Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Cam with GPS built-in

  1. #1

    Default Cam with GPS built-in

    Dunno if they exist, haha. Is there a cam that has GPS built-in that can geotag shots taken on-the-spot?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Up North......
    Posts
    624

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Heard D200 is equip with it?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Quote Originally Posted by smalltake View Post
    Heard D200 is equip with it?
    eh nope... I believe even if d200 can, it comes as a add on... same goes for Sony alpha...

    but iirc sony have got PnS that is equipped with GPS...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Up North......
    Posts
    624

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Okie, noted bro............
    D300|35mm f/2|85mm f/1.4|18-200 mm VR|17-55mm f/2.8 |70-300 F4-5.6|Tok 11-16 f/2.8|SB800|MB-D10|

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tampines.Sg
    Posts
    126

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Olympus E-500 c/w dual kit lenses
    Olympus C-730 Ultra Zoom

  6. #6
    Senior Member zoossh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,725

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Quote Originally Posted by borisi View Post
    not built in.

  7. #7
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    You need to add the GPS on, it's still not so small yet that you can get it built-into the camera.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    may i ask, do anyone knows what is the use for GPS on a cam? we do know where we are shoot after all....

  9. #9
    Senior Member zoossh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,725

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Quote Originally Posted by compro_1975 View Post
    may i ask, do anyone knows what is the use for GPS on a cam? we do know where we are shoot after all....
    there are those who dun. and there are those who just walk and wander around and not sure where they are but wanted to know where they are, usually it is for overseas tour or in a big country.

    and some ppl may want to return to the same spot. if it is a desert or a big grassland, it may be helpful.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Quote Originally Posted by compro_1975 View Post
    may i ask, do anyone knows what is the use for GPS on a cam? we do know where we are shoot after all....
    if im not wrong, the sony GPS add-on come with a software that can actually sync with the GPS data created (created when you shoot something) with the time of the photo taken and then probably change those GPS no. into name of the place or at least the location of where they are thru a world map...

  11. #11
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Quote Originally Posted by compro_1975 View Post
    may i ask, do anyone knows what is the use for GPS on a cam? we do know where we are shoot after all....
    Some people need that information. Such as surveyors, etc.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    495

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    i was wondering.. is there a way to maybe buy the sony gps thing and sync with photos from canon and nikon systems? technically it should be possible coz the thing syncs the time when the photo was shot.. but i dunno if any software would do it..
    Canon EOS 30D w/ grip 580EX, Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8, EF-S 10-22mm
    :bsmilie:

  13. #13

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    does canon has it?
    PM me if U Want Asst Wedding Photographer
    http://totoro17.multiply.com http://chinhaven.tripod.com

  14. #14

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    GPS is next to useless indoors and even when you're in vehicles -the walls and metal shield you from the extra-terrestrial GPS radio signals.

    Maybe my PDA's in-built GPS antenna is weak but I get the impression it literally need a clear line-of-sight to the sky.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    The Guilin of Spore
    Posts
    381

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Quote Originally Posted by compro_1975 View Post
    may i ask, do anyone knows what is the use for GPS on a cam? we do know where we are shoot after all....

    Ah bro,

    There are times where we spend a long time at a big country, taking a lot of shots. So many of the shots that there sure to be one or 2 which u sudden trying to recall where u took the picture of a particular chiobu on a particular street? Or a paritcular mountain amg a major area of 20 mountains?

    Of coz, not forgetting those who use it for professional or commerical usage....

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    The Guilin of Spore
    Posts
    381

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Quote Originally Posted by Adelfin View Post
    i was wondering.. is there a way to maybe buy the sony gps thing and sync with photos from canon and nikon systems? technically it should be possible coz the thing syncs the time when the photo was shot.. but i dunno if any software would do it..
    I read online and it can be done. I even asked causally at one of the sale person at IT Show...

    But never go into details as I dun really need these device, for now

  17. #17
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Quote Originally Posted by cjl View Post
    I read online and it can be done. I even asked causally at one of the sale person at IT Show...

    But never go into details as I dun really need these device, for now
    I believe the Sony one syncs with the camera wirelessly and for Nikon, you connect the GPS to the camera via a cable.

  18. #18

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Well, Nokia has one. the N95 (carl zeiss Optic 5MP) with GPS built in. People using it to drive around singapore le.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Quote Originally Posted by Adelfin View Post
    i was wondering.. is there a way to maybe buy the sony gps thing and sync with photos from canon and nikon systems? technically it should be possible coz the thing syncs the time when the photo was shot.. but i dunno if any software would do it..
    yes it will work. how it works is to record the GPS data log, the data from the sky contains time information as well. As long as you manage to map the time taken to the GPS log, you are able to tell where you are at that time. It can be done manually by hand as well but will be very tedious.
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  20. #20
    Senior Member xtemujin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Singapura, Singapore
    Posts
    2,778

    Arrow Re: Cam with GPS built-in

    Ricoh 500SE GPS ready digital camera.

    http://www.ricohsolutions.com/geo/

    Ever taken a picture and forgotten where it was shot? A new GPS-enabled camera lets Marines tag photos with precise location, a written memo an even an audio recording -- helping them with perimeter defense, reconnaissance, and keeping tabs on locals.

    http://www.military.com/soldiertech/...amera,,00.html

    HTH.
    Last edited by xtemujin; 26th April 2007 at 07:32 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •