Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: use blower on sensor?

  1. #1

    Default use blower on sensor?

    i went through my pics and realised got 2 dust spots.

    mirror up and realised 2 tiny white specks.as i do not know how to clean my sensor, i use a blower to blow off the dust.

    q:will this spoil my sensor?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    3,287

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    Blowing will not spoil the sensor.

  3. #3
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    actually alot of things dun spoil the sensor... just depends on how kiasu u are.

    i would use a cotton bud with glass cleaning solution on it (alcohol) but that's me.

    and.. i have a 2hp air compressor that can blow a mean blow.. but i haven't tried that on the sensor yet.

  4. #4
    Moderator Francis247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hougang, Punggol
    Posts
    6,627

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    There is a thick piece of Anti-Aliasing Glass aka Hot Mirror in front of the sensor that will protect it. Blowing won't caused any problem. If you still feeling not safe, send to NSC for cleaning too.

    I think this question should be posted in other sub-forum instead even though you are using a Nikon camera, this question is very general in nature.

    Thank you for your understanding and cooperation.
    Last edited by Francis247; 15th April 2007 at 01:03 PM.
    莫问前程有愧,只求今生无悔. Time pasts, Places changed, Beauty faded, what is left are Photos of Memories…

  5. #5

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    i Do that for my sensor also.. often

  6. #6
    Senior Member Cheesecake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    I live in a haunted house!!!!!
    Posts
    16,385

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    i use my art airbrush with compressed air to blow. then i squirt in some water and wipe the sensor clean. afterwhich i add in some alcohol, leave it to dry and then wipe again with tissue paper.


    then i use my airbrush with compressed air to blow again. then i repeat the circle again for 3 times.


    then i take my camera to service center for a final cleaning.
    Last edited by Cheesecake; 15th April 2007 at 01:52 PM.
    You'll Never Walk Alone! - i have the best job in the world!

  7. #7

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    whoa thats through...
    Nikon!
    flickr

  8. #8
    Senior Member asterixsg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Somewhere in this creation
    Posts
    2,060

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cheesecake View Post
    i use my art airbrush with compressed air to blow. then i squirt in some water and wipe the sensor clean. afterwhich i add in some alcohol, leave it to dry and then wipe again with tissue paper.


    then i use my airbrush with compressed air to blow again. then i repeat the circle again for 3 times.


    then i take my camera to service center for a final cleaning.
    you are kidding me
    i know its a boring sunday, nothing to do, except wait for the F1 race tonight. But please lah, squirt in water
    The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt....

  9. #9
    Senior Member asterixsg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Somewhere in this creation
    Posts
    2,060

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    i went through my pics and realised got 2 dust spots.

    mirror up and realised 2 tiny white specks.as i do not know how to clean my sensor, i use a blower to blow off the dust.

    q:will this spoil my sensor?
    Welcome to the world of "Dust on sensor". My favourite gripe about DSLRs

    Using the blower to blow off dust is not gonna spoil the sensor. Sometimes when you are lucky (the way I usually am), the dust specks will just move around. So, be more stubborn (than they are) and give them a few more beatings and it should be fine.
    The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt....

  10. #10
    Senior Member Cheesecake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    I live in a haunted house!!!!!
    Posts
    16,385

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    Quote Originally Posted by asterixsg View Post
    you are kidding me
    i know its a boring sunday, nothing to do, except wait for the F1 race tonight. But please lah, squirt in water
    i dun think its funny. the way u clean ur sensor might be different from mine but tat doesn't mean i'm joking.



    i'm just very very thorough.
    You'll Never Walk Alone! - i have the best job in the world!

  11. #11

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    Quote Originally Posted by Francis247 View Post
    There is a thick piece of Anti-Aliasing Glass aka Hot Mirror in front of the sensor that will protect it. Blowing won't caused any problem. If you still feeling not safe, send to NSC for cleaning too.

    I think this question should be posted in other sub-forum instead even though you are using a Nikon camera, this question is very general in nature.

    Thank you for your understanding and cooperation.
    i understand.thanks for moving the thread.

    not that i do not want to bring to nikon service to clean.but after reading a thread recently that someone sent it there and the dust are still there, sort of puts me off.

    i really cant afford the time to make a few trips there.

  12. #12

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    so can i safely say, whenever i see dust specks on my sensor, all i need is to invert it and blow at it with a blower so that hopefully, the dusts gets blown out of the body?

  13. #13

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    so can i safely say, whenever i see dust specks on my sensor, all i need is to invert it and blow at it with a blower so that hopefully, the dusts gets blown out of the body?
    try to do this in a "clean room", you don't want to be blowing more dust into the body.

  14. #14
    Senior Member zoossh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,725

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    it would be good to learn more about how to remove sensor dust on travelling. but very often the kit is expensive, or not portable (air brush). and the blower is generally safe but not very effective. for the fear and infamiliarity with electronics, i ended up always sending to NSC and paying for it....

    the delkin sensorscope looks interesting but wow, that's very ex too.

  15. #15

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    Quote Originally Posted by zoossh View Post
    it would be good to learn more about how to remove sensor dust on travelling. but very often the kit is expensive, or not portable (air brush). and the blower is generally safe but not very effective. for the fear and infamiliarity with electronics, i ended up always sending to NSC and paying for it....

    the delkin sensorscope looks interesting but wow, that's very ex too.
    can have more info on the delkin sensor thing?how ex?that's for cleaning sensors?

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Guillemard
    Posts
    249

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    Blowing won't cause any damage to the sensor.
    Read somewhere, someone use a vaccum cleaner to suck out the dust.

    Here a unexpected site to guide u to clean your sensor.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...rcleaning.mspx

  17. #17

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    Quote Originally Posted by deckard View Post
    try to do this in a "clean room", you don't want to be blowing more dust into the body.
    I used to do that in a class 10000 environment with dry N2 gas.
    Last edited by lsisaxon; 16th April 2007 at 05:35 PM.

  18. #18
    Member chrisljh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    725

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    hmm. i use a nylon art brush, then use a blower and blow to charge up static. then i use e brush to clean e sensor.

  19. #19
    Senior Member zoossh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,725

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    can have more info on the delkin sensor thing?how ex?that's for cleaning sensors?
    it's like a magnifier for diamond and gems. you can check out more from the link in my thread page 7 or google it.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Bukit Merah, Singapore
    Posts
    155

    Default Re: use blower on sensor?

    Eh.. where can i find compressed air?
    i cant find it anywhere..
    or maybe i havent bene looking hard enough.
    ..
    la la la la

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •