Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 34

Thread: How much RAM??

  1. #1

    Default How much RAM??

    With RAM prices going down to $80+ for 1GB, how much RAM would you consider adding to your current system?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong, Pokfulam
    Posts
    1,157

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    the ram for my system is ~$130/GB.
    Canon 300D, 30D, 5D. 17-40 f4 L, 24-105 f4 L, 70-200 f2.8 L IS

  3. #3

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    I thinking of adding another 1GB, but i dunno whether 1GB and 2GB makes a great difference in terms of performance. Sometimes i open a bit too many applications on my macbook and it lags abit. But other than that it's not too bad.

  4. #4
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    2gb of ram will be very comfortable for most of the people, depending on what you do

    itsybitsyspidy - You can just run the Activity Monitor to check how much ram you're using when you open most of the applications you're using on a daily basis. It's very clear when you have not enough ram, you'll see lots of red.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,199

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Maybe I will be going for another 1gb in 1 or 2 month times before GST goes up

  6. #6

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Quote Originally Posted by Parka View Post
    2gb of ram will be very comfortable for most of the people, depending on what you do

    itsybitsyspidy - You can just run the Activity Monitor to check how much ram you're using when you open most of the applications you're using on a daily basis. It's very clear when you have not enough ram, you'll see lots of red.
    Thanks for the tip, will do that.

    Cheers.

  7. #7

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Based on my own experience, upgrading from 1 to 2 gig you'll see alot of difference.
    But upgrading from 2 to 4 gig, you probably won't see the difference in running a single application, but it makes running a few applications at the same time (especially with a batch editing running in the background) more tolerable.

    cheers

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tiong Bahru
    Posts
    382

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Buy only what you need.
    Because of the buying frenzy 2 weeks back,now DDR2 ram price have gone back up due to the lack of supply.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Cheesecake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    I live in a haunted house!!!!!
    Posts
    16,385

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    there's never enuff. buy buy buy!!!

    i jus bought another 1GB from my fave store, BEST BARGAIN(haha), 667DDR2 at S$90/. i think its cheaper than in the i.t fair which costs around S$102/.


    You'll Never Walk Alone! - i have the best job in the world!

  10. #10
    Senior Member glennyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,587

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    i am still waiting for the 2gb stick to be cheap first...

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East
    Posts
    1,303

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Quote Originally Posted by glennyong View Post
    i am still waiting for the 2gb stick to be cheap first...
    haha tmr you'll be waiting for 4gb stick to be cheaper....lols

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Quote Originally Posted by willdon View Post
    Buy only what you need.
    Because of the buying frenzy 2 weeks back,now DDR2 ram price have gone back up due to the lack of supply.
    maybe you wanna try video-pro (SLS), kingston ddr667 1gb is stated @ $80 in their pricelist.

  13. #13

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    good price .. think gg to upgrade to 2gb !!

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    526

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    i've got 4GB at the moment.... in plans to increase that anytime soon

  15. #15
    Senior Member glennyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,587

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Quote Originally Posted by kgston View Post
    haha tmr you'll be waiting for 4gb stick to be cheaper....lols
    2Gb released already, just that its way to expensive. i am looking at a 2X 2GB upgrade on my existing 2X 1gb rams...

    but sigh.. wait for the big drop on rams first...

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,199

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Quote Originally Posted by glennyong View Post
    2Gb released already, just that its way to expensive. i am looking at a 2X 2GB upgrade on my existing 2X 1gb rams...

    but sigh.. wait for the big drop on rams first...
    IF you would like to offload the 2x1GB RAMs, do look for me

    But must check whether I can use or not. Hoho... Details can be talk in PM if possible

  17. #17

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Quote Originally Posted by ReiszRie View Post
    i've got 4GB at the moment.... in plans to increase that anytime soon
    I hope you're not running a 32bit PC OS like windows xp or vista. Cos those won't address more than 4gb of ram. In fact, you'll only get about 3.5gb from your 4gb.

    Anyway, to answer the thread starter, there is a huge difference going from 1gb to 2gb of ram, even in windows XP. It's good to have 2 similar sticks of ram so that you can enable dual channel mode if your motherboard supports it. Increases the data throughput and thus performance.

  18. #18

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Quote Originally Posted by Denosha View Post
    I hope you're not running a 32bit PC OS like windows xp or vista.
    there are 64 bit versions of both

  19. #19

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Quote Originally Posted by theRBK View Post
    there are 64 bit versions of both
    Yar, of course there are 64 bit versions of both but the question is ReiszRie using them, since he wants to upgrade to >4gb of ram. Anyway, the 64-bit versions are rather limiting in terms of what apps will run and what drivers are available.

  20. #20
    Senior Member glennyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,587

    Default Re: How much RAM??

    Quote Originally Posted by NoMoney View Post
    IF you would like to offload the 2x1GB RAMs, do look for me

    But must check whether I can use or not. Hoho... Details can be talk in PM if possible
    Mine is the DDR2,667mhz 1GB kingston.

    i must wait lor provided the 2GB rams fall... if not. i will just get the 2X2gb and slot in, which makes up the 6gb liao..

    wah... i waiting for yooooou (rams)...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •