that it'll appear more pixelated (though it shouldnt really be noticeable).

    If you are playing games that do more 3D stuff, like first person shooters, den u'll see the lag, if not I think it should be very smooth already.

    And no, colours dun get "better", 32 bit on a 10yr old card is the same as it is now.
    wah...i nearly got conned.luckily ask you guys 1st.

    i called up a shop and they told me if i upgrade my card, colors will be 'better' for photoshopping.
    phew!

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by unseen View Post
    comes with a fantastic price as well. Most people would rather buy a D200 + 70-200VR with the $$ i believe, but if you actually want to do work, that's the price you'll have to pay.
    Otherwise, a $100 card and a $800 card, you wouldn't notice any difference at all for photoshop.
    she got no idea how fantastic tis card is...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    she got no idea how fantastic tis card is...
    Lol crazy lah get a gfx card with more ram than my system ram.
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  4. #24

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    No, that is junk...

    u totally got no idea what u are doing...

    if i have idea what i'm doing, i wont be asking liao.
    i'll be giving advice in this folder.

  5. #25

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    For scratch disk, its recommended to have something fast rather than big.

    So raptors (just a specific model of HDD from western digital) are good, but they are incredibly expensive-per-GB.

    RAID means either striping or redundancy. In the case of striping, you use several HDD to act as 1 single HDD, so the load is spread out. You get faster read/write that way but it's more vulnerable to crashes as it only takes 1 HDD out of all your raided HDD to fail to affect the system.
    i cant afford my HDD to crash, so i have triple backup.so RAID is defiintely out for me.

  6. #26

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    she got no idea how fantastic tis card is...
    ya go ahead,....suan lor

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    what's RAID?

    ok, i have a 500GB for ps scratch disk
    a 500 for OS
    more than 1TB for storage.(external and internal)
    will that suffice?
    Sell the 500gb, you might be able to get enough $$ from it buy a reasonable sized scsi harddisk.
    Get 2 of those scsi harddisks, set them in a RAID config, you'll see your PS fly, your windows boot up in less than 15 seconds,

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    if i have idea what i'm doing, i wont be asking liao.
    i'll be giving advice in this folder.
    well... u can always pay consultation fees to the DCnA Consultation Services...

    if u wanna optimize your system, just let me know, i will always know how to spend your money...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    i cant afford my HDD to crash, so i have triple backup.so RAID is defiintely out for me.
    The best (most expensive) option is to do RAID 10 on 4 Raptors. So you get striping AND redundancy
    It'll be harder to crash this way.
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by unseen View Post
    Sell the 500gb, you might be able to get enough $$ from it buy a reasonable sized scsi harddisk.
    Get 2 of those scsi harddisks, set them in a RAID config, you'll see your PS fly, your windows boot up in less than 15 seconds,
    just sell both & she can buy 2 or 3 74gb raptors...

    if she get scsi, still need to buy a scsi card, and scsi raid card is not cheap to start with...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    The best (most expensive) option is to do RAID 10 on 4 Raptors. So you get striping AND redundancy
    It'll be harder to crash this way.
    i think she need a separate casing running 4 raptors on raid...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  12. #32

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    The best (most expensive) option is to do RAID 10 on 4 Raptors. So you get striping AND redundancy
    It'll be harder to crash this way.
    spare me.i had enough of bringing the tower to SLS.
    not to mention it wont even fit in my car.

    so...conclusion.....NO NEED TO CHANGE.
    yes?or no?

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    i cant afford my HDD to crash, so i have triple backup.so RAID is defiintely out for me.
    For companies/servers who want to make sure there's absolutely no data loss, they actually set their harddisks in a RAID config. Er... XD
    Look at it this way, when you set it up in a triple redundancy setup, it's 3 hdds mirroring the same data, if 1 is corrupted the other 2 will "repair" the corrupted data. If 1 of the 3 hdd crash, then just remove the crashed one, replace with a new one, and data is magically "reconstructed" on the new harddisk.
    Now, how would this be bad to hdd crashing?

  14. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: graphics card

    Dun think need to change...

    BTW, you did set your PS/LR scratch disk to a non-OS disk right?
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  15. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by unseen View Post
    For companies/servers who want to make sure there's absolutely no data loss, they actually set their harddisks in a RAID config. Er... XD
    Look at it this way, when you set it up in a triple redundancy setup, it's 3 hdds mirroring the same data, if 1 is corrupted the other 2 will "repair" the corrupted data. If 1 of the 3 hdd crash, then just remove the crashed one, replace with a new one, and data is magically "reconstructed" on the new harddisk.
    Now, how would this be bad to hdd crashing?
    She's referring to striping la.
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  16. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    dca, i thought the higher the number the 'better' or latest it is?

    eg, 7800 is newer/better than 7600gt?
    D2 is better than D200
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  17. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    spare me.i had enough of bringing the tower to SLS.
    not to mention it wont even fit in my car.

    so...conclusion.....NO NEED TO CHANGE.
    yes?or no?
    who ask u to bring to SLS? let SLS come to you!!!

    anyway, u got a system, but u dunno how to optimise it... i felt sad for your system...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  18. #38

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by unseen View Post
    For companies/servers who want to make sure there's absolutely no data loss, they actually set their harddisks in a RAID config. Er... XD
    Look at it this way, when you set it up in a triple redundancy setup, it's 3 hdds mirroring the same data, if 1 is corrupted the other 2 will "repair" the corrupted data. If 1 of the 3 hdd crash, then just remove the crashed one, replace with a new one, and data is magically "reconstructed" on the new harddisk.
    Now, how would this be bad to hdd crashing?

    pardon my ignorance cos from the way splut explained just now, i thought 1 crash all gone.

    so, any of the shops can setup raid?
    what's needed?more HDD?or what?

    i'm going crazy...really.

  19. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    She's referring to striping la.
    she is striping?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default Re: graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    just sell both & she can buy 2 or 3 74gb raptors...

    if she get scsi, still need to buy a scsi card, and scsi raid card is not cheap to start with...
    XD SCSI is speed. If you want speed, you just gotta pay for it. If you want reliability AND speed, go SCSI + RAID. Only problem is most people (AND companies) aren't rich enough to support such a setup..

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •