Thread: Newbie Needs Help

Default Newbie Needs Help

Hi people,
    Newbie here. New to photography and need help to take decent shoot.
    Own a CASIO EXILIM Z60. Always take lousy picture at night. Need help in the setting.
    How do i improve on the brightness and clarity?
    Thanks in advance.

Last edited by guruking; 29th March 2007 at 09:18 PM.

Default Re: Newbie Needs Help

for the first one, you need a exposure lock on the current scene with fill-in flash to get the dark background.

second one, you need a tripod and a reduction in your iso settings.

if i am not wrg, wide aperture, high ISO, stable tripod... if u can use timer so u reduce even more shaking correct me if i am wrg

Quote Originally Posted by happyepower View Post
    if i am not wrg, wide aperture, high ISO, stable tripod... if u can use timer so u reduce even more shaking correct me if i am wrg
    i think iso use lowest best. since have tripod already, having lower iso can have lesser noise.

i thought when in low light and have tripod, one is encourage to bring up the ISO? dun tell me i got it competely opposite.

for nite photoshoot, u need to use tripod to prevent cam shake. use the night landscape for shooting. think your cam should have that mode. nite photoshoot needs higher iso.. there might be higher noise in the photo as well..

the second pic if i did nt guess wrgly, is the ISo high? n u r using ur hand...

Quote Originally Posted by happyepower View Post
    i thought when in low light and have tripod, one is encourage to bring up the ISO? dun tell me i got it competely opposite.
    well........ i use high iso only in low light photography without tripod.

if low light but with tripod, then handshake is not a problem. so can afford to have lesser noise and decrease ISO.

I didnt use tripod for both photo.

Can i conclude:
    1. for night scenery shoot, i need a tripod? if no tripod how?
    2. for non scenery shoot, need higher ISO..i.e. ISO 200 and above?