![]() |
|
|||||||
| Notices |
| Critique Corner Post your image in here to get serious and honest feedback from fellow photographers. Please read FAQ before posting. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#1 |
|
|
Hi, my first post. just bought my first SLR (d or otherwise, anyway i missed the pre-d period.. ) D80, Nikkor 18-200mm VR now playing around with shutter speed. Took this at around 9pm from my study window. noticed the sky was quite bright n a bit reddish... maybe due to recent rains.. Critique sought: 1) Is the picture sharp enough? or bright enough? 2) Is the composition okay? 3) Please feel free to comment on anything, good or bad. Thanks! |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
|
Hi there
![]() 1) perhaps you can post a bigger photo so we can critque on the photo more accurately. but it looks pretty well exposed. 2) personally i feel that the attention is divded into half. one goes to the sky, the other goes to the buildings. you can actually try to do a photostitch. ![]() 3) well done. have fun with your new toy! cheers. |
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
|
err ur pic kinda small to tell sharp or not
the hdb lights are all over u also mention the sky was bright and reddish, dun quite convey in ur pic. as for composition, well is just another hdb flat setting. might want to try a tighter crop. |
|
|
| Sponsored Link |
|
|
#4 | |
|
|
regarding the hdb lights, my shutter speed was set to 5 sec... if any shorter, the whole picture will look too dark.. but if longer the lights will become "enlarged" and "all over".. like wat u said... wat can i do so that the lights are in their place and at the same time the picture is not too dim? haha. i like your comments regarding my composition " another hdb flat setting"... short n incisive.. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
|
actually the original picture looked quite sharp to me.. its just that i onli used microsoft picture manager to lower file size n resolution... (dun have photoshop)
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
|
haha paiseh paiseh, cause been seeing too many hdb pics from my students. getting boring ah.
well with the lights issue, u might want to dbl expose, with metering on the sky then the lights. not too sure if the d80 can do that, else ps it. just an idea for a reddish sky, shoot with 1/3 below hdb flats, and 2/3 reddish sky. better effect if got clouds. dun use pic manager, dl one of the freeware around. google for faststone. |
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
|
got it thanks!
|
|
|
![]() |