Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: How to check shutter Count

  1. #1

    Default How to check shutter Count

    Hi,

    There was a thread about checking shutter count some time ago, but I can't seem to find it. May I ask this question again?

    Thanks

  2. #2

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by biotopeshop View Post
    Hi,

    There was a thread about checking shutter count some time ago, but I can't seem to find it. May I ask this question again?

    Thanks
    Tried a search?

    It yielded:
    Re: What is shutter count
    Shutter count
    Shutter count (another thread with the same name!)
    ... plus countless others.

    HTH

  3. #3

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Oh..Thanks. Will google and try.

    Cheers

    Quote Originally Posted by ah.zeep View Post
    Hi,



    Tried a search?

    It yielded:
    Re: What is shutter count
    Shutter count
    Shutter count (another thread with the same name!)
    ... plus countless others.

    HTH

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    For which camera?

    For Nikon, you can try PreviewExtractor. Google it .

    Regards,
    Arto.

  5. #5
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    provided the user din reset the shutter count..

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by xunjas View Post
    provided the user din reset the shutter count..
    I think the one that user can reset is file numbering... not shutter count

  7. #7
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by ExplorerZ View Post
    I think the one that user can reset is file numbering... not shutter count
    yup.. reset the file numbering... type wrongly.. thanks for pointin

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by xunjas View Post
    yup.. reset the file numbering... type wrongly.. thanks for pointin
    If you reset file numbering, the shutter count is not reset.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  9. #9
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft View Post
    If you reset file numbering, the shutter count is not reset.

    Regards,
    Arto.
    reset file numbering.. shutter count not reset. n user cant see shutter count anymore when the file numbering is reset.. for canon, after 9999. new folder's file count start from 0001 again..

  10. #10
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by xunjas View Post
    reset file numbering.. shutter count not reset. n user cant see shutter count anymore when the file numbering is reset.. for canon, after 9999. new folder's file count start from 0001 again..
    shutter count are not determine by the file numbering, is embed into the file, for Nikon cameras, can use a software to check the shutter count by reading the latest image file.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  11. #11

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by ExplorerZ View Post
    I think the one that user can reset is file numbering... not shutter count
    Flashing the firmware?

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by jmmtn4aj View Post
    Flashing the firmware?
    don think firmware will affect the shutter count as well..

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    I was told that if you save yr camera settings to a CF card, (eg at 5K shuter count) and load it back when yr shutter is (eg 10K) it will be reset to 5k. Dunno how true it is.


  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by DeSwitch View Post
    I was told that if you save yr camera settings to a CF card, (eg at 5K shuter count) and load it back when yr shutter is (eg 10K) it will be reset to 5k. Dunno how true it is.

    maybe you can try on your canon? my nikon doesn't dost that...

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by xunjas View Post
    reset file numbering.. shutter count not reset. n user cant see shutter count anymore when the file numbering is reset.. for canon, after 9999. new folder's file count start from 0001 again..
    On canon 400D, only service center can read shutter count. Don't say you can read shutter count yourself.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  16. #16
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    shutter count are not determine by the file numbering, is embed into the file, for Nikon cameras, can use a software to check the shutter count by reading the latest image file.
    how about canon? any software to check shutter count?

  17. #17
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft View Post
    On canon 400D, only service center can read shutter count. Don't say you can read shutter count yourself.

    Regards,
    Arto.
    got it. thanks.

  18. #18

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    I remember a website that showed the shutter count for my EOS300D when I uploaded a picture taken with it. Basically whatever you set the file naming to, the camera will still record the shutter-number to the picture as metadata, so you need some software to read it. There might be some free ones on the web, try googling. In the meantime I'll try to remember what that website was..

  19. #19
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by jmmtn4aj View Post
    I remember a website that showed the shutter count for my EOS300D when I uploaded a picture taken with it. Basically whatever you set the file naming to, the camera will still record the shutter-number to the picture as metadata, so you need some software to read it. There might be some free ones on the web, try googling. In the meantime I'll try to remember what that website was..
    i see..

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: How to check shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by xunjas View Post
    how about canon? any software to check shutter count?
    for pro bodies, you can use "Cancount" and its not free. you need to purchase a copy to use it. The trial version will not show you the shutter count.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •