Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Spyder2express and FotoHub

  1. #1
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Spyder2express and FotoHub

    Hi guys, my screen are calibrated with sypder2express. The photos that developed from FOTOHUB is like so warm with a tint of yellow. I calibrated my screen a few times and the results of the calibration are consistent. Any shop to recommend that print photos with temperature that are close to the calibration of sypder2express? My screen is already so much warmer after calibration but the FOTOHUB makes my pics even more warm
    Having expensive gears do not make you a better photographer. Period.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    I had an S2E. I don't know about FOTOHUB but my prints from those Kodak and Fujifilm labs are fine.

    Care to elaborate a bit more on the workflow setup and such?
    Last edited by grantyale; 12th April 2007 at 11:49 PM.

  3. #3
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    Quote Originally Posted by grantyale View Post
    I had an S2E. I don't know about FOTOHUB but my prints from those Kodak and Fujifilm labs are fine.

    Care to elaborate a bit more on the workflow setup and such?
    shoot in raw. adjust temp. curve adjustment etc. looks fine on screen ( not too cold and not too warm ) but send to fotohub come back all photos are so blardy warm with a tint of yellow. Maybe i should try other labs...I wonder does different fotohubs have different profile..? My first experience with them was ok but now its was a total disappointment
    Having expensive gears do not make you a better photographer. Period.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    Try tripleD. They already have a calibrated workstation and usually they will tweak it for you if your colors are off
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  5. #5
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    Try tripleD. They already have a calibrated workstation and usually they will tweak it for you if your colors are off
    Where is tripleD? Slighty warm prints are ok but not too far fetch...although my spyder2express is the poor man calibrator but nevertheless it has really calibrate my screen to much warmer which is acceptable for post processing work. Btw i cant possibly convert so many raw files at their workstations. Anyone know how to get the lab profile and use it to proof it? i know of such a thing but no idea on how to get about it on my CS2
    Having expensive gears do not make you a better photographer. Period.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    Quote Originally Posted by iboey View Post
    Where is tripleD? Slighty warm prints are ok but not too far fetch...although my spyder2express is the poor man calibrator but nevertheless it has really calibrate my screen to much warmer which is acceptable for post processing work. Btw i cant possibly convert so many raw files at their workstations. Anyone know how to get the lab profile and use it to proof it? i know of such a thing but no idea on how to get about it on my CS2
    Hi, tripleD is at burlington. you dont send them RAW files. you still have to convert them first then send to them for printing
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  7. #7
    Member bowwow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    In my own private Idaho.
    Posts
    514

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    just tell the lab to print as is without any adjustments...
    --- the only constant is evolution and change ---
    --- the only solution is adaptation ---

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    Quote Originally Posted by bowwow View Post
    just tell the lab to print as is without any adjustments...
    If you trust your own calibration.
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    The thing is, if you don't tell them not to adjust your colours for you, why bother to even calibrate your monitor in the first place?
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    The thing is, if you don't tell them not to adjust your colours for you, why bother to even calibrate your monitor in the first place?
    Agree. The thing is if you do not want them to adjust your colors, any lab will do. The value add for tripleD is that he proactively corrects the colors according to his experience. That is all.
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  11. #11

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    I found that I had this sort of problem too before I learned I had to embed the Spyder-calibrated ICC profile into my pictures. I'm not sure if your photo-editing software enables you to do this.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    Quote Originally Posted by cjtune View Post
    I found that I had this sort of problem too before I learned I had to embed the Spyder-calibrated ICC profile into my pictures. I'm not sure if your photo-editing software enables you to do this.
    How do you do that?
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  13. #13

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    recently, prints from fotohub is very warm. not sure what is wrong with the person behind the machine. if u ask them not to adjust, it is fine.

  14. #14
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    Quote Originally Posted by bowwow View Post
    just tell the lab to print as is without any adjustments...
    I did that. But still blardy warm
    Having expensive gears do not make you a better photographer. Period.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    How do you do that?
    I have this option in Paint Shop Pro X when saving JPEGs:


  16. #16
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: Spyder2express and FotoHub

    Im using CS2. What do u guys for the color settings page? Mine is this. Should i set the settings to sypder2express and RGB to sypder2express too?

    Having expensive gears do not make you a better photographer. Period.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •